We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Riad Chbanate(Essaouira)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Riad Perle d'Eau(Essaouira)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
Free cancellation until 21/07
USD 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Watier(Essaouira)
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Zahra(Essaouira)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 271
USD 223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
580
166
52
10
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
166
52
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracedining areasfamily suitehot water bottlessister hotelnooks and cranniesles jardinsberber marketdelicious lunchbeautiful hotelboutique hotelsea viewargan oilour honeymoonevery morningcentral courtyardspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Our final location to wind down after trekking in Atlas Mountains and staying in the desert Very pleasant premises with numerous private dining rooms if you choose to eat in.(well worth doing once for the experience but the food is only reasonable rather than great and quite expensive)

Our Bedroom is great (sea view suite) provided you do not mind the steep and uneven spacing of stairs between the lounge / bathroom and bedroom which can make visiting the bathroom at night difficult.

Breakfast very good served on the terrace.

Room Tip: sea view suite the best
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BrianS046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for your comment.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast on the roof terrace, the high light of the day according to many guests.
Only one of our sea view rooms has stairs in the room. Please contact us directly and we will find the best room for you. I don't think that 250 MAD for our daily three cours set menu all fresh and home made and cooked especially for you is too expensive?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Villa Maroc is a delightful riad style hotel just inside the Medina in Essaouira. The location is excellent, just off the Place Moulay Hassan, and a couple of minutes walk from the smart new promenade. The hotel is on four floors around an open central atrium, with the bedrooms mainly on floors three and four (be warned, the stairs are narrow, steep and uneven and definitely not suitable for people with mobility problems) We had a superior room with sea view on the top floor which was traditionally decorated, spacious, comfortable and effectively heated (evenings were still pretty chilly while we were there) Breakfast is served on the roof terrace (or in your room) between 8.00 ish and noon (I think that's what they said!) and is substantial: orange juice, yoghurt with fruit or a kind of bircher muesli, assorted Moroccan pastries and breads, and eggs cooked to order, plus a tomato/olive/goat cheese accompaniment. All fresh and delicious and served by charming, helpful staff. The hotel doesn't serve lunch (but has a very pleasant small cafe round the corner - Saha Kfe - where you can get light lunches and snacks - I think it stays open until late afternoon). There is a small bar at the hotel with an open fireplace, which makes it a very cosy place to gather before dinner. There is no dining room as such, just a series of small rooms and alcoves (some with a fireplace) and you choose where you want to sit. Dinner, which has to be ordered before 2pm, is a three course meal of Moroccan specialities at 250 dirhams per head, with a choice of three main dishes, usually including a vegetarian option. You can also pre-order Moroccan specialities if there is something you particularly want to eat. We ate there twice and on both occasions the food was of a very high quality and beautifully presented. NB dinner service is leisurely - this is not a place to come for a quick meal! We didn't take advantage of the hammam or spa services, but they were highly praised by other guests. Villa Maroc offers a number of day tours and activities (cookery workshops etc) and I'm sure they do them all well. We decided to spend one day at Villa Maroc's sister hotel Les Jardins, which is about a 15 minute drive inland. This is a glorious property in the middle of an argan forest with a heated swimming pool (yes, properly heated!). It's a perfect place to spend a leisurely half day (11.00 - 17.00) with an excellent barbecue lunch included (250 dirhams per person including transfers) The team here are delightful and very welcoming. All in all we were delighted with our choice of hotel - Villa Maroc is a very professionally run hotel but at the same time manages to be a warm, welcoming and very relaxing place to stay. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely description of Villa Maroc. We are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are all looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our Riad Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

A beautiful boutique hotel, with a lot of soul, decorated with perfect taste , with an attention to every single little detail, from fine linen sheets to private terraces, amazing view of the harbor and the medina, wonderful individual little dining room with a fireplace and excellent food, and perfectly located in the center of town, yet extreemly quiet. A real heaven

Stayed: April 2017
Thank sylviesabatier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

We are glad to hear that you love Villa Maroc. Please tell it to all your friends. We are all looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Villa Maroc is a very pleasant place to stay. It´s in a perfect location, next to the beach, the lively harbor, and the narrow streets and alleyways of the old medina. Villa Maroc is tastefully decorated in beautiful colors and there are plenty atmospheric little corners and rooms to choose from for dining in privacy, or enjoying a cup of coffee. Staff was always friendly and smiling. Our room was small - we heard it was the smallest in the hotel - but we didn´t mind. We found places to put our luggage and really enjoyed the beautiful color palette and tasteful details of our Berber style room. It was fun to have little stairs from the living space to the bedroom chamber. From the bedroom, there was a view towards the sea, which was lovely. It had been raining before our arrival and it rained when we arrived, but there was no dampness or humidity. It was cozy and warm inside the room. There was a fireplace in the room too. It would have been lovely to sit by the fire, but it was already warm enough without and we did not want to heat the room too much for the night. The bathroom had their own range of argan oil based toiletries with a lovely scent of jasmine. Breakfast was the nicest we had during our one week stay in Morocco - on a sunny morning we enjoyed it on the rooftop terrace looking out towards the ocean. Our breakfast consisted of fresh orange juice, sweet homemade yogurt, fruits, eggs, coffee, bread and pastries with jam and honey.

To get to the rooms you need to climb some stairs. We thought that the narrow staircases just added to the charm of the place, but it´s good to know this if you have knee problems or other trouble with a lot of stairs.

We did not try their hammam, which looked very tempting - we were too curious about exploring and photographing the town and the harbor. But this is just another good reason to come back one day and take the time to just relax. Also, their other property out of town, Jardins Villa Maroc, would surely have been a real treat on a hot day. Plenty of things to see and do for the next visit!

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Kaisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you so much for your detailed description of Villa Maroc, which is a big help for futur travelers.
We hope to seeing you back soon with time for the swimming pool and the hammam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location just inside the medina. Food and bar area are very warm, welcoming and convenient. We enjoyed a late night tagine and bottle of wine late the night we arrived when everything else was closed. Very nice. The room was large and wonderful. Everything was great.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abderrahim E, Propriétaire at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely report. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our personalized service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews