We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 82
View deal
Hotels.com
USD 82
View deal
Trip.com
USD 62
View deal
Booking.comUSD 78
TravelocityUSD 82
eDreamsUSD 78
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
411
178
38
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
411
178
38
14
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Elisabeth suite was lovely and spacious with most comfortable huge bed and terrace once you work out route to/from reception.Hotel location was very good and central - tasty breakfast and very friendly staff. Cute shop attached to hotel too.

Room tip: Elisabeth suite
Date of stay: March 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ailsa_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, Other at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2020

Hi ailsa_jackson,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! :-)

We are so glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Till then, please take care and Be Safe.

Kind Regards,
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2020

The location of this property is really strategic, close to newly opened bridge, foods, tourist attractions. Wam welcome from the staff. Room was clean and the setup is really nice - contemporary. Tried local dish, lovely "Laksa Sarawak" downstair. Overall it was a good place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Happiness01899330783
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, Other at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2020

Dear Happiness01899330783,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

We are very happy to know that you had a good stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Till then, be safe and stay safe. :-)

Kind Regards
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2020

A lovely boutique hotel in a great location by the waterfront .
We loved the quirky furnishings in the lobby and restaurant.
The service was excellent and both breakfast and dinner were very tasty and great value.

Room tip: We had the Valerie Suite which was absolutely fabulous. Take care not to bang your head when going on the roof terrace.
Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fionacC5923OY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, Other at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear fionacC5923OY,

We absolutely love your review! Thank you so much!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day soon. Till then, only the most beautiful of all wishes from The Ranee Team to you. :-)

Kind Regards,
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel, breakfast team were great, nothing was too much trouble for them. Just a short walk to the main sights and close
to local bars, restaurants and Chinese tea shops. Rooms are replenished with 2 fresh bottles of water every day, tea and coffee too. We were given complimentary yummy cocktails when, due to a fault, the fire alarm was briefly activated in error .... a nice touch which was really appreciated.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Wilsons_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Chua, Other at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear Wilsons_24,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back , should your travel adventures bring you back to Borneo.

Terima Kasih from all of us at The Ranee. :-)

Kind Regards,
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020

This is not a review, but I felt this should be shared. I had made a reservation at this hotel , paying upfront to take advantage of the cheaper rate. Due to the caronavirus our conference in KL and therefore our trip cancelled. Every other reservation- flights hotels transfers day excursions , have refunded our money. The Ranee has not. I personally would not have cancelled this trip , it’s was out of my control. I understand that business is doing it tough, but to not even come to some compromise says a lot about this hotel. Lesson learnt. Their will always be someone taking advantage of a situation.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dewit197
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRaneeHM, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Dear Dewit 197


We note your review on Trip Advisor.

It is not our hotel practice or policy to disclose guests reservation but as you had mentioned publicly that we "do not even come to some compromise" and that "there will always be someone taking advantage of the situation" , we would like to clarify these statements by giving a brief chronology of your reservation


21 Oct 2019
You made a reservation on our website. It was a 40% discount promotion with a T&C stating that the reservation is Non-Refundable and the dates cannot be changed.

12th Feb 2020
We received an email from you with just an attachment of a Statement from a conference you are attending somewhere in Malaysia, stating that the conference has been postponed.
In another email, you wrote that there are travel restrictions for travel from Singapore.

13th Feb 2020
We replied to your emails informing that the travel restrictions have been lifted.
We even sent you the link that says there is no longer any restrictions for travellers coming in from Singapore.
We also informed you that refunds were given to travellers from Singapore when the Travel Restriction was in effect.
However, when the Travel Restrictions were lifted, we stopped receiving cancellations from travellers via Singapore.
We informed you in the email that unless you are arriving from China or unless you had been in China in the last 14 days, the amount cannot be refunded.

You then sent us a reply saying that we are "double dipping", because you wanted to re-book the same suite for the same dates but could not as it was not available.

We are puzzled why you wanted to re-book the same suite for the same dates.

We replied to your email again. We informed you that if we were "double dipping", the suite that you had booked would be available for booking.

For your information, we are a reputable hotel and we do not have undesirable or damaging practice like "double dipping" as alleged. The suite is not available for booking because it was still held under your name for your stay period as you had fully paid for it.

We tried to compromise by asking you to send us your Travel Itinerary so that we could forward it to the Hotel's Management for reconsideration of a refund.

Unfortunately, you never replied our email nor sent us your Travel Itinerary. But Instead, you chose to review us on Trip Advisor with less than factual information.

We trust the above clarifies.

Yours sincerely,
Mary Chan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews