We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room & some improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Petaling Jaya
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spacious room & some improvements needed”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel before and this time around decided to book its junior suite instead for our weekend gateway.

I think the hotel has renovated some rooms (or most of the rooms, I'm not too sure about this). The junior suite is not carpeted and has a homey feel to it, especially with wood flooring. The bed was so comfortable that we don't feel like leaving the room.

However, there might be some problem with the cable TV and we told the front desk about this before we left for dinner. When we got back, the sport channels are missing. Although this may due to the glitches from the TV station or their TV receiver, but it is much appreciated if the hotel could inform us about this. If you are not so much into sports, the rest of the channels are not bad.

We were given 2 breakfast voucher and the food is okay (although the hotel might have reduced its selection-we remembered they always have beef stripes but none was seen this time around) and they are using the vending machine instead for the coffee and tea. I think in overall it has remained the same breakfast menu for quite a long time.

We drove to the hotel but for those who don't, you will have to take taxi and the nearest LRT is Asia Jaya.

Room Tip: If you have extra bucks, book the junior suite but do not expect good view as the room may be facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luqluq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    26
    45
    12
    12
See reviews for
9
25
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here for just a night for our weekend getaway trip. I think the hotel went through a major overhaul recently as we could see everything was quite new in our room. Even the laminated floor in our room was scratchless! The room is really spacious and bed was really comfortable. We had our lunch in the restaurant at ground floor (don't remember the name of the place) and it was definitely good.

Since it was just a weekend getaway, and just 20 minutes from our home, location wasn't really a factor. If I were an outsider/tourist, then I would be complaining about it's location. Basically you need a car to go everywhere from the hotel. There is a shopping mall nearby (Amcorp mall), which I estimate would take about 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

Oh ya, the guys at reception was very friendly too!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebramones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

This is a "cheapskate" hotel.

Reason no.1: Stayed in a two-single bed standard room. Only one person breakfast voucher is given.

Reason no.2: Internet access is chargeable. Other hotels charging half this price in the city have FREE internet access in every room!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichaelRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Petaling Jaya hotels

London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We had a wedding reception here and should start by saying that Restoran Chef Rasa Sayang (2nd Floor) is outstanding and very well worth attending. The food and service are first class.
The hotel itself is dated in places. The rooms had a very strong smell of smoke and the aircon in the building is clearly ageing (it leaked into the breakfast cafe and was barely working in other rooms).
The hotel is a long way from the nearest LRT station so a cab is essential if your not driving.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I am unsure of the rating for this hotel but if it is a 4-star hotel, it sure has a 5-star treatment, 5-star accommodation with great ambiance and comfort. The room rate is much cheaper if compared to the luxury and comfort the room offers. I would recommend Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya to every light or hardcore traveller around.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtunteja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petaling Jaya hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Petaling Jaya
Best Western Petaling Jaya
#11 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
210 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
Hotel Armada Petaling Jaya
#10 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
261 reviews
1.9 km away
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Eastin Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
Hilton Petaling Jaya Hotel
#2 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
1,366 reviews
1.0 km away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#18 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
10 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Strawberry Fields
Hotel Strawberry Fields
#12 of 45 in Petaling Jaya
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya

Property: Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya
Address: 12, Lorong Utara A | Off Jalan Utara, Petaling Jaya 46200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Petaling Jaya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Petaling Jaya
Price range (per night): $62 - $125
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in January 1995, Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya has fast gained its popularity among the business travelers. It is an ideal choice for those who would like to stay connected and within the hub of the Commercial and Business District of Petaling Jaya. The Hotel comprises of 273 tastefully designed rooms, ranging from Superior to Junior Suites. Adding to this range would be the Executive Summit Floor, where we provide extra space and comfort to our guests. The Executive Summit Floor guests will have exclusive access to our Summit Lounge with complimentary beverages throughout the day. All our room guests would also enjoy the free internet access in their rooms and daily buffet breakfast at our coffee house. For food connoisseurs, we have a Chinese restaurant that serves quality shark's fin, abalone and other Chinese delicacies, Japanese restaurant that offers sushi, yakitori, teppanyaki, sashimi and our Coffee House that serves continental and local cuisines. Guests may wind down after a busy day at our outdoor swimming pool or enjoy a massage at the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Crown Hotel Petaling Jaya Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing