We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 240
USD 170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jen Penang(George Town)
USD 103
USD 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
USD 133
USD 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 69
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/08
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 156
USD 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
USD 154
USD 121
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 77
USD 46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royale Chulan Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
USD 67
USD 62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Terraces(George Town)
USD 284
USD 278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/07
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
54
22
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
22
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfemale dormcurtain for privacymixed dormclean bathroomgood sizelove lanebedsgeorgetownjettypenangwifikomtarasiacleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Friendly and helpful staff, cosy common room, clean bathroom and comfy bed. It's a bit out of centre but really nice for those who seeks some peaceful night with a walking distance to the downtown. Wifi is quite slow, but it's ok!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Goongging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Read the reviews before booking the hostel for 2 nights, in the female dorm. If you like a bit of a crowd, go for the mixed dorm. I came with the least expectation and it greatly surpassed it!

Toasts, coffee and tea are provided but I never ate there - always have food around early in the morning in Penang. Within 5 mins, you will get to see some street stalls.. such as wanton mee!

Also read about the cleanliness in the hotel not being great but for the price, I thought it was okay! Toilets in Asia often combined toilet with bath, and when I used it over the couple of days, they were pleasant. I only wish they have it upstairs too so I wouldn't have to come down to use it during the night time!

Bed was comfortable, air con was cold (but they adjusted it the next night). I like the privacy curtain. Walls are thin but I read it's a common problem in Penang! Locker is a good size, can contain a cabin luggage/backpack. Towels can be rented.

Staff were friendly, also allowed me to leave my bags in the room locker when I arrived earlier than check in time that day. Lounge area is also great to have some chats with fellow travellers!

Location-wise, it's in between Komtar (10-15mins) and the centre of George Town. There is not much nightlife around this area but still pretty safe to walk back I thought. It's a quick walk over to the Jetty clan area too and it is where a good amount of art murals are!

Wouldn't mind coming back again for sure!

Room Tip: Private double room (with shared bath) costs only twice the dorm bed! If only I knew earlier!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyPotatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

hostel is in a good location, staff are polite and helpful. stayed in a mixed dorm and the layout of the rooms are good each bed sectioned off by a curtain to add privacy. does get a little warm but there are a few small fans available. breakfast facilities are good, toast, coffee, tea all day. The showers are not the cleanest but have seen worse. Our only major problem during our stay was that the other guests in the room we're so noisy at like 1.30am which is inconsiderate but no real fault of the hostel. decent stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Before I came here, i found this hostel online. Was thinking that how noob is the hostel. Well, guess what, it wasnt turned up what you think. It's just simply hostel but great accommodation. I like the room design and the furniture that they choose (but the bed kind of hard). You feel like you're home. You have 3 free meal.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Edwinson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Great hostel with a great location. Staff were very friendly and happy to help with any problems. Clean and tidy. Beds were very cool and provide privacy. Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank OGravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews