We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house in the perfect location for Medina...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
SEHunter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in the perfect location for Medina and water sports”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I stayed at Dar Doughri for 5 days in September and had a great time. Everything was extremely well managed by the owner; money transfer, transport to and from the airport, information about the house etc. Faoud, the local manager is a huge asset as he is able to point you in the right direction for activities (camel rides; quad bikes, massages etc). Karina, the housekeeper and cook makes you a substantial breakfast which we ate on the rooftop in the morning sunshine - very peaceful and relaxing. She also cooks excellent evening meals - I can recommend the pastilla.

Practicalities - wifi is great, works really well. Very comfortable beds with decent pillows and good bed linen. Plenty of room for large groups - I think this house would work really well for a big family or two families, particularly with the many bathrooms. Outside the busy Medina which is a big plus at all times of the year, but particularly the winter when sometimes the Medina houses can be quite damp and cold.

Highly recommend this house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, the local staff - invaluable to make sure you get good value
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenella L
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A delightful destination undamaged by tourism”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from a week here and enjoyed every moment of our time in the house and in Essaouira. We were beautifully looked after by a combination of Fouad and Karima who shared the tasks of looking afrer and managing the house. Our host in England, Fiona, helped us a great deal pre the trip and on site the house and contents met all our needs, it was. Ice to be just outside the medina and away frim some. At times. Very crowded routes. There were shops and supermarkets within easy reach and a shop within 10 mins walk to buy alcohol. Good places to eat locally, easy walk to the beach and a really fun, lively and unique place to visit.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
11cahc
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real holiday destination”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great house - brilliant for 2 couples and our 4 teenagers (16-19). Wonderful to have a bathroom per bedroom. Clean, tasteful, but reasonably simple too. Karima made great breakfast (and some suppers), Faoud sorted out everything we needed in terms of trips and gave us ideas.
We loved shopping in the Medina, or just browsing and taking photos; enjoyed the beach experience (sun, sea, sand and sometimes high winds to make it more exciting). Water sports were a great asset for teens - along with other fun stuff to do. Folk in the Medina and on the beach were friendly, a tad pushy, but nothing too difficult to cope with.
I would go back when the time is right as it was a real break, a home in a different setting and it was so easy staying there and getting around.
Only down side is the sound of seagulls at night, but that is living by the sea and needing to sleep with open windows. We were there in Ramadan which may have meant there were more folk and revelry at night than usual. So ear plugs or i-pods were needed by those of us who were sensitive to noise.
Booking easy and owner really ready to answer questions and give advice. And my advice? Book this place for your holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Karima's breakfasts are legendary and also are great value for money - they also contribute to our guests expanding holiday waistlines! Karima also takes great pride in keeping Dar Doughri spotlessly clean for our guests. We have tried many different ways of keeping the pesky seagulls quiet but the only successful solution has been, as you suggested, ear plugs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveFerm...
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Nice house and only a short five minute walk from the Beach/Medina. Recommended!”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Dar Doughri for two weeks, and enjoyed our stay. The house has four bedrooms and five toilets, so eight people can comfortably stay there with plenty of room. The roof terrace was also a pleasant way to spend time in the morning before heading to the beach (also a five minute walk away.) If you wish, you can have the gem of a housekeeper, Miss Karima cook your meals. This was definitely the best party of our stay, as her cooking is beyond delicious! For about £30, we enjoyed a home cooked meal consisting of Beef Tanjia, Lamb with Onion and Raisin, Kefta with free range eggs, Lamb with Vegetables Couscous and Pastilla with Chicken and Almonds, along with fresh bread, salad and fruit for six people. Needless to say, we asked Miss Karima back several times and chose many different dishes which were all fantastic! Would definitely consider returning again... recommended!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Karima is indeed a fabulous cook and can tempt even the most cautious eater into tasting her delicious tagines. Karima is very willing to take our guests with her to the market to buy the ingredients and offers informal cooking lessons so our guests can take her cooking skills home with them. The cooker, serving dishes and many of the cooking utensils have been upgraded this year so there will be many more delicious tagines being produced in Dar Doughri.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“.......................Perfect”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Dar Doughri is a friendly, welcoming house that Fiona has furnished with excellent taste, love and care. It’s impossible to stand in the kitchen looking into the lounge without a contented smile creeping onto your face. Difficult not to repeat all the positive comments from the reviews below, but I won’t, except to say that Fouad and Karima are super.

The house is in a community next to the medina walls. There are two or three shops in every street, all keen for your custom at ‘local’ prices. Using schoolboy french (O level, failed), a smile and a handshake we were greeted like long lost friends each time we returned for our next purchase.

Restaurant la clé de voûte was our favourite, you’ll probably need to book.

Would we go back ? ………….yes…....in a flash.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the roof terrace
Liked least: The oven....which has now been replaced.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and kind comments. Karima and Fouad take great pleasure in making sure all our guests have a wonderful stay and the local community around Dar Doughri have always been friendly and welcoming. The local shopkeepers are very happy to serve our guests and will offer local prices....even if you cant speak the language you will be able to get by with a smile and a gesture!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing