We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection, with wonderful hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Elevated Bed/Ocean View/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Lounge ensuite Bath/ Ocean Suite/ level 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Elevated Bed/Ocean View/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Lounge
ensuite Bath/ Ocean Suite/ level 3
3rd Level Ocean Suite/ensuite Bath/ocean view/elevated bed/fireplace
1st level luxury suite/ensuite bathroom
1st Level Ensuite Bath
Lounge/Cinema Room/Film and Music Library/Fireplace
Cinema Room/Film and Music Library/ Iounge /Fireplace
Restaurant Style Kitchen and Bar/Fireplace / seats 6 at the Bar and 6 at the Table
Restaurant Style Kitchen/Bar seats 6 at the bar/6 at the table/Fireplace/Terrace
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice/Dar Evening Star
kitchen looking towards Ramparts ocean terrace
From the Third Level Ocean Terrace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/ensuite bath/Fireplace/Terrace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Terrace
4th Level Ensuite Bathroom/ Bathtub/shower/Fireplace/Ocean Terrace
Spiral Leading to the Ocean Terrace
Ocean Terrace for Sunbathing /Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner
Rampart Ocean Terrace  from The High Ocean Terrace w The Ocean crashing below
Hammam Dar Evening Star
View from the Ocean Terraces
From the Photo Collection
sculpture @ Dar Evening Star
Ocean View from The Kitchen Ramparts Terrace
Stairway in Black Tadelekht leading toward 4th level Ocean Suite
Essaouira
Essaouira
Sea and Beach from The Ramparts Terrace
Dining  and relaxation from one of our Ocean terraces.
Ocean Views from every floor.
Spiral Stairs connecting terraces.
Barbecuing on our ramparts terrace.
Dining and sunbathing from our high Ocean Terrace
our ancient ramparts terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
doris1605...
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfection, with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was my second visit to Dar Evening Star and I can only say it was even better than the first time, which was a very difficult holiday to beat. The house is perfectly situated for an amazing stay and for carting all of your wonderful purchases back from the Medina. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for the most amazing hosts and they have become wonderful friends. I would also like to say that each time I leave the UK for Morocco people at home think that I am mad wanting to visit a Muslim country in these turbulent times, but each time, I leave Morocco with a greater understanding of a wonderful religion and it's humble and kind people. Nothing thrills me more now than to hear the call to prayer at dawn, and enjoy an ancient civilisation which is now only safe in a very small part of the world, namely wonderful Morocco. Thank you John and Chip for another chance to share a little piece of heaven.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
Dear Debbie,
At Dar Evening Star we are fortunate to host many people from every corner of the world. Thank you for your wonderful review and for a real understanding of Morocco and it's lovely and sweet people..after nearly 20 years here we have been blessed with Moroccan friendships that often leave us in awe of their generosity. You are an exceptional wife, mother and friend, your visits are a real treat for us. Your intelligence and petspective re Morocco and its safety and culture are such a reassurance for not just us but to all of the Moroccans who live here..They smile when they see you coming!! Anxiously awaiting your next visit and again, Thank you for your words!! Xx John and Chip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYCjamd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EVEN MORE SPECTACULAR THE SECOND TIME!”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

When we decided to return to Essaouira for the second time we, once again, reserved Dar Evening Star. I had almost forgotten, the beauty of this house, it’s breathtaking views of the ocean from every floor and it’s wonderful terraces and it’s prime location in the heart of the old Medina. The house itself is fully outfitted on every level for every need. I am a chef and I was amazed at the kitchen and bar setup which included every detail and modern appliance. The service that John and Charles provide are simply nothing short of concierge services at a 5 star hotel in New York! They sent a car for us to pick us up in Marrakech, met us upon arrival in Essaouira, transported our luggage, showed us all of the details of the house, followed by a mini-tour of Essaouira, rented a car for us, made restaurant reservations, on and on…Dar Evening Star is now the destination for us…thank you John and Charles! We’ll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That we found a gem that we can return to again and again
Liked least: That we had to return to New York
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Dear Friends,
So grateful that you took the time to write such a great review for Dar Evening Star..you are wonderful clients! Maybe we will see you for a third time? More surprises await you! Thank you so much..John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat N
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A luxurious waterfront Moroccan experience”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Dar Evening Star for 7 nights and had a truly lovely stay. The house is simply speculator and you can clearly see how much thought, love and consideration John and Chip have put into it. Aside from ensuring every creature comfort was provided for, there was an impressive touch of luxury and artistry from beautiful home accessories to quality appliances. We didn't get to meet John on this trip but Chip went out of his way to make us comfortable, provide us with every possible essential (and non essential - bottled water for the whole stay, fresh guacamole, fresh bread, wine, beer, French pastries), familiarise us with local shops/restaurants, and help us with whatever we needed - without being too intrusive.
The location and surroundings were equally impressive - we really had the best of both worlds: a picturesque/relaxing beach holidays (private, uninterrupted views of the ocean), but also a short walk away from a bustling and colourful Moroccan town (amazing restaurants, lively market, exotic fish port etc). We really couldn't have asked for more.
We would very much welcome the opportunity to stay there again, knowing with confidence it would be a holiday destination and welcome that hits all the right spots.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Dear Cat,
You were wonderful,kind,classey and most of all perfect guests at Dar Evening Star. You, yourself, are in customer service and know what gratitude means to an owner who tries to provide good service. Your kind words help us to really push on to provide even better service.We were very happy that you understood the unique ocean setting of the house and that you made note of it! Please come back to us and next time we will have surprises for you that hopefully exceed what you've experienced here. Our best to you and Demis!! X John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DannyAube...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely and well-equipped with stunning views”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful holiday in a top-notch villa. Very well equipped and a beautifully warm, welcoming house. The bedrooms with huge windows looking directly out to the Atlantic are truly special, as was waking to the sound of huge waves crashing on the wall below us. It is plain to see how much pride John and Chip take in this house and so they should! They were wonderful hosts, who organised our transfers, met us at the taxi to walk us to the villa (even though we arrived very late at night) and even gave us a guided tour of the medina. This is customer service beyond your wildest expectations and from two pleasant, interesting and lovely people. They were entirely unobtrusive but on hand at short notice for any requests or problems, not that we had any. This was an entirely stress-free and enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

The town of Essaouira and the surrounding areas are very easy to enjoy and there is loads to do. The markets are as bright, colourful and varied as Marrakech but with far less hassle. Claudia Sternweiss and her Berberland tours are thoroughly enjoyable. She is knowledgable and knows EVERYBODY! Khadija's Kuzina, where we had a great cooking lesson, is also worth a mention.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting on the ramparts
Liked least: Drain smell from lower bathroom. Shame on entry to the villa.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
We eagerly await your return and are so grateful that you stayed with us.You were exceptional guests and Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This riad is absolutely stunning. The decor and art work is beautiful and it is finished to the highest standard. Having said that, it still felt like home, with every comfort you could think of, and even some you couldn't! John and Chip were so friendly and welcoming. They were never intrusive, but were always on hand to provide whatever assistance was needed. Their very helpful information book was in the riad for easy reference and the personal touch of taking us to breakfast and providing an orientation tour of the Medina was just perfect. I would recommend this place to everyone. I'm already planning my next trip!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2015
Dear Vickie !
To have clients like you and then a 5 Star Review on top of it all..we are so grateful that you've stayed with us, were excited about our house and Ocean views but most of all we were really happy with your kindness and graciousness. We will wait for your next visit which we will make even more special for you the next time!! Fondly John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing