We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 76
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Hotels.com
USD 76
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/21
Agoda.com
USD 40
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUSD 49
PricelineUSD 46
TravelocityUSD 76
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
953 results
Traveller rating
271
473
158
37
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
271
473
158
37
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya street walking distance buffet breakfast filipino market floor bathtub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 953 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2019

The location was great as it was within the center of Kota Kinabalu and everything was within walking distance. The room was great, huge and comfortable king size bed but the layout was a bit odd. It was nice that my room was facing sea, but I couldn't get the vista view as it was obstructed by the post office. Breakfast was average.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munirahr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location, right near Gaya Street, a few minutes walk from the waterfront. Lots of restaurants near by.
The hotel rooms are good sized, you get complimentary toiletries, robes and slippers. Beds are good size.
There is a pool on the 6th floor with a view and towels to use.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice for everyone.
Staff really friendly and very helpful.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.
All in all a great stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank WiganAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HH_Communications, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Dear WiganAli,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us at Horizon Hotel.

We are thrilled to receive your compliments and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your recommendation on Horizon Hotel is greatly appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Warm regards from Sabah, Borneo ~ Land Below The Wind,
Horizon Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019

Central located hotel.
Good modern rooms, with good wi fi.
Modern new bathrooms.
An ok breakfast. Breakfast has an egg station.
Good friendly staff.
Located right across the street from the worth seeing Sunday markets.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2019

We stayed here and each end of our tour. The location was great, it was nice having the street markets just across the street. A great place to exchange money just down the road, and a convenience store across. Clean bathrooms, comfortable beds. The rooms are a touch on the dark side, but that's being extra picky. Breakfast was nice with lots of options.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kay_fitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HH_Communications, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2019

Dear Madam,

Greetings from Horizon Hotel, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah!

Many thanks for the recommendation in your review. Much appreciated.
As you mentioned we are in a great location and we agree that is indeed a very walk-able city.

Thank you for drawing our attention to your thoughts on our room and breakfast. Your comments have been highlighted to the relevant departments.

We hope to see you back with us again in the too distant future.

Best regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2019

We were put up one night by SIngapore Airlines and I likely wouldn't stay again when in KK. The room just didn't feel clean at all. The carpet was stained and the wooden tub in the bathroom was very black in spots. The room had an awkward low table that was too large for the space. The pool was quite unappealing and not somewhere where I'd spend any amount of time. Had a massage at the spa that was great. Dinner at the Asian restaurant attached to the hotel was very good, however breakfast was very mediocre at best.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank brently55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews