We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Garance”
Review of Villa Garance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Garance
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Our stay was wonderful, the hotel is very comfortable in the heart of the city. Walking distance to the port and beach located in the heart of the medina. The staff and owner were welcoming and very accommodating. We had breakfast in the rooftop with views of the city. Great place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bernardo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Villa Garance
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017

We booked a room last-minute, but still the experience was a very positive one. Prime location in the medina. The rooms and the whole villa itself are delightful. The roof terrace is great and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We spent three perfect days at Villa Garance. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated as was the whole house. We absolutely loved our breakfasts on the rooftop terrace as well as the Moroccan homemade meals in the evenings. As we have choosy kids the cook was very willing to prepare dinners according to our requests. The staff was super friendly and kind. We would love to come back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juliazen2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

First visit in Essaouira for 2 nights, and luckily French friends from Paris deeply advised us to book Villa Garance for our too short stay.

First, have a 3 nights break: 2 is too short.
Second, enjoy all "ingredients" you are always expecting when travelling:

- 1) Location: wonderful because it is inside the Medina, very close to bars, restaurants, and of course, close to the beach! Just walk...

- 2) Riad: really nice place, comfortable, friendly, cosy and with a lot of space. Our bedroom was big, shower large enough, nicely decorated. And of course, we slept very well. For breakfast and tea time, enjoy the terrace, especially what we named the "VIP Lounge" (table with sofa for a family of 5 to 6) in a corner); again, great!!!

- 3) the food: yes, Villa Garance provides good breakfast (bread and crepes are baked on location), and delicious dinner you can order. Let Khadija taking care of you: she is a great cooker. We experienced 2 dinners (one Tajine and one couscous). Should you be interested in having some cooking lessons, Khadija will provide them very friendly. My 3 kids cooked and went to the spice shop with Khadija.

4) Relaxing: Are you on holiday for relaxing? Let Alima taking care of you through massage, sauna, and all sorts of SPA services you will appreciate. I experienced a one hour massage while my wife tried a 2h30 body scrub/sauna/massage. Alima is really fine, discreet and so efficient!

- 5) Warm welcome by the team
It is very important to be warmly welcomed and having high level of service. The owners Marie-Jo and Pierre-Henry, together with Khadija, Alima and the others members are a professional team.
They serve their clients warmly, and they paid attention to our needs, including our transfer from Marrakech Airport to their Riad in Essaouira, in a comfortable aircond van for 7 people. We required the same driver to return to Marrakech. So ask Mohammed if you want to enjoy your 2h30 minutes trip.

It was a stay we really enjoyed. That is the reason why I really wish to share such expérience.

For your next stay, I deeply recommend Villa Garance. It is like a home you share for a time.

Enjoy your next trip to Essaouira there!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank tedwiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Essaouira is often experienced as a day trip from Marrakech, but that short-changes this small, refreshing fishing port/resort town, which is well worth an overnight. There's no better place to park oneself while exploring Essaouira's pleasures than Villa Garance.

The small hotel is centrally located, on a side street off the main shopping street. It's a short walk to the large, sandy beach, or the area where the fishing boats land their catch and buyers snatch up the freshest. The place abounds in small stalls selling freshly-cooked fish dinners, as well as more formal restaurants. There are many tourists, mostly from western Europe, but it's a working port, and not the least hokey.

Villa Garance is owned by a charming French couple, who speak good English and work to ensure their guests' every comfort. Lavish meals are served on the rooftop terrace, with a view of the sea and much of the town. The rooms are clean and well-appointed. Can't imagine Essaouira offers anything more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maynard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
12.7 km away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
254 reviews
0.8 km away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
1.9 km away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
639 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
1,123 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#15 of 74 in Essaouira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Garance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Garance

Address: 10 Rue a. Eddakhil, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: $85 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Garance 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Garance is a charming, spacious riad, beautifully decorated inside, with bags of history and charm, and is located in a small street in the heart of the Medina, only a short walk from the ramparts and the Atlantic ocean. You will be truly delighted with everything that Villa Garance had to offer: elegant, clean and large bedrooms (10 single, double, twin or for families up to 5 people, from 15 to 35 m²); the large roof terrace with distant sea views, where a delicious and hearty homemade breakfast is served in the sunshine, where you can have sunbathe with a book throughout the day; and the charming and helpful owners Marie and Pierre, who are extremely friendly and give you lots of information on the history of Essaouira along with recommendations for restaurants and activities. All bedrooms are heated, with private bathroom, and have large windows except two of them which give access to a bright patio. Lunch, diner and massage can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Garance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing