We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
340
159
34
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
159
34
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews standard suite elizabeth suite the river reading room main bazaar lovely boutique tour desk laksa shop houses carpenter street parliament building small hotel a wonderful place to stay breakfast was delicious easy walking distance lovely room location is fantastic
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a fanciful hotel chain, this hotel is not for you. Housed in 2 shop lots, the boutique hotel is made up of 24 rooms with the standard suite already very spacious.

Located just across the water front and close to a traditional Chinese Street “ 亚答街”, this is the place to be if you wish to be close to everything. A short walk up the stairway leads you to the elevator that takes you to the room and only hiccup is the way the room is laid out making it a little difficult to find your suite.

We like the fact that the breakfast though limited comes in a standard set but you get to choose what you want from 4 options that is changed on the 2 nights we were there. Next to the hotel is a small cafe and souvenir shops but then again on the same street is where all the souvenir shops are housed in.

Overall the hotel is in good location and affordable prices.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank The_TravellerSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear The_TravellerSg,

Thank you very much for the review.

The building which The Ranee is located at, is one of the oldest in Kuching. We wanted to maintain the structure of the building as much as possible. That's why all our suites upstairs are laid out in such a way that they are not all parallel to each other. :-)

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Only the very best wishes from The Ranee Team.

Kind Regards,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

I stayed here last weekend to celebrate my partner's birthday and this property greatly exceeded our expectations. As expats in Sabah we were very impressed with the stylish look and quaint feel of not only The Ranee but also Kuching as a whole, never too far away from cafes, hawker markets, the waterfront, and wonderful places to eat.

The rooms are well-appointed with sensuous amenities that all added character to this boutique hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive throughout our stay and helped to book our day trip to Bako National Park with a reputable tour operator - CPH Travel. Not to mention, they were happy to organise a birthday surprise before we departed!

Knowing that Kuching is a short flight away from Sabah we'll definitely be back for weekend getaway to soak up some more of the delights that Kuching offers. Thanks for the great stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Sonny R,

Hello! It was nice meeting you and we're really happy that both you and your partner enjoyed staying with us.

Do let us know when you plan to visit Kuching again. We would love to have both of you back here. :-) Till then, only the most beautiful wishes from the friendly Ranee Team!

Kind Regards,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Was in Kuching for a short trip and after checking my options, decided I must give The Ranee a try. Chose a Standard Suite and was given 104, overlooking the main road. Check in was quick as I had booked using agoda and staff was always nice and smiling Room was cool when I checked in; both ceiling fan and air cond was on, definitely good to cool down from the humid weather outside. Loved the overall decor and theme of the hotel, just be careful of the stones in the shower - very slippery. Breakfast was very good, loved the laksa Sarawak and the mee hoon cangkuk manis Would definitely choose The Ranee again!

Room Tip: Be very careful in the shower; stones are very slippery.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank farahemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear farahemi,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!

It is always a joy when our guests let us know that they had as much fun staying with us, as we did taking care of them. We're really happy that you loved our complimentary breakfast and your room.

Please do let us know when you visit Kuching again. It would be really lovely to welcome you back. :-)

From the Ranee Team, Terima Kasih dan Jumpa Lagi!

Kind Regards,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Really enjoyed staying here, very central, lots of lovely little touches in this heritage building turned boutique hotel. Very pleasant & helpful staff, comfortable rooms. Definitely a great place to stay in Kuching

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JPJBrooklynBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear JPJBrooklynBrit,

Thank you very much for the really lovely review!

We are very happy that you had an enjoyable time staying with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Kuching. TIll then, the Ranee Team wishes you only the most fabulous travel adventures!

Kind Regards,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in this boutique hotel for our anniversary. The staff are very helpful and the location is ideal! It is close to very good restaurants and a fairly cheap bar. The rooms are beautiful with a very large shower. We had views over the river, which are highly recommended. The breakfast too...wow! Menu is made to order and changes frequently, which allows the chef to concentrate on flavour (laksa is very tasty)

Room Tip: River views
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stevb907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRanee M, Hotel Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear stevb907,

We love your review! Thank you so much!

Our F&B Team is smiling from ear to ear after reading your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and Laksa. Sarawak Laksa is a must-try for all visitors to Kuching. It is our pride and joy. The locals in Sarawak love it when visitors go ooh & aah over our Sarawak Laksa :-))

It is really good to know that both of you had a wonderful stay with us on your anniversary vacation. We hope to welcome you back on your next anniversary. :-)

Only the very best wishes from the Ranee Team and Terima Kasih for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you.

Kind Regards,
Ann Chua
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews