We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service at reception and rooms but great hotel and sea views”
Review of Gold Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gold Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor customer service at reception and rooms but great hotel and sea views”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We arrived in mauritius on the 13th of march 2011, we where left deserted at the airport because reception could not remember to send the hotel taxi for us!!!! we made 3 calls to jason on that night and all done from the info desk at the airport( at least those individuals where helpful!!!) and finally took matters in our own hands by hiring two taxi's to take us to gold beach hotel and jason confirmed the hotel will pay the fee...arrived at gold beach resort,total lack of service from reception,although jason was long way better to deal with than the other two rude girls at reception..!!! went to our rooms...no hot water as well in our rooms, we where all part of a large group and other members in our group had no hot water either in their room...complained about it next day...a lady from reception( not the two rude ones) advised she will organise a change of room for us...we where transferred to a better room the next day....the food and ambience at the hotel was great...restaurant staff provided excellent service...enjoyed the snorkelling and the beach right on the door step...some of the staff truly spoil the quality of this hotel....the reception manager VIDALOO OR VINDALOO OR VADILOO or whatever that rude idiots name was, was absolutely horrendous!!! she was actually having a fight with us for something that was in no way our fault but should have been blamed on that thieving taxi driver by the name of subbash( please watch out for this guy) well any way she should seriously go for some lessons in customer service and customer relationship management and hospitality because i can tell you now that she was shockingly horrible!!! i actually started recording the whole fiasco to put on you tube but she lowered her voice and stopped the monkey antics when they saw me recording, and she was also warned by her other rude sidekick who also works there who definitely learnt the rude beahviour from vindaloo (her superior) And what bugs me the most and makes me so angry,was the fact that on the day we left we made change at the airport and gave 1600 rupees in tips to subbash (the tour bus operator contracted to gold beach resort) and told him to give it to 4 restaurant staff who provided us with exceptional service but he took the money for himself!!!! i even wrote on the envelope the names of the staff who was to get the tips but he never gave it to them!! how dishonest!! and the reason how i know this is because we have made contact with the staff and they informed us they didnot receive a cent!!! so that was the last straw for me since we gave the guy his own tip and he was so flipping greedy he stole someone elses money....bad vibe...so if any one is visting there....be stern with reception staff and watch out for the thief...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neri29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    100
    36
    10
    19
See reviews for
38
116
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durban
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel in March 2011 for seven nights with a group of 6 adults and 1 kid aged 5.
We arrived in Mauritius at about 6.45 p.m, rainy weather and the hotel forgot to send someone to the Airport to pick us up. We waited around for about an hour, place was getting deserted by this time. We finally took the decision to hire two taxis to take us to hotel and they had to pay the bill. The room we were given had no hot water, we had a cold shower on a rainy night, next morning same story, cold shower. I was pissed off, reception did not want to give us balcony room, we requested this 2 months ago, it was a real struggle, but we changed rooms. After 4 nights aircon packed off, they did not repair it, given fans instead. We had a dispute about a wrong price given to us for a tour, Reception manager ( Mrs Vidalau) was so rude, no customer skills at all, she just further irritated us. They charged other rooms phone calls on our bill, and no apologies given for any of their incompetence. The taxi driver (Subbash) who took us for the tours is really charming and he SEEMED so trustworthy, we left R 1600 rupees with him to give to the 4 restuarant staff mentioned below, but HE KEPT THE MONEY FOR HIMSELF, HOW GREEDY. Our group gave him 1000 rupees for himself, well we learned our lesson.


This hotel is situated right on the beach amongst 5 star resorts. It is a beautiful place, but management has no clue how to deal with customers. The food was lovely, no complaints here, they had a variety each night. The restuarant staff were really nice, Neema, Siranh, Vikken and Deelen, they really made our stay that much more memorable. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

we were there for 5 days and the loved the food(breakfast and dinner)
rooms are cosy and comfortable
the beach is really good nearby not many people
had a comfortable stay
they serve indian food and have some indian chef i suppose the staff are good and humble

We went for honeymoon and really enjoyed the trip

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eanupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have visited many hotels in Mauritius, and would rate Gold Beach hotel very good value for money. While it is situated on one of the best beaches in Mauritius, you do not have to pay 5 star prices to enjoy the island. Do not try to compare it with the luxury hotels that surround it. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel; it is a small, cozy and very clean 2 star hotel with friendly staff. If you want clean comfortable rooms, good service and a hotel right on the beach, this is it. Food and drinks in this hotel were about 30 to 50% cheaper than in the 5star hotels. One of the best things about this hotel; they do not charge you $1000 corkage if you want to bring your own wine to the table.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SvB-CvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed with wife and 2 teenaged kids for 1 week.we had two cottages.the resort is located at a wonderful beach on one side.also, it is very close to shops on the other side.the rooms are decent. since we used to go for day tours on most days,we were using the resort mostly in the evenings only.with 31 rooms, you never get a feeling of being in a very crowded place.it has a small pool overlooking the beach. the beach itself is very clean.
the cabana bar serves a good variety of drinks.
the restaurant ,by the poolside, also overlooks the ocean. the quality of the food is very good.
the most amazing part of the stay was that each and every staff member was very cooperative.
on our 2nd night, the kids room had a little problem with the cooling.they agreed to shift us to another room in less than a minute!the rooms are well cleaned every day and fresh sheets and towels provided everyday.plenty of hot water,lcd tv, gym etc.
basically everything you want is there!it is not a plush resort. but is great value for money.
it is 20 mins walk from the main shops of flic en flac.and 2 mins walk from a small market at wolmar.so kids could always walk down to get their quota of chips/colas etc.
the restaurant staff is sooo adjusting, that it is difficult for me to express myself.the manager was always there, asking about everyone.since the buffet was mostly continental, they were always ready to provide us with indian food(at no extra cost).
the prices are also ok, as compared to other resorts.there is a free flow of coffee /creamer /tea sachets in the rooms.
there is also a quad biking center just 50 mtrs away from the resort. it is more reasonable as compared to the one at casela. also you save on taxi fare to go to casela.
overall a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiralsDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flic En Flac hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,370 reviews
2.7 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,127 reviews
2.6 km away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#10 of 18 in Flic En Flac
589 reviews
0.1 km away
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 18 in Flic En Flac
927 reviews
2.0 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Resort

Property: Gold Beach Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price range (per night): $194 - $324
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Beach Resort, in Mauritius, is located in the Western coastal village of Flic en Flac along a beautiful white sandy beach.The Hotel’s concept is to offer to guests the best holidays in a relaxing & enchanting environment with a selection of water sports activities and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gold Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Gold Beach Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac
Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing