We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 29
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Priceline
USD 25
View deal
Agoda.com
USD 21
View deal
Hotels.comUSD 29
Booking.comUSD 25
FindHotelUSD 21
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
82
39
15
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
82
39
15
13
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Absolutely gorgeous building and pool set within walking distance of most eateries and sights of Kuching. The staff were great and the breakfast, basic but ample. We had the end pool room, which was just gorgeous with private patio and easy access to the pool which is beautifully set in amongst the garden.
We stayed for 4 nights of which we only had 1 night where there was no loud music being played until after 2am. It was VERY loud and did not allow us to sleep.
The on-site restaurant hosts private parties which continued until the early hours.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank FamilyHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2020

We loved the architecture and furnishings of this hotel. There are some really nice peaceful places to sit, room small but we spent all our time out sightseeing, sitting in communal areas or at the pool. Cosy, quiet pool area. The entire hotel is extremely clean. Noisy bar is quite close but although we were at the front we were not effected by it. The staff are really lovely and kind. It is not a luxury hotel, no TV, bathrobes, lifts etc. But we loved it.
The breakfast was the only let down only cornflakes and toast, fruit juice, tea and coffee, although it didn't bother us it may do others.
Would certainly recommend for a brilliant location in an interesting house.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank JoandG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne_TheMarian, Manager at The Marian Boutique Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Dear JoandG1,
Greetings from The Marian. Thank you for your great review and recommendation. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Kind regards,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020

It is a lovely hotel full of history and great architecture. Close to the shops and attractions. Helpful staff and clean rooms.

Some points of improvement
*limited breakfast option (mainly white bread,jams,coffee,milk,juice,tea and cereals)
*no elevator
*no tv in the room
*noisy music lasting until 3am from the bar across the street
*no refrigerator in the room

The hotel should have information on the website to advise guests of the limited breakfast option and no elevator. It would be helpful for people who will be travelling with large suitcases to be informed. I can understand that in order to preserve an old building, and aesthetically, an elevator is not an option. But the place is not friendly for disabled guests and the elderly.

Again, guests can always eat out, but the hotel is missing out on some revenue that can be generated by providing breakfast options, can be pre ordered with options on continental or american breakfast, or local breakfast offer. No breakfast charge if guests opt not to avail of breakfast.

Also, a complete list of amenities would be helpful, so that the guests know what to expect

I was lucky to select a room on a higher floor, so I was not so bothered with the noise across the street. But dragging my suitcase 3 floors up was not much fun. But anyway, the friendly and efficient staff made my stay worth it. My adapter broke and I asked to borrow one, the lady at the reception area lent me one for free. My phone also ran out of battery and I asked the same lady to book a grab for me and she was more than happy to oblige.

The staff are well trained to actually listen to guests. I wanted to eat seafood and the uncle at the reception helped provide helpful info on where to eat seafood, too.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay :)

Room tip: Room with a balcony on 1st floor has a view of the waterfront
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nihonneko123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne_TheMarian, Manager at The Marian Boutique Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Dear Nihonneko123,
Greetings from The Marian! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, and we are also thankful for your suggestions and recommendations.
I would like to address some of the issues mentioned. Breakfast is complimentary, we do not charge at all. We do not have a kitchen, so it is simple and lodging house standard. We admit our oversight in not mentioning it on our website, and we will rectify it. It is however mentioned on other booking websites.
There is a list of amenities on our booking page, and mentioned on our website under our Hotel Facilities, that we do not have any lift. Our Wifi speed is the highest subscribed, but we understand some might still prefer a TV.
We do hope to have you back with us and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Kind regards,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020

This hidden gem is perfect for everyone who loves a small intimate boutique hotel with characters but still enjoy your privacy. The building itself is something to shout about - English architecture is preserved, full of history, infused with some modern contemporary touch. We LOVE it!! Centrally located, less than 5min walk to Kuching Waterfront, from there you can continue taking a breeze walk to Kuching Bazaar, India Street, Merdeka Plaza Mall, museum....It is also easy to find local food, in fact the hotel has a café if you want a quick bite. Friendly staff are super helpful. We will come back and also recommend this place to our friends. Thank you for having us last Christmas (2019)

Room tip: Ask for higher floor with balcony (limited rooms with balcony) to get a nice view of the city/Kuching watefront
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank eatlovepray0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne_TheMarian, Manager at The Marian Boutique Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Dear AngelBeth0503,

Greetings from The Marian!

Thank you for the wonderful review and recommendation. It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us, and we look forward to your returned trip.

Wishing you a fantastic 2020 with many great travels!

Kind regards,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

I love historic hotels with character so this was perfect. Actually, it's the building that's historic (built in 1885) and it was lovingly restored before becoming a hotel in 2017. The location can't be beat in Kuching. It's walking distance to anywhere you'd want to go: the waterfront, Carpenter and India streets, the Top Spot eating area, etc. The service was excellent including calling a Grab for us and letting us use the pool showers after we'd checked out (we had a night flight out and wanted to freshen up after touring the town all day and the staff was happy to accommodate us). If I make it back to Kuching, this is where I'll stay!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scottmC6880KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne_TheMarian, Manager at The Marian Boutique Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Dear scottmC6880KY,

Greetings from The Marian!

Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to have you back, soon.

Wishing you all the best and many great travels for 2020!

Kind regards,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews