We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
73
48
14
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
48
14
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very nice hotel booked nights rooftop terrace fishing port hot water our night stay comfortable room would definitely stay here again nice breakfast noise medina laundry sea riad cleaners courtyard hostel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

This hotel is easy to reach and has a great location. The staff were extremely friendly and the breakfast is served on the beautiful rooftop terrace. The rooms are very clean and the beds super comfortable. It can get somewhat noisy because the windows all face the courtyard but it’s not too bad. And the room rate is absolutely unbeatable! I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank kalle2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

This is a very well located hotel on the edge of the medina but very accessible to everything. Friendly service, comfortable room, with good bed and bathroom. Good breakfasts on the roof, with view - a bit of the sea just visible. One big minus, we asked if they could do laundry, they said yes and then proceeded to lose some of our clothes. They are not set up to do it, don't do bags with lists or anything. The excuse for the loss was "it's free". But that isn't good enough. Otherwise, it's a good place, and can be recommended.

Room Tip: There are rooms with street views - Several rooms only have windows in the dark inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Staff where rude, mainly the wee short haired man with the glasses and no manners.
On check-in the little rude man shrugged keys at our smiling faces and made us find the room ourselves. The room is dark and dingy, room 9, we ask for another room, "No" is our answer and he looks back at his computer screen. We ask for wifi, "Not working" is his blunt explanation when he does not even lift his eyes from the computer screen. The bed sheets were slightly tacky and dusty (In hindsight I think it must be that they hang them out to dry in the wind, and living by the sea attracts salt and sand) we asked for them to be changed, the little rude man then huffily orders the cleaning lady to change them spouting something in Arabic under his breath. After this welcoming exchange the beautiful decor was lost. We settled into our cave then once more inquired about the wifi to which he replied "Not working, not my fault!". We left to adventure Essaouira a little downtrodden. When we returned there was a different receptionist that gave us an explanation about the wifi and apologized for it not working but looked at us with some trepidation, we feel that the little rude man had bad mouthed us to everyone and we felt uncomfortable. The room had a small window to the outside that allowed street light and generator noise to penetrate my ears, and ruin my sleep. To our delight we had to deal with the wee short haired fella with the glasses again and ask for another room that allows sleep. He eventually did move us to a twin room with a lobby view, room 10, nice room with air and light. You could also sleep at night with no noise and block off any light. The breakfast was nice with good coffee.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 9.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank darkmarjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Check in was of extremely low quality and standards. On arrival, the receptionist could not even speak up. He gave us the key to our room and left us to find it on our own. We saw him taking other guests up to their rooms but he did not do this for us which made us feel discriminated. The hotel internet connection was down for maintainable or maybe a broken line. Not sure because this was never explained to us when we asked for wifi. Our room (room 9) did not have a window and apparently you have to pay extra to have this facilities which we didn't do when we booked on booking.com (Our fault). We tried to get another room but the hotel was fully booked and we understand that but not the horrible manners the guy at reception had to inform us this. He was rude and very nasty when we inquired for another room. It felt like if he did not want to talk at all. We asked again to get our bed lining changed because it was very dusty when we arrived and they rudely did between mumbles in Arabe which made noticeable the fact they were badmouthing about us. Room 9 has a noise problem with the noise coming from an upstairs fan which did not allow us to sleep on the first night so when we asked to be moved to another room, the same rude receptionist gave us the room beside (room 10) which was a twin room. We accepted it because all what we wanted was to have a good sleep which we managed to do. The hotel has beautiful corridors and is strategically located making this hotel a pretty good option if you stay inside the medina which is the only positive thing about this hotel. Breakfast is served on the roof and it is basic continental but good. For the rest: service is a very big problem and disappointment, staff could not care less and it is evident some of them do not respect the clients or understand the concept of good customer service. We felt the hostility and would never return to this hotel. Staff were detrimental and despite the beauty of this hotel, the rooms at the back which are in the corners of the hotel are horrible and not worth of a penny. No a good client treatment and lack of respect and consideration from the staff. Because of this, I rated this place as a total disappointment and one of the worse we ever stayed in.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Hejanace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

This pretty hotel, with a lovely atrium, was ideally located for our 2 night stay, in the medina and handy for all the main sights - souk, port, ramparts, restaurants. Cool, comfortable room, with good rooftop breakfast.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms were quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews