We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
268
125
26
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
125
26
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central courtyard wooden screen roof terrace breakfast is served no elevator eggs cooked to order excellent location the atlantic ocean medina walls moroccan style port riad morocco hammam seagulls souk wardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

First of all I would like to thank the amazing family of people working in this Riad specially Khadija, Kacem and Gabriel. Their work and dedication was out of this world. My mom and myself felt part of this family and super treated. Thank you!

Rooms are super comfortable, clean and with a lot of light. Kudos to the delicious orange flower soap kindly put in the bathtub or walking shower.

They have a magnificent terrace that overlooks the Atlantic Ocean and a lot of beautiful companion will take care that you don’t feel alone .... the known Essaouira Seagulls! Love them!

Last but not least, don’t forget to ask for the amazing home made Moroccan and Mediterranean food, a delicatessen.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Travel-Expert-Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaDLO, Propriétaire at Riad Dar L'Oussia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon! Just a little bit late, but.... Thank you for your beautiful comment!!
Khadija, Kacem, all Dar L'Oussia staff and myself (& the seagulls, of course) are glad you enjoyed your stay in hour home.
Hope to welcome you again in Dar L'Oussia ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

A beautiful place to stay. The open courtyard felt very Moroccan. There are a lot of stairs if you have mobility issues. Our room was beautifully decorated and clean. We are at the dining room twice. The sole was melt in your mouth good. The next night was the eve of Ramadan and the menu was extremely limited. We enjoyed the lovely young lady that served us. The last night we were the only guests in the hotel.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank rlberg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Enjoyed a huge room in this hotel which is close to medina wall and easy walk to everything inside the walls as well as beach and Portuguese fort. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Room had all the conveniences and was light and airy. Overlooking the central lobby area it could be a bit loud and with big windows overlooking same was a bit public unless you closed the curtains.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcnslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaDLO, Propriétaire at Riad Dar L'Oussia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello! Thank you for this nice comment :)
You were staying in the suite 10, right? Indeed, it's the only one with such big windows and, yes, curtains may be quite useful if you want privacy.
Hope to welcome you again soon at Dar L'Oussia.
Best regards from all the staff !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

This Riad is in a great location, just steps within the wall of the old city and withing easy walking distance to the many shopping streets of Essaouira.

The most impressive part of the hotel is the overall unique Moroccan desing with all the rooms surrounding a central courtyard which is lushly landscaped with palm trees. The overall maintenance of the property was actually very good even in all the guestrooms. The only slightly negative aspect is inside the shower stall which I think needs more attention.

The roof garden with a bar was terrific with a view of the adjacent areas and the beach.

Breakfast served in the dining room was very fresh and tasty with warm pastries and eggs cooked to order.

Even though it has no elevator, I would still rate this as a riad with distinctive characters.

It was a nice choice on the Gate 1 tour of Morocco.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaDLO, Propriétaire at Riad Dar L'Oussia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good afternoon and so many thanks for your nice comment. It's always a pleasure to read from Gate1 travelers!
I am replying a bit late, indeed... but, just for the record, the necessary has been done about the shower shall.
Best regards, from the staff and myself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Nice hotel, great food, great location. I would stay here again and that is the best review one can get. Food was good, service attentive and clean rooms. Toiletries provided, shower nice, beds great.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Pate-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrielaDLO, Propriétaire at Riad Dar L'Oussia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi! Dar L'Oussia's staff and I are glad you enjoyed your stay in our home and we do thank you for this nice comment!
Hope to welcome you back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews