We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 28
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Orbitz.com
Priceline
USD 38
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Expedia.comUSD 28
Hotels.comUSD 28
ZenHotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
13
35
27
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
35
27
6
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Just nice for my family and I. We stayed here for about 77myr for a night in a standard twin room and had even treated us to a decent breakfast. Great staffs and service. Although many people here describe it as an 'old' room, which I think they meant the cupboard, chairs and drawers, the rest are just as good- tv, wifi and etc. The shower is fine, but I hope they could do an upgrade on their ceilings and add more lightings to make it look "classy", which in my opinion the room and hotel could deserve better reviews. Overall, my stay here is great and cozy at a budget cheap fare.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Fio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audry-Bersales, Manager at Telang Usan Hotel Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Fio R,

Thank you for your kind and valuable feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and was happy about the service accorded to you. It was our pleasure being of service to you and your family.

We have also taken note of your comments and will be modernising our rooms before the end of the year.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With very kind regards from us all,
The Team at Telang Usan Hotel Kuching

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We celebrated our wedding at Telang Usan Hotel on 26. May and it was absolutely outstanding. We were able to get a completely tailor-made wedding package that really suited our demands and needs. The staff was very friendly and everything went very smooth as planned. Most noteworthy amongst all was the food!!! All our guest are still licking there fingers weeks after the wedding!!! Thank you so much for making our big day so memorable!!! <3 <3 <3

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank NicoleN1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audry-Bersales, General Manager at Telang Usan Hotel Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much to Nicole and John, for their very kind feedback.

It was an honour for Telang Usan Hotel to be the host for your beautiful wedding reception, and the Telang Usan Team thoroughly enjoyed facilitating & preparing the venue, the food and being of service for this joyous occassion.

We wish the lovely couple a life time of happiness !!

With very kind regards from,
The Team at Telang Usan Hotel, Kuching

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Our group stays here every year. This relatively old hotel is not high end, but it is friendly with accomodating staff and a lovely atmosphere. The rooms are basic, but functional.
The restaurant serves a great breakfast. You must ask for their Sarawak Laksa, it is wonderful. A little bar in the car park is also great for a quiet drink.

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank johnwD7902QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audry-Bersales, General Manager at Telang Usan Hotel Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much to John for your very kind feedback, which has been shared and very much appreciated by all our Team at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and all the lovely students back to Telang Usan again, in the not too distant future.

With very kind regards from us all,
Team at Telang Usan Hotel, Kuching

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The hotel ambience - setting in traditional Sarawak Orang Ulu tribe and unique in this Borneo Island. The room rate are attractive and facilities are within expectation for what you are paying. Surprising foods in the hotel are well above avreage for hotel in Kuching. Staff are courteous, friendly and service are dedicated to serve.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank CityFolks777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audry-Bersales, Manager at Telang Usan Hotel Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear City Folks 777,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of Telang Usan Hotel, Kuching.

I have shared your feedback with our Team at Telang Usan, and they thank you immensely.

We look forward to welcoming you back !!

With Kindest regards,
From all of us at Telang Usan Hotel, Kuching

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

I think this little hotel has passed its heyday. The exterior and interior are dated and in need of renovation to bring its glory back.
Our double room is reasonably clean and bright with 2 sets of windows, the room and bathroom are in good size, the air-conditioning is quiet. However our sink is dripping, they knew it and actually provided a small bucket for us to put it underneath the floor to hold dripping water. I would appreciate this get fixed properly.
Wifi in the lobby area worked well but not so in our room, not sure if this was because our room was at the end of the corridor and a little tucked behind a corner.
The buffet style breakfast offered both Asian and Western choices, not bad.
We didn't have much interaction with the staff but for our brief conversation they seem to be pretty nice.
The place is located in a little run down area (we feel very safe though) full of local eateries and all of them are very popular in the evening. There are a couple of buffet style Halal steamboat outlets, a western joint, a Chinese style seafood place, and a restaurant offers indigenous cuisine.
Don't use the hotel's pricey laundry service, there are a couple coin laundry places near those restaurants.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews