We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panamonte palate pleaser”
Review of The Panamonte

The Panamonte
Ranked #11 of 126 Restaurants in Boquete
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 19 - USD 28
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since 1914, the Hotel Panamonte has been the Old world charm in the enchanting highlands of Boquete luxurious rooms and indulgent culinary experience of choice for travelers from near and far. For more than 50 years, the Collins-Elliot family has blended their Old World Swedish tradition of hospitality with the friendliness of Panama in Boquete's extraordinary cloud forest setting of mountains, valleys, waterfalls and flowers. The result is the creation of a destination luxury hotel that combines the best of history with modern amenities. For three generations, families from Panama City, the United States and Europe have been coming to The Panamonte to celebrate weddings, honeymoons, christenings, family, and corporative reunions. Discover for yourself why staying at the Hotel Panamonte has become a tradition-it is so much more than just place to rest. It is a place from which to refresh the body, mind, and spirit and make memories that will last a lifetime.
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Panamonte offers a formal dining room but we opted for outdoor seating which was still protected in the rain. My husband was delighted by a true martini and I liked the Malbec option. The salad was exceptional and the local trout deliciously prepared with a tasty orange flan for dessert. Our server was attentive but unobtrusive. The restroom is quite a distance from the dining area. We were there in low season, so a bit of music may have made the dining room feel less vacant.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nancygH189OE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018

I had dinner with friends here; the restaurant is on the high-end of the restaurant options in Boquete, but definitely worth it: all of our meals were delicious, the service is excellent. This place takes you back in time with its Victorian (?) influence, very different. The president from Panama comes here regularly :)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Frauke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Not worth the prices charged. The breakfast was a disaster. No idea how to present tea ( no pots until we persisted). Soft lumps of uncooked bread for toast and unbelievably had no idea how to boil an egg. For a place I believe is associated with a famous Panamanian chef the food was very poor. Menus scruffy. That for a room price of 300 dollars is a rip off. Lights in the room broken. Standing lamp, bedside light and closet light all not functioning. Very awkward room door entrance key lock requiring three hands to operate.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

I dined at The Panamonte twice for lunch recently with a small group of friends. Both were enjoyable experiences. The indoor/outdoor bar setting is gorgeous, so we sat outside both visits. We ate appetizers, sandwiches and salads and drank water, tea and a few alcoholic beverages. The food was all very good, nothing spectacular but satisfying, the service was relaxed, and the check was fairly reasonable but certainly not cheap. If you enjoy relaxing in a beautiful setting and nodding to your server when you need something, you'll enjoy The Panamonte. If you're looking for cheap eats and an English-speaking server who checks on your table every 5 minutes, you need to look elsewhere (and good luck). I'll definitely return next time I'm in Boquete. Recommended

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ADH_Mgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Panamonte is located in the Panamonte hotel, not too far from the center of town. The venue is beautiful, especially the bar area by the fireside. The dining room was also quite nice, though it did look like it could use a little bit of an update.The menu had some interesting items on it. A lot of international dishes, many with Boquete flair. Some of the more memorable dishes include the salad with Boquete flowers and the pork belly with patacones. This restaurant has a bit more of a classic and fine dining feel then other places we had seen or visited.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jdeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Panamonte also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to The Panamonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing