We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large and comfortable in the medina with great...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Ettouahen

Downstairs from the dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Downstairs from the dining area
The Master bedroom Upper roof terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Downstairs from the dining area
The Master bedroom
Upper roof terrace
Seating area in open plan living space
Ground floor open plan living space
Additional seating area with TV
Sheltered seating area on roof terrace
Second floor double bedroom
First floor double bedroom
First floor twin bedroom
Sunset from roof terrace
Sunbeds on roof terrace
Roof terrace
Second floor bathroom
Kitchen in open plan living space
Master bedroom
Downstairs fountain
View from the upper roof terrace
The lower roof terrace
The beach
Ramparts and Ile de Mogador
Essaouira's fishing port
The town square
Spectacular coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sweetinso...
Pembrokeshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Large and comfortable in the medina with great sea views from the terrace.”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Renting this property was very straightforward and efficient though I regret using booking.com as the owners speak english and I could have saved them the 18% commission. Faoud arranged the luggage cart for both journeys, the children enjoyed the ride too, nice breakfasts and evening meal. Lovely warm log fire. The camel ride ,price started at 150dhs and ended up at 40dhs, was a great experience. Les Remparts was a great restaurant and the music from Said on the Guembri (Lute) and owner Mestapha on the krarebs(?) was stunning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine6...
2 reviews
“Good choice”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I would recommend to stay at Dar Ettouahen. It was clean and nice. The location is ok, too. The staff is frendly and ready to give a help if necessary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLeopards
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not a perfect property, but perfectly suited for our visit”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Dar Ettouahen is a large and lovely riad at the end of a short, narrow alley, steps from the scala, the souk, and all the shops and restaurants of the medina. Our family of 7 adults had plenty of space to sleep, relax, and share meals. We made good use of the terrace, as we were fortunate to have unusually mild weather for December. We had to replenish our supply of toilet paper, and make do with the single set of towels given us, but not unexpected, as we were guests in a private home and not being served by paid staff. However, we did employ Khadija to run some laundry (there are explicit instructions that guests should not use the washer), which was very helpful. We also enjoyed collecting ingredients to cook for ourselves one night, including spices, as the souk is an ample resources for this. A couple of nights, after very long days, it was fantastic to have Khadija prepare our evening meals!
An ENORMOUS asset of this property is Fouad, the caretaker. He is a brilliant and experienced man, multi-lingual, with intimate knowledge of the local scene and its people. He arranged for a cartman to assist with transporting our luggage for our arrival and also our 3am! departure. He arranged for a driver to take us on a tour of the regional market, the argan co-ops, the beach - and then we asked the driver to add another stop for us. Fouad sat with us and answered our many questions about local culture, history, and custom. He met us when we arrived, checked on us frequently, escorted us when we departed (at 3am!), and would accommodate any request to the best of his ability.

The owners of the riad were extremely communicative throughout as we made arrangements. Although they are not onsite, they ensure that their guests are well cared for by Fouad and Khadija, and the home is well set-up. This is a private home, not a chain or boutique hotel, so it was well-suited for a comfortably authentic visit. There were a few issues, but these were mentioned upon our departure, and I have confidence they will be addressed for future visitors if at all possible. The place was very fresh and clean, but not to 5-star standard, so if you're the type who wants predictable perfection, then plan to pay the price to stay at a hotel with a hundred other people outside of the medina. We considered other high-design private riads, but went with the strong recommendations of other travelers for this place that offers the value of the owners, the caretaker, and the cook. If you want to experience some of the real Morocco, with comfort and convenience, stay at Dar Ettouahen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size, atmosphere, location, roof terrace
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrJasperJ...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet, spacious & a bit smelly”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Pros:
Central location, quiet, secure, spacious. The road has character / charm. Helpful caretaker Faoud, met us on arrival & showed us the place, and got the DVD player mended during our week there. Good cook available - Fadisha, at reasonable prices. No need for air con, as cool by the sea (wind).
Cons:
The terrace was unusable due to the fierce wind (end of July). Bad drains smell in ground floor toilet & kitchen & another toilet. One of the bedrooms was damp - with peeling paint, but not uncommon when so near to the sea. No windows with an external view - you need to go onto the windy terrace. Could have done with some basics like more toilet paper, washing powder for the machine, oil / spices to cook with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the character of the Riad
Liked least: bad drain smell in toilets. Wind on terrace.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truffyclo...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet house in the bustle of the medina”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great trip to Dar Ettouhan. It is a beautiful house in traditional Moroccan style and is extremely quiet and relaxing despite the noise of the medina. Fouad was very helpful and Kadisha made delicious breakfasts each morning and a couple of tasty dinners for us; she is an excellent cook. The house is perfectly situated within a few minutes' walking distance of shops, restaurants, beaches and other attractions. There is a roof terrace with great views but there was too much wind to use it for sitting out on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kadisha's cooking, atmosphere of traditional house
Liked least: smell of cats in the streets!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing