We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large well appointed apartment in a very pleasant...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Playa 2

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flic En Flac

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“room to move!”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Loved the spacious apartment, short walk to the beach. Had the pool close by to the apartment. Shops and buses were easy to get to, The only disappointment was not having TV and internet. It was advertised free WIFI but it was not working during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roversfor...
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Large well appointed apartment in a very pleasant complex”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at La Playa 2 in August 2016 for 12 nights. The owner, Chris, could not have been more helpful throughout the entire booking process. He was always responsive and helpful. Chris arranged an airport collection and return for us, which went smoothly. Upon arrival we were greeted by Lalita who showed us the ropes and helped us to settle in. We found the apartment to be pretty much exactly as we had anticipated. It is large and well equipped, and sat within the grounds of a very pleasant complex. There are two swimming pools, which are well maintained (though slightly cold at this time of year - Mauritian winter). within the apartment was pretty much everything we could have needed, including air con and wi-fi. All the staff on the complex were extremely friendly and helpful - as was the case for pretty much everyone we met in Mauritius (with the possible exception of the checkout staff in the local Spar supermarket!)
The location is convenient for the part of Flic En Flac that we most liked. A 5-10 minute stroll got us to the bars restaurants and shops that we most preferred. Also to the bit of the beach that we liked the most. There is another strip of restaurants a bit further on around the beach front which we visited on occasions, but overall we were very happy with the location of La Playa 2. We were able to hire a car and tried to see as much of the island as we could. Flic En Flac is actually quite a good base for doing that. You can reach the south and south west quite easily - so places like Le Morne, Chamarel and Bel Ombre are accessible. Equally you can strike out north and tour Trou aux Biches, Grand Baie and the northern tip of the island within a day. You may well have to pass through Port Louis and my only advice there is to stick to the main roads (easy to get lost, as I found out) and avoid rush hour on the way back (long queues and a bit stressful in the dark - again as I found out).
Over all I must say we really loved our stay in La Playa 2 and it totally suited our needs. It is not a brand new show home (who needs that?); instead it is functional and practical and, as I said before, big. We liked that it is on the ground floor, giving easy access the pools for children. It not only met our expectations, but exceeded them and at a very reasonable rental rate. I am sure that rate increases in the Mauritian summer, but I am glad we went when we did. We may have enjoyed everything a bit less if the complex and the resort had been completely crowded. As it was, everything was quite chilled, which we really liked.
I would have no hesitation recommending this apartment to other people, and we would certainly be happy to stay there again if we came back to Mauritius one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebeca B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good value”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip outside the USA or Europe so we were not sure what to expect. We traveled my husband and I with our 4 children so an apartment was our choice over a Motel/resort.

This was a decent apartment in an ideal location for visiting Flic En Flac, it has a beautiful garden and pool, security at the gate. The beach and shops/restaurants are within about 3-5 blocks walking distance. The apartment itself was clean and very large, amenities (stove, microwave, fridge, washing machine) functional, Wi-Fi was a bit sporadic, but better than we expected. The price was very reasonable and it was a good value. A HUGE advantage over some of the Villas that our friends rented was that there were screens in all the windows and doors, we loved this feature as we could open up to the beautiful island breezes without getting eaten alive by the bugs. Chris the owner was very quick to get back to us on the booking and arranged transportation from the airport which went without a hitch.
The only downsides we experienced was the linens were not the best and rather scanty and there was a strong odor (chemical? cleaner? we couldn't tell) in the clothes storage areas. The other thing to note is that check in time is not until 2, but our flight got in at 6:30 in the morning (as many flights to the island do arrive early) so we arrived at the apartments wanting to collapse after 26+ hours of travel and were told that we would be waiting in a adjoining empty apartment until the current occupants checked out at 11 and the apartment could be cleaned. It was wonderful that we even had that option and didn't have to wait else where, but we were not expecting that so it was an added strain. The managers there did get us into the rooms about 12, so kudos to them for a quick turn around.

Pros: Very Clean
Excellent price for a large apartment
Safe
Lovely Garden
2 large pools
Walking distance to beach/shopping/restaurants
Screened windows and Doors

Cons: Bed linens very thin/worn
Strong chemical (?) odor in all the clothes closet/drawers
Had to ask for an extra towel as they were only going to give us 5 for 6 people.

Overall if we went back, we would stay here again, it worked well for our family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, garden, very spacious
Liked least: Linens/bedding
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planete97...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;