We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
86
80
22
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
80
22
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace waves crashing on the rocks outer walls hot water breakfast is served bed was comfortable perfect location third floor rooms are clean nice riad mint tea sea medina ramparts port
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

I stayed here recently for 2 nights with my family and it's a lovely little place. Easy to find and close to the markets and not far from the beach and harbour. The staff are very friendly and welcoming especially Mohammed. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the views were good. The roof terrace is lovely and you can have your breakfast up there or downstairs. I would love to stay here again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarAlBahar, Propriétaire at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you so much for your nice review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

This is really one of the most stunning locations I've ever stayed in, the Dar (not a Riad as there is no courtyard) is fantastic. Its a very old building that's built into the ramparts, very high with about 4 stories so not suitable for disabled.
Its incredibly atmospheric, there is really nothing better than watching the sun set t othe sound of the call to prayer. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. I will be back (soon)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Salpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarAlBahar, Propriétaire at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

You will be welcome ! And thank you for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This traditional unspoilt riad is in an excellent location, on the outer walls of the medina. Our room, on the third floor, had magnificent views out to sea, the waves crashing on the rocks below. Just above, the roof top terrace, with panoramic views, was an exceptionally pleasant place to sit and read ; eating breakfast here was an absolute delight. The riad was clean and comfortable and once you got to know the medina- which isn't difficult especially compare to Marrakech, we found it to be in a perfect location. We loved Essaouria with its laidback character and certainly intend to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -alyandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarAlBahar, Propriétaire at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

..and we will be glad to welcome you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

This quiet little place is close to all of the main sites, with great sea views from the room and rooftop terrace. where you can have mint tea or breakfast. The room was clean and the breakfast substantial. Unfortunately, the wifi included in the room fee did not work in our room.

Room Tip: If a quiet stay by the sea, with no distractions.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarAlBahar, Propriétaire at Dar Al Bahar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

We have solved this problem, now wifi is available throughout the whole house.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

This small, ancient guest house is on the outer wall of the medina and our small window overlooked the waves crashing on the rocks. We watched gorgeous sunsets and sunrises from the terrace, overlooking the town and the ocean. The small room was very quiet and isolated from the others. The bed was hard though and it was difficult to get a good night's sleep for us as an older couple.

Essaouira, with its small, bustling port is an exotic trip back in time.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank JM-HS-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews