We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
259
107
29
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
107
29
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jo lynn french press day bed small hotel local rice wine rain shower local coffee top spot friendly hotel bako national park booking tours chong choon central kuching spacious room seafood the river enjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Very late arrival, but warm friendly greeting on arrival. This set the tone for our stay. Jackie and her team volunteered really good advice on trips and especially on dining options. They changed our room set up with asking, because they could tell it didn't quite work for us. And most memorably they shared in our delight and baked a celebratory cake when our son learnt he had been awarded a first class masters degree. They definitely go the extra mile. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FHJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel and staff made our holiday. The staff went above and beyond their job to make us welcome, help us with tours and show us kuching. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to this area. Loved it! Lisa

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lisamax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Simply, the best stay we've had on our travels.

Batik Boutique in Kuching exceeded our wildest expectations. Our hosts were incredibly friendly and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always willing to help out with any challenge or question we had.

Of particular mention are Jackie (the owner) and Jo-Lynn (unintentionally hilarious comedic hard-working manager-type person ... although official job title still unknown). My partner and I got to know both quite well over several days and evenings at the bar. Both came across as strong, intelligent, worldly and congenial women. It was a pleasure to share their company. We always felt welcome and accepted.

We will miss the rambling good-humored discussion and debate about all manner of subjects. Many hours flew by without notice in an effortless exchange of ideas, jokes and sharing of experiences.

All staff were gracious and welcoming. My advice is get to know them as they will surprise. Many varied and interesting backgrounds, multi-linguistic, well travelled, and good natured.

Oh, the rooms!!!!

Having read some other reviews, I'm a bit perplexed .... for example, the tiled and wooden floors are attractive as well as functional ... it rains a lot in Kuching so walking wet shoes and dripping clothes through carpet probably wouldn't be a wise idea. It's not cold either, so not having carpet doesn't in any way lower the level of comfort. According to Jo-Lynn, the coldest it gets in Kuching is the lowest setting on the air conditioner.

The water was always hot and running during our stay. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The internal lift made it easy to mange our luggage to and from our room. We really liked the Batik feel of the hotel.

It's sobering for us to know that all other hotel stays will be judged against this one.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

A boutique hotel built to support the local economy personalising the type of trip desired into reality. By that I mean the wonderful staff at Batik Boutique were able to assist with a foodies travel plan, the adventurer, culture, art etc. We honestly (despite trying to research) had no plan upon arrival and then any plans we did have, the long weekend and string of public holidays ruined them. Luckily enough, the friendly and approachable staff at Batik were able to assist. To say this is where the hospitality and service stopped would be satisfactory, but surprised as we were the hospitality kept coming, meeting and having conversations with the owner Jackie, she even had gone to local stalls and purchased buns and delicious local delicacies for the patrons. It was however (the titleless) Jo-Lynn, her intelligent witty and comedic conversations kept us spending more time downstairs than in our room.

Enough about the service, the hotel itself, located on a corner situated well in the middle of all the action made it easy to transport ourselves whether uber, public transport or our little legs to wherever we wanted. We visited Bako National Park through catching the public bus, stationed only a few minutes away from the hotel.

The room itself, clean and spacious room with large and comfortable bed. Plenty of desk space to work, and lay out luggage. Lots of powerpoints next to the bed. Closet room was abundant and the shower was spacious and showerhead powerful. Free wifi was fast. Breakfast was good.

If you are looking for a negative, I'm sure you will be able to find it if you look hard enough but honestly when you are visiting Kuching.. are you really looking for somewhere to spend all your time in the room? Reasonably priced with staff that make you feel as if you have been friends for years why not try it. Also between their staff there is at least 6-7 languages if not more they can speak.. so someone will figure out what you want!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank debby2468097531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at Batek hotel! All the staff were so friendly and helpful and especially Jolene who had gone out of her way to make sure everything was perfect for us! She helped with everything from our outing to the bako park and to see the oran utan and even dinner reservations. Loved the big bed and fabulous hot shower. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank junoskolski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews