We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you want a vacation to remember then Hibiscus...”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa from Air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk Front of Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk
Front of Villa
Pool from Gazebo
Pool 4
Pool
Pool 2
Entrance Hall
Living Area Downstairs
Living Area Upstairs
Living Area Mezzanine
Bedroom 2
Bedroom Master
Kitchen
Dining Area 2
Dining Area
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Pool and Entrance Hall at Night
BBQ and Dining Gazebos
Sea from Upstairs Living Area
Pool 3
Villa and Beach from Air
Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District, West Coast Division, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
kseoul
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
“If you want a vacation to remember then Hibiscus Villa is a place you don't want to miss.”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Hibiscus Villa is truly a unique place in that you can stay in absolute luxury and feel one with nature at the same time. We stayed for a week with our six kids, ages twelve to 18 months, and still the kids can't stop asking when we are going back.

There were plenty of activities for all. It was a perfect balance of relaxing on the beach and at the house and yet still going on some sort of outing every day. Over the week we went on a boat ride through the Mangroves, hiked through the jungle, hiked around the inlets of the coast line, visited the local towns and a longhouse, snorkeled, and even went with a local to help work in the rice fields. The local woman showed my older girls how to harvest tapioca and sugar cane as well. It was a fabulous experience.

Don't miss out on Chef Jay's cooking as it was the perfect way to connect with this new paradise we had entered. Each evening was a new Malaysian dish, the best fish I've ever tasted, and some new fruit I'd never seen before. We had Chef Jay teach us how to make some traditional dishes and I feel like the food we ate throughout the week was a big part of connecting us to the local culture. We felt healthier leaving than we did coming--not often the benefit of a vacation!

One more important thing to mention is the beach. The water was clear and it was completely untouched. There was not another soul on it--not as far as one could see. It was really a once in a lifetime experience to swim in the sun and rain on our own beach. Hibiscus Villa was a vacation we will talk about forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review Kimberly. We are so pleased that you really 'experienced' the local culture and we would love to have you back some time!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobAts
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very peaceful abd beautiful location to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This was our first trip to the Kudat Riviera region of north Borneo, and this very large open plan villa is in an excellent location with lovely beaches, coastal scenery and small peaceful villages. With the full assistance of the Hibiscus team, we hired a motor scooter that was pre-loaded on the Navara vehicle that transferred us from KK airport. The quiet coastal roads were ideal for scootering around, and the meals that were prepared for us each evening were terrific - Chef Jay and his wife are highly recommended!! There is no Internet or mobile coverage at the house, but mobile range was very good less than 5 minutes up the hill by scooter, and there was free WiFi at the beach side "Tip Top" cafe and wine bar, which is about 10 minutes by scooter from the villa (this informal small cafe-style restuarant is run by Howard, who greets guests at their Hibiscus arrival for showing around the villa). There is also a guard at the gate, whose main duty is to ensure the villa's complicated power system is running - both mains and generator) All in all we had a very delightful 3 days, and we could have easily stayed for another 2-3 days if we had had the time to do so. Well worth the 3 hour drive from KK airport, because the local MAS commuter flight options to Kudat airport are very limited (not every day).

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool and evening meals
Liked least: Managing the power system
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEFender
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Private stunning location”
Reviewed 1 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Upon arrival at Hibiscus we were greeted by the staff and by Howard the property manager who gave us a quick run down of the house and things to do in the area.

The house is stunning with an infinity pool and lots of spots to just sit and relax.
The private beach was stunning too and an adventure to get to along a windy bushy path. Lots of mozzies though on the way there.

The chef Jay was amazing. We enjoyed his meals very much.
Howard took us to Kudat and we hit the market and bought all the weird and wonderful fruits and vegetables specific to the region such as Tarap fruit and a type of Jackfruit endemic to Borneo. Hmmm... but we weren't able to match Jay's cooking skills so he cooked for us most nights. In retrospect we would have loved to have done a cooking course with him.

Howard was fantastic and helped us with everything. He organized a bush walk for us and set up his mozzie-screened hammock for one of us to sleep in in the bushes outside the Villa and he gave us the tour of Kudat.
Howard also runs the Tip Top restaurant at the tip of Borneo, only 5 minutes from Hibiscus. There is wifi avaiable at Tip Top though it can be slow at times. Cold beers and a small but nice menu are also available at Howard's restaurant. Try the local ceviche or the Ikan Bilis as a snack with a cold beer...

There are a lot of stunning bays a only drive away from the Villa.
Renting a car is a must - we rented two sedans in KK for 6 of us and this worked out really well. The roads are pretty good so no need for a 4wd unless you really want to go bush.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house is designed for relaxing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HongKong0...
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa in a remote, stunning spot”
Reviewed 29 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A group of friends with young children - 1 to 3 years, stayed for a week. Beautiful villa. Very good for children. Take advantage of the chef as he produced many wonderful meals. A very beautiful area. Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remote beaches
Liked least: No internet access
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London / Malaysia
Reviewed 4 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Luxury, Privacy, Peace
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing