We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 356
USD 323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
10
31
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
31
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsafe boxthe south china seajacuzziconceptcerealrm15infrontresortkeyantsunit
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

The place was lovely. However, I wish that the staff would recommend places that we'd visit in Dungun as we were bored to death there.

The beach on the opposite was beautiful, but you can't swim in it

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Muhammad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We were headed to Tenggol Island and drove to the East Coast from KL. We stayed overnight in Dungun to catch the boat to the Island the next day. We had originally let the Tenggol Coral Beach Resort agent book our hotel....we won't do that again as it was not at all to our liking. We stopped by the Ulek and took a room there and were very happy we did! Clean, nice view of the Sea and a really good nights sleep...the bed was not the greatest but for one night no problem at all. Breakfast was good, hot, and has cooked to order!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good we picked one with two single beds as the queen was too small for our taste...this worked for us.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We reached in the evening on Saturday .. The rooms were basic, with not so grand breakfast.
The hotel staff re very kind n helpful.
But it's very silent here., No buffet Dinner or lunch. So we got to explore the place. The good beaches for swimming re far bout 20 min driving ..
Sleeping town.. Good for relaxation with family n friends.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank silpa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This was an unplanned hotel choice following our arrival from the Redang Island and no access to WiFi at our previous hotel (Redang Mutiara Beech Resort). We (2 adults and 1 child aged 7) landed at Medang Jetty and decided Dungun would be a good stop. A taxi ride later RM 250 (Approx £28) dropped us at Ulek Boutique Hotel. It sits alongside 15k of sandy beech and calm sea.
We checked in, paid and were escorted to our room, then we were told that the pool was closed until further notice. The reason we chose here was for the pool for the little one!! We then checked straight out. We ate some food there and was pleasently surprised with the quality and tried to book a new venue on the iPad.... Guess what!!! The WiFi would not connect to any device and frustrated us even more. Time was running out so we decided o check back into the Ulek because the staff had been so helpful and courteous.
We were not disappointed, the room was a large room with 40" TV with cartoons for the little lady, a spacious bathroom with a sunken jacuzzi (unfortunately never worked) that had large doors to open to the outside. Free water, in room safe (not secured down so seen as a risk), fridge, clean towels and cosmetics.
On the evening we walked 200 yards to a restaurant recommended by Trip Advisor and amongst the top in Dungun (The Hole West) and ate amazing quick food with fabulous service.
Breakfast at the Ulek was sufficient but added chicken to the noodles and fried rice (not good when one of you in a vegetarian). It was fresh and plentiful.
Our whole experience here was superb, had the pool worked, the in room safe been secure and a better WiFi connection it would sertainly be a 5* rating for us. Amazing dedicated team with great service.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Ulek Beach resort is a 20 min ride to the Tenggol island ferry pier. The hotel is rather new, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. TV had some tech issues but then you are 50 m from the beach )
Breakfast was very good with local and intl food (French toast).
If you go to Tenggol (ferry only leaving early morning usually at 8.30 am or 10.30 am) this is the perfect place to stay the night before.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank dullyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews