We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun whitewater rafting trip”

Boquete Outdoor Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 65.00*
and up
Whitewater Rafting Class III on the Chiriqui...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer amazing Whitewater Rafting trips. Rafting is the most popular activity in Boquete, and is not to be missed during your trip to Panama. We also offer combo discount packages for hiking and bird watching in cloud forests, cliff jumping in canyons, rafting in the best whitewater in Panama, breathtaking mountains with coffee farms, and gorgeous snorkeling island trips to the Pacific. An extraordinary, one-of-a-kind, Panama vacation that you can’t find anywhere else.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had a great time rafting the Rio Chiriqui Viejo with BOA and our guide, Ivan. We were in a boat with just the 4 of us and Ivan, and he quickly picked up on our desire for excitement, finding the most exciting parts of the river to entertain my family. The riverside lunch was good, and it was nice to drink a beer and socialize after we finished. I also appreciated the free photos provided to download after the trip.

Thank comoreau5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBOA, Owner at Boquete Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Great to hear! Thank you for the positive review!
-Team BOA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"white water rafting"
in 104 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 68 reviews
"island tour"
in 26 reviews
"chiriqui viejo"
in 34 reviews
"these guys"
in 36 reviews
"river rafting"
in 28 reviews
"coffee tour"
in 58 reviews
"the owner"
in 52 reviews
"class rapids"
in 11 reviews
"guide john"
in 13 reviews
"great rafting"
in 10 reviews
"great trip"
in 20 reviews
"fresh fruit"
in 11 reviews
"pipeline trail"
in 26 reviews
"costa rica"
in 25 reviews
"great company"
in 15 reviews
"cloud forest"
in 33 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We booked a "semi-private" white water rafting excursion with Boquete Outdoor Adventures. As indicated in the title of this review, the actual experience was great, and I'd recommend it. Our guide was fantastic - he added excitement for my teens, but hung on to me (the mother) so I wouldn't fall out of the raft at critical times. The white water built as the day went on, which added excitement to the post-lunchtime rafting. My one complaint about the rafting is that the front seats had no anchor strap (the strap you can slide your foot under, to add some stability), which we've always had on past rafting excursions. My teens (who were sitting in the front of the raft) both commented that they would have preferred to have one there.
As for my "poor value" comment, to elaborate... DO NOT book a semi-private tour with this operator. We paid a considerable premium for this, but there is little reason to do so. We did have private transportation (with a very pleasant driver), but had to wait around at the tour center for everyone to arrive. Part of the "semi-private" benefit was that we'd have our own raft for the four of us...but there were four people in a raft, so that was just unnecessary.

Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBOA, Owner at Boquete Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the positive review. Regarding the "poor value," this client did not book directly with us. She booked through her hotel, and got charged a premium higher price. If you want the best price, it is always best to book directly with the tour operator and not with a third-party.

Thank you,
-Team BOA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

First let me say Ed was wonderful to work with as were each of our guides, Amy and James (Hyme). All were so solicitous of my 83-year-old mother and made sure she was well cared for. We could have done the pipeline and the coffee plantations by ourselves but having an experienced and knowledgeable guide meant we didn't miss anything and learn alot more. Worth the fees! Thanks for helping us make wonderful memories!

Thank dlueck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBOA, Owner at Boquete Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the positive review!
-Team BOA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

My family of 4 (2 boys ages 16 and 20) had a great time in Boquete. All our excursions were awesome but our favorite was whitewater rafting. Being from Florida we do not get to go whitewater rafting often. It was fun and exciting without being scary. We went in March (the dry season in Panama). The rapids were ranked at about a 2.5 out of 5 as far as difficulty in rapids go and that was just about perfect. You have to help paddle but it is not strenuous. The water was a little low in places but the rapids were still a thrill for us and the guides were incredible. Pepito, Alex and Fredy took great care of us. They were very professional and fun. They carried food and water so we could stop for lunch to eat sandwiches, fresh fruit, cookies and chips. They took photos for everyone so we downloaded them afterwards. The scenery was awesome. The river is beautiful. We saw exoctic birds, plants and beautiful flowers. I do recommend water shoes (not flip flops - they will not stay on). They have water shoes you can borrow too. They worked great. They give you a helmet and life jacket to wear as well. Don't bring camera/cell phone on raft. It will get wet but we left ours in the bus and they were safe. The bus driver stays with the bus. We brought a towel and change of clothes and glad we did. It is a long drive (but scenic) so to have clean clothes for the ride home was nice. You just have to change behind a tree. The cold beer they gave us when we got off the river was a nice touch. The guides took all the heavy stuff so we just got to relax. We would go again and highly recommend it!

Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBOA, Owner at Boquete Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for the positive review!
-Team BOA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

This river is great for beginners. I am a seasoned rafter and love to go whenever I can.. The guides were fantastic! They really knew how to make the most of the class 2-3 rapids.

Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamBOA, Owner at Boquete Outdoor Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Great to hear! Thank you for the positive review!
-Team BOA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boquete Outdoor Adventures also viewed

Boquete, Chiriqui Province
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 
Boquete, Chiriqui Province
 

Been to Boquete Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing