We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Zahia
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

One of the best things about staying at this Riad was that we were bumped up from our room to the best room in the house. It came as a beautiful surprise and we were so pleased - thank you so much!

Apart from that, the riad itself is beautiful and charming. The place is decorated with vintage posters, the rooms downstairs have games for families. Breakfast can either be served to your room or eaten down stairs - we always ate downstairs as it was so lovely!

We found that everyone in the riad had a respectful and knowledgeable approach. This, we found can sometimes make all the difference when you're in an unfamiliar place. The professional nature of everyone there is second to none - a very smooth operation! We were given lots of information on where to go for dinner, how to make our way back to the riad and were even given free maps of Essaouria.

The riad itself is well located and once inside its very easy to navigate even in the dark. There are sensor lights along the stairs and a light at the bottom of the stairs was always kept on.

I would highly recommend this place - and a tip to all those who do end up staying: there's a restaurant called Ramzy's near the riad that serves cold beer late into the night - definitely worth popping in!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

We found very friendly personnel upon arrival, though quite late in the evening. They gave us good advice for nearby places, including restaurants, and we have used it.
We extended our stay from one to 2 nights, and we had to change rooms, but it wasn't much of a trouble.
The beautiful terrace on top of the riad is to be used for breakfast, when you can also enjoy a view on the ocean. The location is very convenient for all activities and easy to reach. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
Beautifully restored, as in most of the old buildings, the smell of the room is not very fresh, and there is not so much to be done with air coming from the inner courtyard mainly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ondina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Very well located, right in the heart of the medina with everything within a stones throw but fortunately not directly outside the window. Having said that though the noise from within the riad travels incredibly well and depending on the courtesy of your neighbors it has full potential for disturbed nights sleep. The rooms certainly lacked the charm of other riads that we have stayed in which is disappointing considering the tariffs that they charge, I would say it is certainly overpriced. The breakfast is small and of a poor standard. All this said though, we have had a pleasant stay and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobyhull2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Enjoyed my stay at Riad Al Zahia thoroughly. It is in a great location in a wonderful city.

Was made to feel very welcome by everybody and would describe the hotel as quite arty. It would be a wonderful location to relax for a few days.

The rooms were simple but had everything that you would need. Not the best place that I stayed on the trip to Morocco but certainly not a lot wrong with it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is a slightly delayed review – sorry! ☺

I stayed for 4 nights at this Riad about a month ago and absolutely loved it!

The place is tastefully designed, the bed is super-comfortable (perfect for me as I had some sleeping to catch up on!) and breakfast is huge (standard Moroccon breakfast that is very delicious albeit slightly repetitive!) and very enjoyable to have on the roof on the mornings that are not too windy. Free wireless Internet was accessible from my room.

The riad is very conveniently located in the medina and I felt quite safe wandering solo.

Unfortunately, there is a bit of hassling from the shopkeepers in the vicinity, but I think it is comparatively low-key compared to elsewhere in the medina… and definitely low-key compared to the rest of Morocco.

The best part about the riad for me was the service provided.

They were very quick to reply my emails and provide information. I was trying to travel straight to Essaouria after landing in Marrakech (happening to arrive on the eve of the Gnaoua festival) and they helped with finding out bus timetables and even bought a bus ticket and had it sent out to me in the UK so I could definitely make it there on the same day.

They organised someone to meet me at the bus station and told me exactly how much to pay him (no fussing around with trying to guess what’s an appropriate tip to pay). Someone was always at hand to answer questions (can sometimes a bit of a problem in other riads as, unlike hotels, there isn’t always an official receptionist at hand).

I have absolutely no hesitation in giving it full 5 stars.

GO! Essaouria is beautiful, only a 2-½ hour bus ride from Marrakech and this riad is a perfect base to explore the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beavisonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#17 of 75 in Essaouira
511 reviews
0 km away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#34 of 75 in Essaouira
276 reviews
0.6 km away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#36 of 75 in Essaouira
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
0.2 km away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 75 in Essaouira
115 reviews
12.8 km away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Zahia

Address: 4 Rue Mohammed Diouri | Medina, Essaouira 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: $63 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Zahia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Zahia is one of the best places to spend a few days in Essaouira, with friends, on family or in couple Essaouira has lots to offer, to visit and to see, and Riad AL Zahia has the best location to explore it all.We have all kind of rooms for everybody doubles, triples, twins and family rooms, all rooms are different styled, cossy and very confortable, average big and high roof with its private bathrooms.We have a lovely terrasse where you can have your breakfast admiring the beautifull Ocean and the wonderful roofs of the medina, like a tale!!Book your tickets now, Essaouira is waiting for you, be very welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Al Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing