We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Kuchin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Batik Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The Batik Hotel is situated in the heart of the bustling city of Kuchin. It is privatly owned and run and is very much not your standard business hotel. It has a very relaxed and welcoming feel and it will not be long before you are on first name terms with the staff if that is what you wish.
The rooms are furnished to a high standard and very clean.
As the Batik is surrounded by just about every type of restaurant you could imagine, from hawker stalls to more sophisticated fayre going hungry is not an option. Just to make sure there is a Japanese restaurant in the hotel itself.
On my visit the breakfast was a bit hit and miss, but as the hotel had not been open long I'm sure this will have improved.
I would highly recommend you try the Batik Hotel if you are pasing Kuchin way .

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwhit282000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2010

3rd time to Kuching and decide to try this new boutique hotel after reading Trip Advisor review. Location is good and as a business traveller, i just need a cosy hotel, WIFI and does not need the fancy facilities that i don't use. The staff is also helpful to arrange transport for me. Love the Japanese restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

this brand new hotel is in a great location in the city centre of Kuching. We travelled with 3 children ranging from 3 to 14 years. The reason why we picked this hotel was that they had adjoining rooms to accommodate our family of 6. When we got there we were surprised at how much more they had to offer. There is a supermarket 5 minutes away, eating outlets all around and is also next to Topspot, the tourist and local destination alike for delicious seafood. You can also take an evening stroll to the sarawak riverfront or go for a boat ride. The tourist strip of the main bazaar and museums linking to Carpenter street is also up a road about 20 minutes walk but you can also call a cab. With shopping and food all within walking distance it has to be the most conveniently located hotel i've ever stayed in. The hotel has extreeeemely comfortable bedding and pillows, and they will also make up a little corner daybed to accommodate small persons. The Japanese restaurant serves up a full menu of authentic cuisine. The friendly staff will attend to your every need and if you are there when Jackie, the proprietress is in, she will always stop by for a chat. At the Batik hotel, you are more a friend than a guest. Try their iced lemon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Goes to Kuching almost every month, normally stay in Hilton, Somerset, Four Point. Decide to try this boutique hotel and it is just what i need as a business traveller. Don't need to wait for long queue to check in and check out, no big tourist group rushing for breakfast, don't need all the facilities that is nice to see but never use and we have paid for it. This boutique hotel is cozy with a nice lobby, good japanese restaurant and a rooftop terrace to chill. Rooms are nicely decorated and trendly. Location is in the middle of Kuching.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Great little hotel! just simply loved the convenience this hotel provided, as it is right smack in the middle of Kuching city. the hotel is new, hence its clean, lets hope that they keep t up tho. the rooms are cosy, nice and really chic, the most stylish we have had amongst the 5 hotels we stayed since 2008.

there isn't a reception in the hotel, my wife and i were quite lost there, but the staffs are super friendly and helpful, and will be at ur service in a moment's notice, so not that bad there! =) if you happen to be there, dun panic if you do not see a reception/front counter desk, just relax, u'll be attended shortly.

the fees are ok, definately not ur B&B rates, but hey, this is not a B&B, its a proper hotel with proper hotel service. the restaurant (japanese) is ok, but Kuching has got lots more to offer, walk around, since you are already in the middle of it! =)

oh yeah, the in-room split unit Air-conditioning is really cold, turn it down if u're not used to it! =).

this has been a wonderful trip for my expecting wife, but the stay is, well, just excellent! =)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngeejee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.9 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,687 reviews
0.3 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
0.3 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
2.3 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batik Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batik Boutique Hotel

Address: 38 Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $51 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Batik Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Batik is a lifestyle hotel set in the epicentre of Kuching's hustle and bustle. It caters to the needs of today's discerning business and leisure traveller sprinkled with a certain special touch. With its fifteen stylishly designed well-equipped rooms, unconventional hotel offerings and enthusiastic and ever-so-helpful team of hotel crew, The Batik is Kuching's first hospitality icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Batik Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batik Boutique Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing