We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for a 4-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Primula Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Kajang
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Average for a 4-star hotel”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed here for 4 days 3 nights. Kudos to the hotel staff (bell boy, receptionists, waiters etc) for doing an excellent job (very friendly and helpful). However, I feel that this hotel lacks the quality and the aura of a 4-star hotel as the hotel is quite old and needed an uplift. The room is spacious and it provides an iron with the ironing board too (extra point to the hotel). The location is quite okay since there are some shops around the area. It is situated very near to the beach. I love the breakfast buffet as they keep changing the menu daily for the main dishes. The nasi dagang is available daily as it is the famous local food in Terengganu, and it is tasty too! I notice that the hotel serves local delicacies especially for their desserts. Thus, if you want to sample some local food, this is definitely the hotel you should choose. However, I still had problems with my room as the sliding door was not working but it was fixed the next day, the air cond and the phone were not working. Overall, I would say that it is an average hotel but of course with some extra perks available.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    65
    92
    47
    23
See reviews for
97
44
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Speers Point, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

10 minutes after checking out we found our morning ferry had been canceled but the hotel wouldnt let us back into our room nor did they offer for us to even wait by the pool - consequently a 5 hour wait walking around a very hot and humid Terengganu town. They did offer for us to check back in and pay an exhorbitant day rate. A bit mean I think!! If you are catching the ferry to Redang Island please note the 10.30am ferry no longer runs.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

As a family of 4 on their way to the Perhentian islands, we spent one night in interconnecting rooms overlooking the sea. The rooms, with aircon, were comfortable and clean. However, in the morning, one shower didn't work, the other had only cold water.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Trying to find somewhere outside the hotel to eat at night was impossible (a combination of Lonely Planet + satnav proved unrewarding). Dinner subsequently back at the hotel (during Ramadan) was good, if not pricey. A real bonus was the hotel's swimming pool. Overall, as a stopover, a convenient functional 'top range' hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RK1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

When we arrived at the Primula Beach Resort, we were sent down a long dingy corridor in the old part of the hotel to a standard room. The room was grungy, not cleaned well, and had a small bathroom. It was more like a budget room that should have been priced much lower than the $70 they were charging. When we complained to reception about it, we were told that the hotel was full that night, but they would move us the next morning. When we upgraded the next day to a deluxe room in the tower for less than $15 more, it was totally different. We had a beautiful large room where everything was new and clean, including a large clean bathroom with good lighting. We got a free shuttle into town which one of the hotel managers was in, and when he asked how our room was, we explained the situation. He explained that the hotel is owned by the government, and the staff have been trying to push for a complete renovation of the old section which is 37 years old, but the government has been putting it off. We would recommend this hotel if you are in Kuala Terengganu, but only if you get a deluxe room in the tower. The hotel has a large comfortable lobby area and there is a large Malaysian-style buffet breakfast. There is a nice pool with loungers, and also some loungers on the beach. I would not recommend KT as a destination as it is not a very attractive town, but it may be a convenient stopover when you are traveling through Malaysia.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

There's really nothing special about this hotel. Average Malaysian 3-star hotel, average rooms which were refurbished some time ago (with the exception of the bathroom sink counters, for some reason or other these were not changed). Clean enough, though in our adjoining room we experienced that if we left any food on the table, it would soon be covered with small red ants. We had some leftover food from dinner packed in a styrofoam container and found a teeny-tiny cockroach wandering about in it after leaving it out for about half an hour, so you could not leave any food lying around (well, you shouldn't bring food into a hotel room anyway but that's hardly the point).

Our rooms were on the 4th Floor facing the Anjung Bistro Parking lot, not the pool, and also overlooked the garbage dump. That's what you get when you pay the discounted rate, I guess. Biggest problem: loud music from the Bistro until after 1am. We could only fall asleep around 2am, not a great thing when on holiday.

The beach in front of the hotel is quite private but was somewhat dirty on the first day when we took a walk on it, (just after the weekend, when a lot of picknickers come to the public beach further down) but once the garbage had been washed away it was nice and for the next two days even inviting. Strong waves, not suitable for toddlers. The water looks and smells clean, although a small drain flows into the sea right beside the hotel.

Coffee drinkers--do not be fooled by their promotion of kopi and steamed bread. The coffee is just black water.

Seafood at the hotel is fresh, and the Nasi Dagang at the breakfast hotel is pretty good considering this is hotel fare. I would rate food quality above average, though variety leaves much to be desired.

A plus is that the hotel offers a free shuttle service into town, though we did not have the opportunity to try this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h4ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
2.8 km away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#12 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
151 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#17 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
194 reviews
2.0 km away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#5 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#2 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
141 reviews
1.7 km away
Permai Park Inn
Permai Park Inn
#9 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
47 reviews
0.1 km away
Sumai Hotel Apartment
Sumai Hotel Apartment
#20 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primula Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primula Beach Hotel

Property: Primula Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Persinggahan, Kuala Terengganu 20400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price range (per night): $73 - $88
Hotel Class:3 star — Primula Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Primula Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing