We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Feels a bit like walking into an Ikea showroom!, Lime tree has a good location easy walking to the waterfront area for restaurants and bars. Staff are friendly and helpful, a good basic hotel with reasonable prices for your stay in Kuching. We found the windowless rooms large but a little depressing and would probably recommend spending a little more to get a room with a window.

Room Tip: pick one with a window and pay the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear rob1959,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuching and for taking the time to share your feedback! I am pleased to know that you found our location favourable; it takes an 8 to 10 minutes walk to reach the Waterfront from our hotel and we are located within the vicinity of the charming Chinatown Padungan, eating places and shopping malls.

The Superior room you had occupied is an inner without a view; nevertheless, it is a popular room type due to its price and space despite the lack of views. As all have varying requirements, I strongly encourage all travelers to always feel free to approach the Front Desk to enquire about their rooms if in doubt. At The LimeTree, our team would be more than happy to advise and assist our guests to select the rooms best suited for their needs in order to ensure guest satisfaction.

Our guests will always be our top priority and we remain committed in providing excellent service, comfort and value to our guests. Your comments are most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again. In the meantime, wishing you safe travels!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    447
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
145
457
99
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A very nice, no frills type of hotel. Staff were efficient, helpful and polite. Check in and check out process took no more than 5 mins each time. There is a little cafe in the hotel where you can get meals throughout the day but other than breakfast time, no one seems to eat there. The food there is of a good standard, though. There is also a nice cozy rooftop lounge where you can chill out with drinks, and free use of 2 computers and internet access in the lobby which my kids were veyr happy to find. The (family) room was very spacious and clean and pleasant to check into. A couple of small minus points to mention. The breakfast is a tad limited but it was still ok, I would still give it a pass. The distance of the hotel is a little far from the centre of town. Other than that, everything else was fine. Overall, this hotel offers excellent value.

Room Tip: Check out the hotel's website to see the actual size of the rooms to see which one fits your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here last week for 3 nights with my fiance. We were impressed with our stay right from our arrival. Check-in was friendly and fast, the room was a decent size for the price, clean and modern. The bed was big and comfy, and the bathroom had a nice big shower in it.
The rooftop bar is a great place to relax with a cocktail. Breakfast was as expected; a good range of options, always well-stocked, and fresh food. The location of the hotel is really good, just a ten minute walk to the heart of Kuching and very close to the river. All in all, we had a great stay here and think the hotel is very good value for money.
The only downside was that the walls of the room were very thin.... we could hear the television in the room next door late at night, and were kept awake at 2am by a small child singing in the next room! Perhaps there are certain rooms which have thicker walls where families with young children should stay, so that they do not disturb other guests?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hi Ms Julie Tay, We have booked for flight to Kuching on April 10-12 , I want to know more information about your hotel as I have read a very positive comment in the reviews. I am sorry if I used trip advisor as my way to communicate with you .Pls email me. wp2115@yahoo.com

Thank you

Jhen

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjhen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is not a five star hotel in terms of decor, but it provides five star service from the most friendly and helpful staff. Our room was small, had a view to the river, was very clean, and had a very comfortable bed and pillows. The rooftop bar was really nice, providing an amazing view of the city. Breakfasts were varied and had both western and Asian food. The coffee was great! The hotel was in a great location - an easy walk to Kuching's beautiful waterfront and so close to a myriad of restaurants. It was very easy to book excursions at the front desk, and pick-up from the airport and then return to it was a nice touch. The highlight for us was meeting Kandau (who should have been named Kandoo) who gave us tips and advice for what to do and see while we were there. Also, Julie was always smiling and very efficient and helpful with any queries we had.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bandbstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.2 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.4 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
0.5 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.6 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
2.3 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price range (per night): $41 - $61
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing