We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good ... and they do have sweet shrimp”

KOKU Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Armonk
Description: In Japanese, KOKU means 'moment'. At KOKU, we aspire to embrace our customers with the transcendent moments of a Japanese dining experience. Modern, intimate, and upbeat New York City vibes are just a few concepts to name that we will intertwine and bring into Armonk and to the residents of upstate New York.
Restaurant details
Description: In Japanese, KOKU means 'moment'. At KOKU, we aspire to embrace our customers with the transcendent moments of a Japanese dining experience. Modern, intimate, and upbeat New York City vibes are just a few concepts to name that we will intertwine and bring into Armonk and to the residents of upstate New York.
Reviewed 12 September 2018

I had warm house sake (wish they had a "small" size), with tempura appetizer and sushi platter. The former was hot and delicious, the latter buttery (I mean texture-wise) good. Sweet shrimp is the telltale for me at a Japanese restaurant, and the both have it and do it well. A note that a la carte sushi (at least the ebi) is per piece, not per pair as I usually see it. And given the price, I should have known it.

Altogether a nice meal in a nice space. I seem to like Armonk.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank calvino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

I can’t comment on what it’s like to eat at the actual restaurant, but we’ve had take out from here twice and loved it. They have the standard rolls, but also offer some unique twists of their own, which we like (try the mango shrimp tempura). Their salad dressing is absolutely amazing and is far better than the typical dressing served at most sushi restaurants. They should bottle it and sell it! Everything is very fresh and the staff are pleasant. We will be going again soon!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank CelestialBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

KOKU is hands down the best upscale Japanese Restuarant in Westchester! The food/sushi has generous portion sizes, the drink menu has a good variety of cocktails, and the ambience has a fresh vibe. Also, the management and staff are extremely friendly. They go out of their way to make us happy and provide a personal experience. Plus, it's conveniently located less than a minute off route 684. I highly recommend checking KOKU out.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

We’ve been going to Koku, more or less, since it was open. This review is long overdue. We are often there Friday or Saturday evenings. In our opinion, they prepare the best sushi in Westchester. The club atmosphere makes for a fun although sometimes loud experience. The wait staff is extremely well trained and the owner, Eric, gives a warm welcome and keeps a watchful eye on things. We are happy to give Koku an unqualified 2 thumbs up.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Sh5fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

This is a fabulous restaurant. We order most Sunday nights. Wonderful takeout and delivery in addition to being able to eat there. Excellent sushi. Very creative menu. Love to truffle scallop and the Kobe meatball. We have always raved over the food!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KOKU Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Armonk, Westchester County
Armonk, Westchester County
 
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 
Armonk, Westchester County
Armonk, Westchester County
 

Been to KOKU Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing