We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,467)
Filter reviews
2,467 results
Traveller rating
1,871
458
90
28
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,871
458
90
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pink peppercorn dolphin bar spices restaurant infinity pool our honeymoon tamarin bay half board dressing area every evening boat house le morne water skiing rooms are large water sports breakfast and dinner walk in closet free of charge
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 2,467 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Sands is located right on the beach on the outskirts of Flic En Flac. We stayed in an exclusive suite from the end of September for nine nights. We had two balconies and were literally a small stone's throw from the beach. It's a very relaxing venue. The staff were excellent. In particular I would mention a senior person from the bar/lounge, Selven, who was outstanding.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank bonaventure28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResortMauritius, Resort Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Bonaventure28,

Your appreciation of the Sands Suites Resort & Spa and its 145 square metres suite has been noted with pleasure – indeed our excusive suite is closest to the beach and you can admire the impressive views of the mountain behind the bay as well as the sun set.

We have shared with thanks your comments about his outstanding service to Selven.

Until the next opportunity to welcoming you back,

Kind regards
Kamal Nundloll
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Currently staying at Sands for our honeymoon - our 4th night, so far so good until we walked in to the buffet restaurant for our evening meal. My husband wearing long sleeve shirt & tailored shorts and we were told that no shorts at dinner.. yet there were several tables with males with shorts on eating. Of course, argued this. Asked for manager as waitress had no leg to stand on.
He came over, explained that ‘table 31’ (lovely bit of confidentiality there) had complained the last few nights about men wearing shorts not long trousers and trying to please all hotel guests. Yet my husband has wore shorts for the last 4 nights but no problem! No apology for the embarrassment of being turned away in first instance, very unprofessional. If I was told this at time of booking I would of run a million miles away from staying at Sands, as we are in 2017!!! We stay in Dubai multiple times a year and have for years and never a problem dispute being a Muslim county! My husband will continue to wear shorts until the end of our honeymoon. Maybe the hotel needs to address the picky couple (who may I add is in trainers and definitely need to take a good look in the mirror) instead on the minority and upsetting other hotel guests!
Really disappointing Sands - you have let the hotel down and definitely ruined our meal & night.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank sophie1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResortMauritius, Resort Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Sophie,

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies to you and your husband for the embarrassment that was occasioned by the handling of the situation.

As you will appreciate, this is a sensitive topic and what may be acceptable and what not may boil down to the individuals applying the policy. All in all, our dress code for the evening meals basically outlines that gentlemen need to be wearing long trousers as it would be applicable in any restaurant of a certain standing in different parts of the world. Our mistake, probably lies in the flexibility that we may have shown to certain patrons and it is most regrettable that it was applied to you after you had already spent four nights among us.

It is far from our intention of creating a platform for guests to argue with each other and I sincerely hope that your otherwise good opinion of the resort will not be altered by this incident and neither prevent a return visit.

I wish to thank you for your kind understanding and trust that you will accept our apologies on behalf of our team.

Kind regards
Kamal Nundloll
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our trip was organised by Hollie at Audley Travel whose attention to detail is difficult to fault. I'm sure like many of us, readers will have looked at the brochure, expected the earth and been disappointed when there was a major disconnect between the journey and arrival.

In this case, the brochure details reality with a few unexpected accentuations to improve upon the idyllic. Our first evening was topped off by a troop of local dancers encouraging guests to join in the celebrations after a couple of cocktails made with flavoured local rum; the house signature cocktail being served in coconuts.

I had expected to have a language barrier with my skills in French being rivalled by the characters from 'Allo Allo'. But everyone so far speaks English, although some of the staff's comprehension of English isn't quite perfect; no ice in drinks for example can defeat staff; I think my nearest French translation of 'pas de glaces' may mean no ice cream and so sticking to English may be wiser.

The dream of a tropical paradise becoming a beautiful backdrop to our anniversary celebrations!

Room Tip: Some rooms would have a perfect sunset view! Others are just excellent!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndyM4136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResortMauritius, Resort Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Andy M,

Thank you for your precious time sharing your experience at Sands for your anniversary celebrations.

We are glad that the beauty of the premises exceeded your expectations and that you appreciated our national dance the Sega. Our team members not only speak French and English, but a selected few are also fluent in other European languages such as Italian, German as well as Asian language such as Hindi.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon,

Kindest regards,

Kamal NUNDLOLL
RESORT MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Nothing beats the view on arrival. You enter the hotel and through the archway and can see past the infinity pool to the beach. An awesome view and welcome!

We stayed in a deluxe room which was well equipped and overlooked the sea, as I think all rooms do. It was clean and serviced well.

Much as been said about the food. I think it was good although perhaps a little repetitive if you are staying for 7 nights. However you can eat at the 5* hotel next door, the Maradiva, with a contribution towards your meal from the Sands or the 'a la carte' restaurant within The Sands. I ate at neither but I was told that the food was amazing at the Maradiva - but expensive!

There are lots of inclusive water sports including kayaking, pedaloes, and sail boards, plus aqua gym daily and a glass bottom boat - so plenty to keep you off the sun lounger!!

As previously stated by other reviewers the drinks were very expensive, which is probably shortsighted as people only bought drinks in. Had they been less expensive I'm sure we and others would have enjoyed drinks at the bar more regularly.

We were here for 7 nights and enjoyed our holiday. The staff are friendly and helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend a holiday on the island of Mauritius, and the Sands Resort.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank enuguevander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResortMauritius, Resort Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear enuguevander,

Thank you for your fabulous and detailed review about the different facilities, activities and stunning view from the property!

We have taken good note of your concern with respect to the price of drinks, which are in line with hotels of the same category on the island.

Our team looks forward to your next stay so that you may once again indulge in the service..

Kind regards
Kamal Nundloll
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights following on from our three week stay in South Africa. We had a lovely time, very relaxing, and this hotel is in a really beautiful location, right on a lovely sandy beach. We had a room on the top floor with a great sea view. The customer service was excellent and nothing seemed too much trouble.

We were on half board. We found the food to be ok. There was a self service buffet for breakfast and dinner. We felt that there could have been more choice, particularly at dinner. However there was another restaurant that you could eat in if you paid extra. Also, drinks were extra and we did feel that the prices were expensive although that did seem to be the case generally in places we visited. A bottle of wine cost from about £30 so remember to budget for this if you like a drink with your dinner.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mel612017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsResortMauritius, Resort Manager at Sands Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear mel612017,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive views about the Resort. We have also taken good note of your constructive comments with regards to the pricing, which is in line with other hotels of the same category on the island.

We sincerely hope that you will keep good memories of your stay including the great views, sandy bay and beautiful location.

Kind regards
Kamal Nundloll
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews