We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NewyJen
Newcastle, Australia

Pretty Island

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2019
Arriving via boat to this Island is very exciting, the water looks beautifully clear and blue with white sand on the beach. Unfortunately when you start snorkelling it becomes apparent pretty quickly that there is a lot of rubbish below the surface, this is very sad as it is a beautiful Island. There are nice hammocks and seats etc. on the beach so it is a nice spot to sit and relax. I can only hope that a clean up happens soon as I imagine it can only get worse. The food is great, delicious and lots of it.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CharlesKok, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mari Mari Sepanggar, responded to this review
Responded 27 Mar 2019
Hi NewyJen,

We appreciate so much for your honest review. Our island is indeed one of the beautiful islands that everyone has access to visit. All our facilities are complete for the convenience of our guests. The rubbish is one of our daily battles. Cleaning up the beach and the sea surrounding our facility has never ended. The rubbish in the sea is indeed a global problem. Our team at Mari Mari Sepanggar are indeed actively involved with the community to tackle this issue.

Thank you for your concerns and we do hope we see you again soon. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Property Exterior
Agoda.com
AU$93
No fees just great deals
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    AU$93
  • Expedia.com
8.3 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$136
  • Priceline
    AU$132
  • Expedia.com
    AU$136
  • Trip.com
    AU$132
9.5 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
NEWLY RENOVATED STANDARD ROOM
Priceline
AU$45
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$53
  • Vio.com
    AU$39
  • Agoda.com
    AU$41
8.3 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$208
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$205
  • Hotels.com
    AU$205
  • Expedia.com
    AU$205
8.4 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
AU$195
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$195
  • Vio.com
    AU$130
  • Expedia.com
    AU$183
10.7 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
LeMeridien.com
AU$194
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Priceline
    AU$194
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$148
  • Booking.com
    AU$197
8.9 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$328
  • Priceline
    AU$328
  • Vio.com
    AU$324
  • Hotels.com
    AU$334
12.2 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main lobby
Booking.com
AU$166
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$144
  • Agoda.com
    AU$111
  • Expedia.com
    AU$166
10.4 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
AU$46
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$54
  • Agoda.com
    AU$43
  • Hotels.com
    AU$54
10.0 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
AU$61
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$72
  • Agoda.com
    AU$57
  • Expedia.com
    AU$68
9.1 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
16
20
13
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
20
13
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed ourselves very much. Our first time here at Mari Mari Sepanggar Island. We enjoyed the beautiful clean beach, great food, clean accomodation, helpful staff and all the fun activities. I was traveling with my 75 years old mum and also 9mths old baby and it was all nicely arranged for us. Will definitely come back again!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DoraO145
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CharlesKok, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mari Mari Sepanggar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Hi DoraO145,

Thank you for giving us 5 Stars review. It is a great pleasure to be able to serve you in our facilities. We hope to be able to see you and your family again in the not so distant future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2019 via mobile

Nice and friendly staff.. well organised. The beach is clean, good place for scuba diving and water sports , the buffet lunch is delicious too. Would like to stay over night next time when i come back

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jawhara2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CharlesKok, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mari Mari Sepanggar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

Hi, jawhara2018,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and for sharing your view on our products and services. We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Mari Mari Sepanggar Island. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

I am one of the staff but base on the mainland (HQ office). Would love to go again to get away from hectic and crowded city life. Not because I work for the company but because the atmosphere is really amazing where you can relax and enjoy the view.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Travel804385
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CharlesKok, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mari Mari Sepanggar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2019

Hi Travel804385,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is important whether you're our guest or our staff. We will make sure to take good care of your needs and ensure a peaceful surrounding so you enjoyed the rest of the day on the beach.

Travel804385, please let me know when you wish to go into Mari Mari Sepanggar Island. You know where to look for me😉. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

We didn't stay on the island hotel. We booked a speedboat trip through a travel tour company to the island and stayed there for a day only. I was told that the island was privately owned. The island is spectacular with clear blue green sea and white beach.

There is a restaurant, a convenience store n decently built toilet/shower area. Upon arriving at the island, we were allocated a table by the travel tour company to put our bags and also to have lunch (buffet style). Other food and drinks can also be purchased from the restaurant. Then the tour guide will explain types of activities (with charges ranging from rm 50.00 to rm 500.00 per person, depending on type of activities) such as banana boat ride, parasailing, jetski riding, diving, sea walking and so on.

Overall we had fun on the island as we took part in some of the activities. And the island staff were friendly and helpful also. We took speedboat trip back to jetty at 1600.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SIMONL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CharlesKok, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mari Mari Sepanggar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Dear SIMONL1979,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mari Mari Sepanggar Island with us. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day with us and our friendly staff made your visit pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2018 via mobile

This beach paradise is managed well as it seems to have preserved what is essential for a nature island, the corals, the trees, the sand, the people. This is the place ideal for honeymoon, family or barkada gatherings, and major forms of water recreation.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DocHLagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CharlesKok, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mari Mari Sepanggar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Hi DocHLagon,

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your day with us and giving us a perfect rating. Your positive comments will definitely motivate us to do our best for our guests. We hope to welcome you back to Mari-Mari Sepanggar Island in the near future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews