We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Promenade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Promenade Hotel
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Please avoid Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu by any chance. Based on my personal experience during my stay at this hotel, they have poor service and dishonest staffs. I lost my belongings in my hotel room and I was 200% certain my belongings were there. After contacting the hotel multiple times, they insist they did not find my belongings in my hotel room and refused to give me a proper explanation. I'm horrified with their irresponsible and dishonest staffs.

Do not trust their website's room photos because the actual room was old and dirty. The furniture has started to have discoloration and they are still using those old box TV. Receptionists were unhelpful and impolite. My friend even had diarrhea after having dinner buffet at their cafe.

Maybe they USED TO BE a reputable hotel long time ago but from my personal experience, this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I am extremely disappointed with this so-called 4-star hotel and I do not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel if you have a choice.
I would rather pay more for a better quality hotel than having my holiday ruined.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Melanie765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    229
    146
    40
    27
See reviews for
78
107
34
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Basically, this is a good hotel. Basically clean and nice, comfy beds. I just have problem because there isn't a hose near to the toilet bowl, which would be a great convenience to Muslim travellers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Go for upper floor rooms. We stayed at the fifth floor and the view was terrible.

If swimming pool and wireless internet connection are your top requirement, better look for other hotels. The swimming pool was still under renovation. From my point view as a building construction contractor, it will take them another,at least, 3months to complete.

With there room rates that they are charging, it is advisable to check out the other inns around town. I noticed that some of the inns looked great.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank longkau2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Malacca, Malaysia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The location is very strategic. It is very near to major landmarks, eateries and shopping centers. However, the some of the staff especially the concierge has certain air of aloofness in them. Their toilets are not functioning properly. After a request for a change of room, the same problem occurred. We have trouble flushing the toilet!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheronlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wimborne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

5 star facilities with 4 star price. Buffet breakfast and dinner, outstanding. Luxurious catering. Staff outstandingly dressed appearance. Overly helpful, nothing was any trouble and all very friendly and overtly efficient. 3 stays here. Youi couldn't ask for a more better positioned, up market rooms or food with outstanding decor and efficiently run establishment. Reasonable priced room. Nothing is too much trouble for none here at this beautifully polished hotel.
Thank you. We stayed here December 2011 and arrived for the third time Christmas day. wonderful. The carol singers in the lobby and decorations and festive spirit made this a home from home occasion for us British holiday makers with no pressure. fantastic!,

Room Tip: None. Expectations will be exceeded
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caringk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
1.1 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.3 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.4 km away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel

Property: Promenade Hotel
Address: Promenade Hotel No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3 | Api-Api Centre, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): $78 - $138
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Promenade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Promenade Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing