We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
115
152
40
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
152
40
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews india street shopping mall carpenter street old court house merdeka plaza pool closes textile museum infinity swimming pool sewage smell local souvenirs sarawak river assembly building kuching city necessary amenities soft pillows main bazaar executive floor
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This hotel dominates the western end of the Kuching Waterfront promenade and can't be faulted for service or location. Connected to the Plaza Merdeka Shopping Mall and a very short walk to Jl Carpenter and Jl India, as well as the famous Kuching Waterfront Promenade. Front of house staff are very friendly and attentive, restaurant staff similar. Breakfast is buffet style with all tastes catered for. Rooms are large, with ensuite bathroom, tea/coffee, mini bar,safe and excellent views.
Only one minus is the swimming pool. On the fourth level and undercover means the water is cold and the pool itself is quite small.
Otherwise an excellent hotel and very good value for money.

Room tip: Rooms on north side face the river and have excellent views, corner rooms are larger
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeandawaycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Waterfront_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear homeandawaycp,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us.

We are more than pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay and loved the services extended by our professional team, and found yourself staying comfortably in our room. We do take pride in our location and the convenience it offers to our guests. At the same time, we take note on your feedback on our swimming pool. We truly appreciate your kind post and compliments which helps to motivate us in giving our best on a daily basis.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterfront Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stefanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Our stay at the waterfront hotel was comfortable.

Hotel is strategically located with old courthouse, India street ,carpenter street , main bazaar, textile museum etc. in the vicinity.

Our room had superb view of the Dewan Undangan Negeri ( State Legislative Assembly) and the golden bridge. Bed was comfortable, bathroom impeccable and huge.

Upon our arrival ; we saw some stains on the floor and the chaise longue which were attended to immediately.

Staff were warm and friendly. Breakfast buffet spread was decent; however vegetarian options were almost non existent.

Though there is a scope for improvement; but the hotel can definitely be recommended .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HG1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Waterfront_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear HG1011,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us.

We are more than pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay and loved the services extended by our team. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our rooms and the convenient location. We do take pride in our location and the convenience it offers to our guests. At the same time, what you have experienced is not in our normal practice, however, we are glad to know that the issue was resolve quickly. Also, we take note of your feedback on the breakfast spread. We will take your feedback into consideration as we continuously improve on our breakfast offerings and overall service.

We hope we can welcome you again very soon at The Waterfront Hotel while visiting Kuching.

Kind regards,
Stefanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

I think my review title pretty much sums it up. Our room for RM330 a night had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a sitting room and floor to ceiling windows with a few of the river. The location couldn't have been better. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Great value too for a getaway in one of the loveliest cities in Southeast Asia. It's steps from the waterfront, the old courthouse complex and Chinatown, and attached to a shopping mall. The one tiny downside, the windows are not well sealed so you can hear some street noise. Thankfully, Kuching is a very quiet city.

Room tip: go for the river view. It's spectacular
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RianM219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Waterfront_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Rian M,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us.

We are more than pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay and loved the services extended by our team. We are more than grateful that our location offers you with the convenience to a few of Kuching’s top tourist spots. At the same time, we take note of your feedback on the window; what you have experienced is not our normal practice and we apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had. Rest assured that your feedback will serve as our guide as we continuously work to improve our service for the betterment of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterfront Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stefanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel ticks almost all the boxes for an excellent stay

- Location: situated in the heart of Kuching town centre with plenty of eateries and attractions around. There’s a shopping mall with a supermarket attached together with this hotel too.

- Rooms: rooms are generally clean and fairly spacious. beds are comfortable as well.

- Breakfast: fair with quite a wide variety of food (both local and western) served

- Price: at approximately RM220-250 (USD60) per night for a room with a king bed, I wouldn’t say it’s the cheapest around but with all the advantages above I would say it’s fairly priced

Overall a good stay for me. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank NcH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Waterfront_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Nc H,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us.

We are grateful for your patronage in addition to the very nice compliments extended. We are glad that you were happy with our hospitality and that you will recommend us. We truly appreciate your kind post and compliments! We are all humbled by your praise which helps to motivate us in giving our best on a daily basis.

We hope we can welcome you again very soon at The Waterfront Hotel while visiting Kuching.

Kind regards,
Stefanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel twice - once in an apartment on the Executive floor and again later in a standard room. Both rooms were clean, good beds, good toilets - the extra price for the Executive floor gets you better wifi (at least that was our experience) and access to a lounge which serves beer and strange snacks. Not really worth the extra cost in my opinion.

The pool has a nice view over the river and parlament.

The location is really good - easy walking distance to the river and travelling with children, it was convenient that the adjacent building is a shopping mall with a really good food court and a large grocery store in the basement.

Breakfast has a strong Asien emphasis and the overall quality is good. The hotel restaurant is okay but there are better options nearby.

Staff is helpful and nice.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nlassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Waterfront_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear nlassen,

Thank you very much for your visit to The Waterfront Hotel and for having taken the time to share about your experience with us.

It is always delightful to welcome you back! We are more than pleased to know that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the convenient location. We do take pride in our location and the convenience it offers to our guests. We serve sandwiches and an assortment of light snacks at our Executive Lounge during the Sunset Evening Happy Hour. Other than this, guests are free to enjoy the free flow coffee and tea served in the Executive Lounge on an all-day basis. At the same time, our WiFi signal is the same for all room levels. In some cases, rooms that are located further away from the router may not receive a WiFi signal as strong as the rest; please rest assured that we are now working on improving this area and your feedback is part of our consideration as we work on this. We truly appreciate your input in providing us the opportunity to improve our service and product that reflect the true service by The Waterfront Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Waterfront Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Stefanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews