We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Riad with just the right amount of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
terrace kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Terrace
terrace kitchen and dining area
second, top-terrace area
View from  top terrace
ground floor lounge, light-well area
ground floor lounge
dining area
Ground floor kitchen
Lightwell - 1st floor
Light well
first floor double bedroom. No.1
Gold room
Gold room bathroom
First floor double bedroom, no.3
Second floor twin/triple bedroom.  No.4
Green room
Green room bathroom
6th bedroom, on terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
madrigalp...
penzance
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad with just the right amount of local help and support”
Reviewed 27 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Breakfast in hot sunshine sitting on sofas on the roof terrace, early evenings by the log fire downstairs and all the wonders of beautiful, laid back Essaouira to enjoy and explore within a few minutes walk. Alison's Riad is beautifully designed and is well equipped with everything you'll need including an invaluable roof top kitchen for those cold beer and glass of chilled rose moments. The bedrooms are all large and comfortable and all with ensuite shower rooms so no-one got a raw deal! Thanks to Alison, Halima and Hassan for all their help and friendship and to Said for the great taxi service from Marrakesh. Look no further than Chez Dar Ma, its beautiful and you won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the sunshine on the topmost sun terrace as the seagulls wheeled over the roof tops al around me.
Liked least: Getting to the roof terrace and remembering I'd left something on the ground floor!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The helpful host
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
agasas
Agadir
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Jewel in the Medina”
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We've stayed in many places in Essaouira and this our favorite in the medina. We find that usually places are either comfortable or beautiful and Chez Dar Ma is both. We rented the whole place for a stay with friends. Between us we had 5 children. We also ordered the breakfast two of the mornings. I'm always a bit nervous when we book sight unseen, but the pictures on the website well represented the house. The owner has taken great care to create a well curated space with artifacts from around the world. Still it wasn't overdone so as to make us uncomfortable with the children. Our first day there was sunny and to welcome us she served us tea on the roof top terrace. On the roof is an indoor as well as outdoor sitting area and a small separate sunbed area. The location is tucked in the far corner of the medina, but we didn't the find the walk to be a problem. It rained our next few days there but we were cozy as could be even with rain falling in the central courtyard. When the DVD player wasn't working for the kids, she went out immediately to purchase a new one. The owner is friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Its hard to express just how much we enjoyed our time. Thank you Allison! I know we will be back when we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aplabacke...
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Like a small, homey, boutique hotel for a very reasonable price”
Reviewed 16 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

If you are looking for a place that feels like home in Essaouira, with a loungy feel, cool kitchen and all decorated with a personal touch, we can highly recommend this place.

A great perk is the very helpful and sweet owner who gave us that guide advice for Essaouira that normally only a friend can give – where to pick up good food (bring a pot from the house and go to this little stall, but not that one…), where to buy beautiful porcelain, how to make real mint tea, how to track down an antique arabic tea pot, etc.

Our kids of 5 and 7 had a great time playing around the house and found lots of things to do. And if you ask kindly, and if you are lucky, you may be able to rent the berber decorated studio on the terrace connected with a staircase to a bedroom downstairs – which gives you a fab etage apartment feel that easily sleeps five or just adds a luxurious ”living room”.

Ah – and lets not forget the breakfasts.

Needless to say we did not leave the house much…

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maffalda8...
Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing