We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,134)
Filter reviews
4,134 results
Traveller rating
2,722
975
288
90
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,722
975
288
90
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet pool tides restaurant sugar beach manor house south pool mon plaisir sister hotel la pirogue kids club citronella restaurant all inclusive package main restaurant half board main pool colonial style our honeymoon buffet restaurant a la carte restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
705 - 710 of 4,134 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Beautifull resort (not 5 star rooms, but it's ok), very well maintained garden and pools. Good restaurant (the self-service, the others we didn't try) with high variety of choice and different type of food every evening, like mediterrean evening, creol evening etc. Very good wine! All inclusive is highly raccomanded! Staff very kind and helpfull, allways a smile for our 2 years old! Thank you for everything! A special thanks and a big hug to Sashwin!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank msb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear msb0910,

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and the facilities offered. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of facilities and quality services proposed, and we are delighted that your holidays were beyond your expectations.

Furthermore, I am especially pleased to learn that our team members made your holiday a memorable one and specially on your wedding day. Thank you very much again for your kind words and your warm praise of our hotel. I shall certainly forward your feedback to the entire team, as I am sure that they will feel more motivated to work even better. My apology for the incident that happened and thank you for pointing out the issue of the slow service.

We value all your comments which help us to continue to strive for perfection and look forward to welcoming you in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Nicolas de Chalain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I visited in November 2016 on my honeymoon. The location of the hotel and the beach are great. Was upgraded to the suite which had incredible view. The staff were friendly. Being a vegetarian i had no problems. The fresh juices at the breakfast were delicious, although one had to wait in queue. A special mention about the variety of desserts , which were heavenly.
Would like to stay at the same property if i visit this beautiful country again. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2016
Thank 147pranayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear 147pranayk,

Thank you for your nice comments that you have shared on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to our resort. It is always a pleasure for us to see how much people enjoy our resort. We certainly try our best to provide excellent food, service, entertainment and a wide range of facilities for your enjoyment and was pleased that you appear to have availed yourself of many of these.

I was pleased that you found our staff and management team welcoming, friendly and attentive and I will share your kind comments with our team members and I will thank them all on your behalf.

I am pleased to read that nevertheless you have had a good stay with us and I hope to see you again at Sugar Beach.

Best Regards,

Nicolas de Chalain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

We found the the hotel worked well for us. Loads to do within the resort complex if you didn't want to lie by the pool/beach all dat.
Attractive 'colonial style' property, well maintained gardens, nice pools with full reciprocal arrangements with La Pirogue Hotel next door that gave a great range of options for eating/ drinking.
Food /drink high standard BUT ALL INCLUSIVE A MUST as pay as you go very expensive. The All Inclusive options we generous - good meal choices and wide range of drinks/cocktails. If you want wine with your meal, ask for a bottle as wine by glass too slow to arrive.
Staff great - courteous, eager to please and friendly.
The resort was full, but never felt crowded and never had to wait to take part in any activity. Long list of free water sports with good equipment, tennis, croquet, volley ball etc.
Water sports in a very safe lagoon but see note below re tides.
Good range of evening entertainment if you wanted it - nicely done especially at La Pirogue. Jazz band were worth watching at Sugar Beach.
Negatives?? Bedrooms clean and tidy but dated for 5*.
The tide does effect availability of water sports but you can usually work in snorkel trips etc. Around meals!
Would we recommend? Definitely and look forward to returning one day.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MontyWsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear MontyWsx,

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and the facilities offered. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of facilities and quality services proposed, and we are delighted that your holidays were beyond your expectations.

Furthermore, I am especially pleased to learn that our team members made your holiday a memorable one and specially on your wedding day. Thank you very much again for your kind words and your warm praise of our hotel. I shall certainly forward your feedback to the entire team, as I am sure that they will feel more motivated to work even better. My apology for the incident that happened and thank you for pointing out the issue of the slow service.

We value all your comments which help us to continue to strive for perfection and look forward to welcoming you in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Nicolas de Chalain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Ambience wise beautiful property , Owner has done 100 % from his side but management / staff has done reversed , Restaurant - Veg food is third class , they ignored so much , kept very small corner for veg food , no varieties , taste is ridiculous, let's forget food quality for one minute but main thing is attitude / service of Restaurent staff is very arrogance , specially mr kumar , they don't provide water in Restaurent , you have to pay for water, one chef has tried/ asked for our requirements but he has failed to do so , if you are sitting in table & they started for wind up , even they don't have courtesy to just ask that do you need anything we are going to close buffet ,
Ambience - 5*
House keeping staff - 5*
Spa - Overbooked , pls book when checkin
Water sports - Overbooked , but staff is good
Drinking Water - purchase water from departmental store when you are on the way to hotel from Airport because they are very stingy for drinking water
Dear Manager / staff , pls learn something from your sister concern LONG BEACH RESORT for service & attitude

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rivew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear rivew,

I am obviously sorry to read that we have not entirely lived up to your expectations as far as or facilities and services are concerned. There is always room for improvement and will use your feedback to re-establish standards where necessary and re-enforcing our training so as to achieve excellent levels of service even when the hotel is at high occupancy.

It is always our goal to have satisfied customers and would sincerely like to have the opportunity of regaining your confidence in La Pirogue and to show you the better side of the resort. Please let me know personally whenever you book as I would be more than happy to assist with any preferences you may have.

Best Regards,

Nicolas de Chalain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

It was the first time our family has stayed at Sugar Beach, and everyone absolutely loved it.

The location and beach are stunning, and couple that with fantastic service and cuisine and you have an outstanding holiday. Staff are warm and friendly, the pool is clean and beautiful, and the activities are fantastic. Kids Club was a huge hit with our 8-year-old daughter.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope to be back soon.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angieelsworhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas D, General Manager at Sugar Beach Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear angieelsworhy,

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our warm hospitality and the facilities offered. We make every effort to maintain the high standards of facilities and quality services proposed, and we are delighted that your holidays were beyond your expectations.

Furthermore, I am especially pleased to learn that our team members made your holiday a memorable one and specially on your wedding day. Thank you very much again for your kind words and your warm praise of our hotel. I shall certainly forward your feedback to the entire team, as I am sure that they will feel more motivated to work even better.

We value all your comments which help us to continue to strive for perfection and look forward to welcoming you in a not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Nicolas de Chalain
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews