We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tapas”
Review of Pincho Loco

Pincho Loco
Ranked #21 of 610 Restaurants in Kuching
Price range: USD 2 - USD 11
Description: We serve a range of cold and hot tapas (small plates) created by our Chef from Barcelona, together with bocadillos (crusty baguette sandwiches), burger & fries, lasagna and desserts, Spanish wines, Sangria and boutique award-winning gins, as well as the usual beers and soft drinks, in a casual setting with outdoor dining
Restaurant details
Description: We serve a range of cold and hot tapas (small plates) created by our Chef from Barcelona, together with bocadillos (crusty baguette sandwiches), burger & fries, lasagna and desserts, Spanish wines, Sangria and boutique award-winning gins, as well as the usual beers and soft drinks, in a casual setting with outdoor dining
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Nice place!! Enjoyed the tapas and burger!! They also serve combos for lunch and I must say the coffee was great too!!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

My family went there as we had seen it advertised in a local events magazine. We went specifically because we have been to Spain a couple of times and really enjoyed sipping "cerveza con tapas" and we weren't disappointed here. The tapas were lovely. Expensive for Kuching but still cheap from European standards if converted. We could have eaten for 3 or 4 nights from a food hall the amount it cost but that included beers. We had a bucket of 4 beers, a Coca-Cola, and seven tapas dishes and it came to RM140 (about £28). Unfortunately I didn't get to take a picture of the food because it disappeared so quickly! Would definitely recommend.

1  Thank Spanjulika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

After reading the reviews had big expectations about this tapas restaurant. Very disappointing. Have eaten lots of times tapas ik Spain and this did not een come close. Very small portions, strange combinations (albondigas with carrot and greens?), not real alïoli, nice patatas bravas, not really spanish hams. Payed 13 euro per person; way to much for the small portions and lack of quality.

Thank ReemahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServaneLo, Owner at Pincho Loco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Reema,

We would not question your opinion of the food since taste is subjective however we are obliged to clear up a few inaccuracies for the benefit of other TripAdvisor readers.

Firstly I am informed by my bar manager (with whom you had apparently had a nice chat and inexplicably said the food was fine) that the bill for the 3 of you came to around RM100 for food (not counting the bucket of beer which you had also ordered). That is around 6 Euro per person, not 13 Euro. Since many of our ingredients are imported from Spain (another inaccuracy in your comment, that what you had was "not really Spanish hams"), I believe it was unfair for you to say that what you paid was too much for the dishes ordered. I am sure you would be hard put to order those number of dishes in any tapas bar in Barcelona today for 6 Euro per person.

And, not to be pedantic, but one of the very traditional ways in which the beef meatballs tapa is served, is with carrot and beans. To take just one random example: albondigas a la jardinera - http://www.recetasderechupete.com/albondigas-a-la-jardinera/17905.

As for the fact that you did not like the taste of our food, for that we are sorry. Our chef from Barcelona, who maintains supervisory control over the food prepared by the Pincho Loco cook, will closely review and quality-control those dishes singled out by you. Thank you very much for those parts of your criticism which were constructive and not misleading. We shall endeavour to do better.

Yours faithfully, James Lo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Travelling and finding good food from home is a treat. Three of us went there one night after a downpour. The various plates we had were all tasty and with authentic ingredients. I think the authenticity of products surprised the most, as it was not expensive.

Also the service was strikingly better than the other places tried in KCH, where the food is generally good, in streets or restaurants.

We enjoyed a great experience of wine, tapas, Mediterranean style food, a nice change of pace from the street food and local restaurants. I rate it excellent because of its uniqueness in Sarawak the imported ingredients and attentive service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gusmoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Been here a couple of times for lunch, they serve great pizza, sandwiches, lasagne and various tapas dishes, good, honest, simple food in my opinion, very reasonably priced considering the ingredients, no frills, it is what it is, as it should be. if you like some descent Mediterranean food then this is the place to go for lunch or dinner.

1  Thank ben l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pincho Loco also viewed

 

Been to Pincho Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing