We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice enough hotel but not 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Kuching Hotel
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I spent 5 nights in December at this hotel with my family. We were visiting relatives so were not typical tourists and mainly used the hotel as a place to sleep.
My initial impression was not particularly good as having spent 28 hours travelling we then queued for 20 mins just to check in! On the plus side however, the hotel is located about 3 minutes from the airport so we did not have to experience the truly atrocious Kuching traffic to get there.
We had 2 rooms on the 9th floor with a fantastic view of.....the airport runway. Actually from that height the view encompassed much more than the runway and was quite pleasant.
In terms of airport noise it wasn't bad (with the airconditioning on) and we were not disturbed. However, oddly, I was awakened around 5am every morning by the call to prayers, perhaps because the airconditioning was quieter at that time?
The buffet breakfast was excellent.
The location is certainly not central, but it depends on where you want to be. The traffic was especially bad when we were there due to road works and construction which we were told is expected to continue for another year or more.
Cleanliness I felt was not up to scratch. The bathroom in both rooms was not spotless, which I expected. The counters were dusty and the showers and area around the bathtubs were not as clean as they could be, and there was also a very nasty looking area around one of the toilets! There was clearly a problem with mildew which I realise can be difficult to deal with but overall the impression was one of not enough effort, since the places that were particularly bad were the harder to reach areas (ie low down in the shower enclosure and also between the taps and tub) and the mould looked particularly thick.
On the other hand the fixtures and fittings were nice and there was a rainshower.
It was also unfortunate that the counter tops in the rooms were marked with rings which I suppose reflects more on the guests than the hotel, but it did detract from the overall impression.
On the whole I think that this hotel certainly offers value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Hi WWYorks,

Thanks for your recent review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching. I was pleased to read overall you found our hotel offered great value for money.

Your additional comments show areas for us to work on. I am sorry that we have not exceeded your expectation on this visit. I have shared your feedback with our team members so that we can continue to improve.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on your next visit to Kuching so we can look after you.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 287 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

Room was great, good size, good facilities. Bathroom was excellent with a great shower. There was even a personal welcome message on the tv screen when we got to the room. Swimming pool is a good size, very long.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

HI LIzinKL,

Thanks for your "Very nice stay" review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching.

I am happy that we were able to meet your expectations on this trip. The team works hard to get the basics right and it is great to see when we have delivered.

Please let me know when you plan your next trip to Kuching, so that we can continue to look after you.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Fair check in experience. Room and Breakfast is nice for RM180++ rate.

Room Tip: better view for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Hi Yeejia,

Thanks for your "Modern, Nice and New" review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching.

We appreciate the positive feedback because it shows that we have delivered on the our Four Points branded service from the heart!

Please let us know when you plan your next trip to Kuching so that we can continue to look after you.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Room is clean and decent. Price is cheaper than other big hotels. Located very near to the kuching international airport. Cheap and delicious non halal food available opposite the hotel.

Location is NOT central. Far from the city centre. 10 mins away from the city provided there is no bad traffic of course. Service in this hotel is not too great, a bit slow. The restaurant is a super huge disappointment, I went there a couple of times for buffet but it is not always available (maybe they stopped the buffet line). Sigh.... for such a hotel I expected better food.

If you plan to stay in this hotel (since the price is quite reasonable comapred to other big hotels) and would like to get around Kuching, RENT A CAR and drive to wherever you want to go. Avoid taxis in Kuching like a plague, they are worse than KL cabbies.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alphonsus_Foo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

Hi Alphonsus_Foo,

Thanks for your review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching.

I was pleased to read that you like our rooms product. I have read your additional comments about our restaurant. We do offer our signature breakfast buffet daily and dinner buffet nightly. Because we want to maintain consistent high quality buffet and serve fresh food we do not serve lunch buffets during the week unless there is sufficient demand. We do offer an a la carte selection. Our restaurant was recently recognized as one of the Best 10-All day dining restaurants in Asia, but we do value your feedback.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Let's me summarize Four Points in one quote 'AWESOME & VALUE FOR MONEY'! Only that the 'perfect stay' spoiled by 'NO FREE INTERNET'!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrNasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourPointsKuching, General Manager at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2011

HI Mr. Nasan,

Thanks for your "Deserved to be the best 4 star hotel!" review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching.

We take great pride in being recognized a Malaysia's Best Four Star Hotel and thank you for the positive feedback. I have noted your concern with regard to internet access and while we do provide free internet access is our hotels public areas. We also offer room packages both with internet inclusive and room only in line with our effort to provide the greater value to our guests.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back in Kuching.

Cheers,

Paolo Campillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.8 km away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#10 of 55 in Kuching
226 reviews
1.6 km away
Pine Garden Hotel
Pine Garden Hotel
#13 of 55 in Kuching
23 reviews
3.8 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
56 Hotel
56 Hotel
#27 of 55 in Kuching
41 reviews
6.0 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
5.9 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Kuching Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Kuching Hotel

Address: Lot 3186-3187 Block 16 KCLD, Jalan Lapangan Terbang Baru, Kuching 93350, Malaysia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Kuching)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: $53 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Kuching Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Where You Need to Go. Welcome to the Century Kuching Hotel in Sarawak, East Malaysia, on the amazing island of Borneo. We're located in the middle of the BDC commercial hub, near The Spring mall. We're also near Kuching International Airport (KCH). Free to Choose. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we've got you covered with outstanding event spaces and contemporary restaurants and a bar. We also offer plenty of ways to stay active - such as our 24-hour fitness centre and a great outdoor pool - and to stay connected - like our 24-hour business centre and free Wi-Fi in all public areas. You'll even get complimentary daily newspapers and bottled water. Don't worry; there are no hidden fees. Casual Comfort. Our 435 rooms and suites are designed to make you feel right at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Century Kuching Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Kuching
Four Points By Sheraton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Four Points Kuching
Century Kuching Hotel Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing