We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
37
24
8
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
24
8
10
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Period of Stay: 5th Dec - 6th Dec 2013 (1 night)
Cost: 25 Euros (275 Dirhams)(including taxes - the city tax is 2.5 Euros - via Booking.com) for a single room (Le Oriental)

+ points:
(1) Location - less than 5 minutes from the Supratours office and extremely easy to find this place (use Google Map for reference!) From the dropoff point you will see Borj Bab Marrakech (a mini-tower of sorts) so just head in that direction and you will see the gate Bab Marrakech easily (a very plain looking gate) with a map in front. Walk through the gate and within a minute you will see a sign for Dar Zayna above a "5 Dirham" shop. Turn left and then right and walk straight and you will see the sign for Dar Zayna already! It is about 5 to 10 minutes to the beach, fishing port, Portugese fort, and is thus a convenient place (though Essaouira is really quite a small town anyway).

(2) English-speaking owner who helped me to print my Easyjet boarding pass - best place to do this because I wasn't sure any other owner would speak English properly!

(3) The wifi was fast and reliable.

(4) Very clean toilet.

- points:
(1) The lighting in the room could be a bit better other than just the lights near the bed.

(2) The furniture seemed a little old and some parts of the room (such as the back of the toilet door) could do with a little touch up of paint but not a big issue with me.

(3) Breakfast was basic and similar to what I had in a hostel. Most places seem to provide yogurt so perhaps that could be a good way to boost value at a low cost for the owner?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrLukeLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

- Room was clean.
- Location is very good (5 min from Supratour bus station).
- Place is very safe and quiet (there is always someone at the reception - 24h).
- Owner was very polite and helpful. When we lost camera in the Supratour bus, he was trying to help us (he called to Supratour company and to bus driver, and gave us a lot of good advices).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal_Z_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

we stayed a couple of nights, the "bargain" was 550dh + breakfast. rooftop (no sea view) is good and the breakfast served here is the moroccan riad standard: orange juice, coffee, tea, jam, bread, moroccan crêpes/pancakes, cheese. Spacious room, nothing exciting. Cool position inside medina walls. Great background music from the sea shore.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D1fretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed at Dar Zayna for 1 night whilst in Essaouria. Dar Zayna is a simple, clean raid down an alley from Bab Marrakech. It is also close to the Supratour Terminal, so very convenient for guests arriving by bus from Marrakech.

Our Oriental room is quite large, but simple. The WIFI works well in the room. This Riad has a rooftop patio where breakfast is served. It's very inexpensive to stay here and is definitely value for money. We were allowed to check out at 2.00 pm after our 3 hours of quad biking.

In short, this is THE place to stay in Essaouria if you are coming by bus and wish to have a convenient location..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Dar Zayna is just off Bab Marrakech.  A charming house, if not for the foul odor coming from the bathroom of the cherazad room, it would have been a wonderful exprience. The annoying smell unfortunately kept me awake most of the night.  The le oriental room my brother and his wife stayed at on the 2nd floor is alright.  The rooftop terrace where breakfast was served is besutiful Youness, the owner is reserved but very helpful , as all of our host in Morocco are.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews