We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused by other reviews...”
Review of Hotel Mingood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mingood
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I knew this was not the Four Seasons from the reviews but we took a chance anyway. Really nice and helpful staff, but the hotel has definitely seen better days. Dirty comforters and patched up sheets are where your at with this place. No WIFI on our floor so we had to move, no big deal, but we had to look a the room first to make sure it was habitable after arriving at 1am the previous night and having to move then because the room was too dirty. Location is ok, and the roof "garden" is nice enough. I would NOT pay the going rate at this place however, for the same price you could stay at a Motel 6 or something comparable in the states, and at least it would be relatively new. I suppose it all boils down to taste, and what you expect for your hard earned ringitt. Plus our emailed request (at least a month prior to arrival) for a triple room with a balcony was ignored, even though we received assurance that all was taken care of. Live and learn.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank j2dread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mingood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 149 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Mingood from 04 to 08 February 2012. Enjoyed our stay here. It's an older hotel and starting to show its age in the faded furniture and some water staining on the walls. However, we were only here for sleeping, and didn't spend that much time in the Hotel.
The price included a substantial continental breakfast up on their rooftop terrace, which was very adequate.
Our room was at the front of the hotel. Lots of street noises, but we usually sleep with foamy type ear plugs, and no real noise penetrated our sleep.
The room was huge, a/c, mini fridge, full bathroom and shower. Totally adequate for our needs.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.
It's a bit off the main tourist street of Jalan Penang, but an easy 8 minute walk to the free shuttle bus.
We had a great time in Georgetown, Penang and staying at the Hotel Mingood helped with our having a great time.

Room Tip: Wear foamy type ear plugs for a sound nights sleep, as street noises penetrate the room no matter wh...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Didiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A bit out of the way from the main road and away from the main shopping centre but that did not bother me.

However, it is in a quieter area and back street away from shops and restaurants. Yu can walk tot these 10 minutes away or so..

Wi Fi was available for me at the time.
There is a lift/elevator in this hotel
TV's a bit old and of the old-box style. May need to upgrade?
I feel the room standard are not quite two stars. See my pic.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegetarian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This is not a budget hotel, but one on the average. The lobby was spacious and had a lot of information about tours which you can book through the reception. The receptionists were kind and helpful. Checking in and out was a breeze, and we were also being offered a call for taxi which came in 5 minutes.

The room itself was spacious and clean, although some furniture was a little too old. You could see torn marks on the sofa and blanket. And the air-cond made a lot of sound when turned on. But it is still a comfortable place to stay in. There is no smell in the room or the en-suite bathroom. No sign of pests or mildew. The TV has sports channel among other national channels and a movies channel. Wifi was available all the time although there was a little hiccup in connecting at first. Breakfast was basic continental, but I was surprised to see proper muesli being served.

All and all, I would come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlennaBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

we had 4 days to look around,needed some where to stay & close to transport & food.this hotel has big rooms. bath with shower over. breakfast on 5 th floor, included, basic, add a doller or two to the breakfast staff for eggs & or sausages. all staff went out of their way to help.

Room Tip: all have good air con, all quiet
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ausiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 km away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#34 of 85 in George Town
362 reviews
1.2 km away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#52 of 85 in George Town
115 reviews
0.6 km away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#35 of 85 in George Town
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
#37 of 85 in George Town
1,314 reviews
1.4 km away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#56 of 85 in George Town
39 reviews
1.3 km away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#49 of 85 in George Town
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mingood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mingood

Address: Hotel Mingood Jalan Argyll, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: $24 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mingood 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, stylish hostel living at the most affordable price! 5 star quality hostel! Located just a 2 minute walk to the chic area of the city! We are a licensed accommodation provider where secure quality accommodation and excellent services are our top priority. Free WI-FI, ISIC card welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mingood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingood Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Mingood Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing