We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect!

Open water course with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife. Jack was a super helpful and professional... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2020
JSJ0689
great vibe

We did our OWC here with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife at Gaya Island, and just a few weeks after, we... read more

Reviewed 24 September 2020
4T2GO
Read all 1,489 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kota Kinabalu
from USD 53.39
More Info
from USD 700.00
More Info
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveller rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,361
102
16
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya island dive center open water scuba diving these guys dive course fish fun dives whole team went smoothly kinabalu climb sea life great company booking process kinabalu park instructor kerry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2019

The dive company is very attentive and I really liked that they broke our group into advanced and open water divers.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Asahi2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Hi Asahi2006, thank you for your review! We always want to provide the best experience for our clients and we know how to do that because we are all divers and travellers ourselves. We provide 1 instructor per maximum of 4 divers and since we are island based we have the resources to split the diver experience level to maximise enjoyment. Thanks again, we look forwards to welcoming you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

This is our third activity with this company downbelow , well organized and good value
Arranged for all transportation to and from site
Special notice to lulu for engaging orientation and Jack for being our enthusiastic snorkelling leader

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank chrissN3454MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Hi chrissN3454MH, thank you for choosing us over and over again - it is always a pleasure to welcome you back to our dive center. Glad that you had another awesome time with Lulu and Jack. We will be looking forward to your next return to our dive center!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2019 via mobile

One of the best things about Downbelow Dive Resort is it’s accessibility. You fly into Kota Kinabalu and it’s right there ... just a short ferry ride to Manukan Island in the Tunka Abdul Rahman Marine Nature Reserve. How the water stays so clean so near to a big town is a mystery! Staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed 6 dives over 2 days. We were in a different place every dive and never spent more than 10 mins on the boat! It was very convenient. In terms of fish .. perhaps we didn’t see that much but we did see 2 turtles and lots of coral and all the little fish that live around corals. But all in all it was a great relaxing weekend with beautiful sunsets and very pleasant and friendly people! The accommodation on Manukan Island was marvellous too

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank SingaporeFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2019 via mobile

I joined Snorkeling Safari 1 day tour few days prior to the booking date. I must say the whole experience with Downbelow had been absolutely nothing but high praise.

It started off with booking via their website. Booking and payment was quite straight forward. Invoice is sent to your email with follow up questions about your hotel details and health questions before taking in “somewhat” dangerous activities in snorkeling. (Obviously, snorkel is not dangerous but it’s standard health questionnaire so tour is not liable if your health condition became an issue while on tour).

After providing information to the company, a personalize trip itinerary with activities detail and timeline is sent via PDF to you. This is my first observation of outstanding customer services sign which I have not seen by other tour operators. I can print it out and exactly know what to do or bring prior even being picked up.

Hotel Pick Up:

The approximately pick up time was noted on the personal trip itinerary mentioned earlier. I waited at the hotel
Lobby and before pick up schedules time. However, when pick up time was reached, I did not see car. Just when I thought about contacting tour operator’s local Malaysia number, my US mobile phone rang. I had provided Mobile numbers when they sent follow up questions. I didn’t think they would call an international number but they did. They mentioned car is running 5 minutes late due to heavy pick up prior to my hotel (last pickup). Pickup did come within 5 minutes windows. Again, another praise for customer services notifying customer if there are any problem.

Ferry Ride:

There are 3 vehicles picking up guests from the area so we had to wait few more minutes at the jetty area. Once guests are all accounted for, boat left on time and transferred everyone to the “base camp” at the Gaya Island. It was quick 10 to 15 minutes speed boat ride.

Gaya Island Based Camp:

This is what impressed me because the tour operator had a private jetty and small beach area on the south side of Gaya Island. I didn’t feel like I was cattle call into crowded tourist center similar to the problems now at the Sapi Island and Manukan Island. All of us, snorkeling guests and diving guests reached about same time in the morning around 9:30am. Once we reached the based camp, snorkel guests are grouped together and 2 snorkel guides are assigned and introduced to the group. Equipment(snorkel, mask, fin etc..) also is retrieved from the based camp equipment counter. They do have cold water machine which you can fill your water bottle with cold water.

Base camp facility also has male and female toilets and coupe outdoor showers.

There are some shelf space where you can leave your bags while out for trips.

Snorkeling

All day tour included 3 snorkel trips. Basically, you go to snorkel sites near the based camp for 40 to 50 minutes each trip then come back to based camp for rest. This is very well done and professionalism is outstanding. For each snorkel trip, there is a pre snorkel trip briefing explaining what site and where is located in relation to the based camp. Also, what type of underwater sea creatures we expected or would be surprise to see. Do and Don’ts etc...

Most of snorkel tours I had been in Southeast Asia had not experience this level of details and information provided. Most of time, you get on a boat with others, the boat drops you off at each site then move on to next one without much of explanation.


2 snorkeling guides are accompanied guest group for each trip. Both of them are in the water, one is leading and one is staying behind to ensure all guests are accounted for and no one gets left behind. For my snorkeling date, I was fortunately enough to spot reef shark, sea turtle, etc.. on each trip. Kudo to the guide as they seem to know where to find fish and what area to take us.

After 2nd trip, everyone (diving and snorkeling guests) came back to the base camp for lunch. Lunch meal was great but it did not have many choices. However, I wasn’t here for nice meal anyway so it wasn’t any issue for me. After lunch, we all went out to the last trip either snorkeling or dive.

Return home and Drop Off:

After 3rd trips, everyone came back to base camps to change clothes, shower, or take a nap etc....all guests then were transferred back to mainland.

Overall, outstanding services, and superb professionalism I haven’t seen anywhere else. I will definitely return next time to earn diving certificate.

Date of experience: April 2019
4  Thank globetrekker_3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Hi globetrekker_3086, thank you SO MUCH for your comprehensive review of your program with us! We are passionate about what we do and will not spare any details to create the best holiday package for you. Every effort is worthwhile if it means we can deliver the best service to all of our clients. We will be sure to share your wonderful thoughts about us to the entire team and we would love to be able to welcome you again for more Adventures in Borneo in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2019 via mobile

Had a great experience getting my 2 day advanced open water certification with down below. Crazy jack was my instructor and he ensured I got all the information I needed. He had a great positive character and made me laugh constantly. The premises have a gorgeous view and the staff run the place professionally.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank 633joshuaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKRichard, Owner at Adventures in Borneo with Downbelow Marine & Wildlife, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Hi 633joshua, congratulations on your Advanced Open Water certification! It is always fun to have Jack around, he sure can infect people with his happy personality while still being professional in sharing his knowledge and passion. Thank you for your lovely review, hope to welcome you for more dives at our dive centers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews