We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Ulek Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ulek Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

A small resort facing the south china sea. The rooms are quite nice having all the essentials to make a comfortable stay. Air con as well as fan. Sunken spa bath with overhead shower, so not ideal for all guests. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent coffee and cakes in the cafe. There was a promotion discount on beverages and meals for guests during our stay. Breakfast buffet style was excellent with western and asian dishes available. There are other eateries but not in walking distance. A lovely place to stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Woodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Ulek Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

The place was lovely. However, I wish that the staff would recommend places that we'd visit in Dungun as we were bored to death there.

The beach on the opposite was beautiful, but you can't swim in it

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Muhammad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We were headed to Tenggol Island and drove to the East Coast from KL. We stayed overnight in Dungun to catch the boat to the Island the next day. We had originally let the Tenggol Coral Beach Resort agent book our hotel....we won't do that again as it was not at all to our liking. We stopped by the Ulek and took a room there and were very happy we did! Clean, nice view of the Sea and a really good nights sleep...the bed was not the greatest but for one night no problem at all. Breakfast was good, hot, and has cooked to order!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good we picked one with two single beds as the queen was too small for our tast...
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We reached in the evening on Saturday .. The rooms were basic, with not so grand breakfast.
The hotel staff re very kind n helpful.
But it's very silent here., No buffet Dinner or lunch. So we got to explore the place. The good beaches for swimming re far bout 20 min driving ..
Sleeping town.. Good for relaxation with family n friends.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank silpa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This was an unplanned hotel choice following our arrival from the Redang Island and no access to WiFi at our previous hotel (Redang Mutiara Beech Resort). We (2 adults and 1 child aged 7) landed at Medang Jetty and decided Dungun would be a good stop. A taxi ride later RM 250 (Approx £28) dropped us at Ulek Boutique Hotel. It sits alongside 15k of sandy beech and calm sea.
We checked in, paid and were escorted to our room, then we were told that the pool was closed until further notice. The reason we chose here was for the pool for the little one!! We then checked straight out. We ate some food there and was pleasently surprised with the quality and tried to book a new venue on the iPad.... Guess what!!! The WiFi would not connect to any device and frustrated us even more. Time was running out so we decided o check back into the Ulek because the staff had been so helpful and courteous.
We were not disappointed, the room was a large room with 40" TV with cartoons for the little lady, a spacious bathroom with a sunken jacuzzi (unfortunately never worked) that had large doors to open to the outside. Free water, in room safe (not secured down so seen as a risk), fridge, clean towels and cosmetics.
On the evening we walked 200 yards to a restaurant recommended by Trip Advisor and amongst the top in Dungun (The Hole West) and ate amazing quick food with fabulous service.
Breakfast at the Ulek was sufficient but added chicken to the noodles and fried rice (not good when one of you in a vegetarian). It was fresh and plentiful.
Our whole experience here was superb, had the pool worked, the in room safe been secure and a better WiFi connection it would sertainly be a 5* rating for us. Amazing dedicated team with great service.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungun
9.7 km away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
36.9 km away
Resorts World Kijal
Resorts World Kijal
#1 of 1 in Kijal
324 reviews
10.4 km away
Tanjong Jara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Rumbia Resort Paka
Rumbia Resort Paka
#1 of 2 in Paka
23 reviews
1.8 km away
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
Teluk Lipat Seaview Inn
#4 of 10 in Dungun
11 reviews
0.0 km away
Anggun Beach Guest House
Anggun Beach Guest House
#1 of 10 in Dungun
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulek Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulek Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Sura Hujung, Dungun 23000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Dungun District > Dungun
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dungun
Price Range: $55 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ulek Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ulek Beach Resort is a new boutique resort with traditional experience set in the popular beach of Dungun district. Situated on the lingering eastern coastline of Terengganu, the resort has an excellent sunrise view facing South China Seas. Each teratak suite or deluxe room cradles you in indulgence with its private garden and outdoor sunken Jacuzzi. The 120-capacity banquette hall and landscaped leisure pool are perfect for a very intimate wedding gathering. When you are at it, the Dungun Country Golf Club is just next door and diving community Mayang Sari Dungun is only a kilometer away. Enjoy local activities such as kite flying, top spinning, congkak, dam, batik drawing and turtle watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ulek Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulek Beach Hotel Dungun
Ulek Beach Resort Dungun, Malaysia - Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing