We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took the 5-star Opportunity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Grand Subang
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Took the 5-star Opportunity”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was our treat for our last night in Malaysia following a 27 day amazing adventure. We would not have the opportunity of staying 5-star in Oz, as we are still in the two-children-at-Uni stage. We were upgraded to a newly refurbished room with the downside being other rooms were being refurbished below/above us. The layout of the rooms is so modern. Quite minimalist with neutral colours but very soothing. The bed was "Ahhhh!!!" For those of you who get spoilt and live this life of luxury as a given, well, good luck to you and "Yes!" I could definately get used to it but it's back to flashpacker style for us unfortunately. To anyone reading this who does not usually get the chance I recommend keeping an eye out for specials on Agoda. We only paid $97AUD (including a very posh breakfast) for a very relaxing, comfortable, friendly and 'style-I'd like-to-aspire-to' experience. Thank you Grand Dorsett for the opportunity. It added a special touch to a fabulous holiday in wonderful Malaysia.

Room Tip: I would guess that the refurbishment of rooms is complete so if modern luxury is your style - go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquagal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    336
    157
    69
    40
See reviews for
157
86
60
442
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here in early December 2011 and this hotel has changed from Sheraton to Grand Dorsett (from the looks of it in name only as the semblance of Sheraton still remains)

Rooms are old but well kept & clean. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and gave me a very good night's sleep which is important for me due to having to travel frequently.

Bathtub and fittings all old and did not work as well as it should as mixing the water temperature to the required temperature took some time. Hotel in need of major refurbishment to maintain the expected standards for a 5-star property.

Cost of normal room RM371.20nett (room only), still worth it due to the great sleep that I had

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FplusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I made a call from Thailand to the this Motel in KL, Malaysia, to confirm the transfer arrangements from the LCCT Airport, on our flight the next morning. The staff member on the phone call, assured me (2) times the pick up & transfer was complimentary free of any charges. The second confirmation came from my repeated questioning of the costs involved. On this advice I booked the hotel transfer. When we booked into the the motel on the morning, I also booked our return tranfer for the next day to KLIA airport, no problems. Problem occured when we booked out at 0600, to be told by the front desk I had to pay $100 AUSD for transfer, as vrey tired from early start and comleting our 3 weeks travel around Asia & returning home, this was very disturbing. At no time were we advised of payment costs, & to be hit by the news on the checkout this early in the morning was quite ugly to take !, so wor of advice, when taking phone confirmations, please take as many details of the staff member as possible to verify all discussions, all poor reception counter services at front desk..... safe travels all :)

Room Tip: Florr5 is a smoking floor, smoke can seep up to higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Previously I have stayed at Sunway resort which is located about 5km from Grand Dorsett and these two hotels are not even comparable. If Sunway is 5-star then Grand Dorsett can impossibly be 5-star, anyway since the rates at Grand Dorsett is a bit lower than other "5-star" hotels in KL/PJ i think this is a perfect example of "you get what you pay for".

And what do you get for your money?

No thrills standard 3-star hotel feeling, room felt a bit old but definitely clean and not in desperate need of renovation. TV (old small 4:3 CRT at 5-star hotel?!) got some of the standard Astro(?) channels (sport, movie, chinese). There was no balcony but it didn't matter much since the view from my room was terrible anyway.

The bathroom was clean but the bathtub had seen better days. The room was not equipped with enough of the "one time disposables" such as flip-flop, toothbrush, etc, they had only catered for 1 person even though the booking was made for 2 person with breakfast. I think you should be able to expect more than that from a 5-star hotel.

The pool area was quiet nice and the restaurants had many choices on the menu. The breakfast was good and well worth the money. Check in and check out was fast.

Not much within walking distance to the hotel except some restaurant on the opposite side of the road, better opt for a taxi to Sunway pyramid mall which is a great place for shopping/eating/entertainment. The taxi there from Grand dorsett is only just above RM5.

Conclusion for me is that I'll pick Sunway resort any day of the week even though the rates are a bit higher. At least it feels like 5-star and the location makes it worth the extra bucks.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghoulies_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

If you're looking for an excellent hotel in a quiet neighbourhood, this is it. Feeling in suburb? Not really, shopping malls are just around 2km away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradipta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subang Jaya
1.5 km away
Empire Hotel Subang
Empire Hotel Subang
#2 of 10 in Subang Jaya
433 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Villa Hotel & Suites Subang
5.6 km away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa
#4 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,850 reviews
1.2 km away
Sunway Clio Hotel
Sunway Clio Hotel
#1 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
587 reviews
2.8 km away
Ruemz Hotel
Ruemz Hotel
#3 of 10 in Subang Jaya
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Grand Subang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Grand Subang

Property: Dorsett Grand Subang
Address: Jalan Ss 12/1, Subang Jaya 47500, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Subang Jaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Subang Jaya
Price range (per night): $79 - $120
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Grand Subang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Subang Jaya, Grand Dorsett Subang offers opulence hotel guest rooms and suites in the city's most upscale entertainment hub, shopping district and tourist attraction. Located just 35 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport, Low Cost Carrier Terminal and Sepang International Circuit, the hotel is just a 15-minute drive from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Dining at Grand Dorsett Subang is an endless pleasurable affair with the vast international and local specialities available. For meeting planners and business travellers, the hotel is well-equipped with a full range of facilities and services to cater to every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorsett Grand Subang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Subang Jaya
Sheraton Subang Hotel
Subang Jaya Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing