We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and incredibly friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Batik Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Great location and incredibly helpful staff, especially Jo-Lynn. Thank you. They went over and above the call for duty, giving us a lift to the airport twice and helped us organise some travel. Easy to talk to at the downstair bar and incredibly accommodating. Thanks a lot guys, you really made our time in Kuching.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alexhplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Very late arrival, but warm friendly greeting on arrival. This set the tone for our stay. Jackie and her team volunteered really good advice on trips and especially on dining options. They changed our room set up with asking, because they could tell it didn't quite work for us. And most memorably they shared in our delight and baked a celebratory cake when our son learnt he had been awarded a first class masters degree. They definitely go the extra mile. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FHJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel and staff made our holiday. The staff went above and beyond their job to make us welcome, help us with tours and show us kuching. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to this area. Loved it! Lisa

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lisamax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Simply, the best stay we've had on our travels.

Batik Boutique in Kuching exceeded our wildest expectations. Our hosts were incredibly friendly and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always willing to help out with any challenge or question we had.

Of particular mention are Jackie (the owner) and Jo-Lynn (unintentionally hilarious comedic hard-working manager-type person ... although official job title still unknown). My partner and I got to know both quite well over several days and evenings at the bar. Both came across as strong, intelligent, worldly and congenial women. It was a pleasure to share their company. We always felt welcome and accepted.

We will miss the rambling good-humored discussion and debate about all manner of subjects. Many hours flew by without notice in an effortless exchange of ideas, jokes and sharing of experiences.

All staff were gracious and welcoming. My advice is get to know them as they will surprise. Many varied and interesting backgrounds, multi-linguistic, well travelled, and good natured.

Oh, the rooms!!!!

Having read some other reviews, I'm a bit perplexed .... for example, the tiled and wooden floors are attractive as well as functional ... it rains a lot in Kuching so walking wet shoes and dripping clothes through carpet probably wouldn't be a wise idea. It's not cold either, so not having carpet doesn't in any way lower the level of comfort. According to Jo-Lynn, the coldest it gets in Kuching is the lowest setting on the air conditioner.

The water was always hot and running during our stay. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The internal lift made it easy to mange our luggage to and from our room. We really liked the Batik feel of the hotel.

It's sobering for us to know that all other hotel stays will be judged against this one.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

A boutique hotel built to support the local economy personalising the type of trip desired into reality. By that I mean the wonderful staff at Batik Boutique were able to assist with a foodies travel plan, the adventurer, culture, art etc. We honestly (despite trying to research) had no plan upon arrival and then any plans we did have, the long weekend and string of public holidays ruined them. Luckily enough, the friendly and approachable staff at Batik were able to assist. To say this is where the hospitality and service stopped would be satisfactory, but surprised as we were the hospitality kept coming, meeting and having conversations with the owner Jackie, she even had gone to local stalls and purchased buns and delicious local delicacies for the patrons. It was however (the titleless) Jo-Lynn, her intelligent witty and comedic conversations kept us spending more time downstairs than in our room.

Enough about the service, the hotel itself, located on a corner situated well in the middle of all the action made it easy to transport ourselves whether uber, public transport or our little legs to wherever we wanted. We visited Bako National Park through catching the public bus, stationed only a few minutes away from the hotel.

The room itself, clean and spacious room with large and comfortable bed. Plenty of desk space to work, and lay out luggage. Lots of powerpoints next to the bed. Closet room was abundant and the shower was spacious and showerhead powerful. Free wifi was fast. Breakfast was good.

If you are looking for a negative, I'm sure you will be able to find it if you look hard enough but honestly when you are visiting Kuching.. are you really looking for somewhere to spend all your time in the room? Reasonably priced with staff that make you feel as if you have been friends for years why not try it. Also between their staff there is at least 6-7 languages if not more they can speak.. so someone will figure out what you want!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank debby2468097531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.9 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,684 reviews
0.3 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
0.3 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
2.3 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batik Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batik Boutique Hotel

Address: 38 Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: $52 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Batik Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Batik is a lifestyle hotel set in the epicentre of Kuching's hustle and bustle. It caters to the needs of today's discerning business and leisure traveller sprinkled with a certain special touch. With its fifteen stylishly designed well-equipped rooms, unconventional hotel offerings and enthusiastic and ever-so-helpful team of hotel crew, The Batik is Kuching's first hospitality icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Batik Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batik Boutique Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing