We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,167)
Filter reviews
4,168 results
Traveller rating
2,721
957
306
124
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,721
957
306
124
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew wingplanters loungevictory annexesarkies cornercorner suiteinfinity poollone pinebutler servicecocktail hourold world charmsea viewbeautiful hoteloriginal buildingcolonial stylehigh teahuge bathroomstraits quay
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 4,168 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Stayed for 2 nights in the new wing. Large room, quiet, impeccable staff.
Food for breakfast is extensive and good quality. The 5-6pm complimentary drinks and snacks is nice to relax at. Be mindful however that you'll be amongst many Western foreigners and all gunning for the alcohol. Not meant as an overly negative comment, but if you're not in the mood for hanging with a crowd...

It's near enough to the city center that you can even walk there. Will definitely come back again.

I would suggest that the hotel talk to Grab and update pickup/dropoff points. The cabs were always good at finding the new side for pickup, but always drove to the old side for dropoff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rycsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOHPenang, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Eastern & Oriental Hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your 2 nights stay in the Victory Annexe wing, including the breakfast and impeccable service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We have recently returned from our sixth holiday at this wonderful hotel. We stayed for over three weeks in the Victory Annexe and as usual all aspects of our stay were amazing from check-in at our arrival to the much appreciated farewell when we left. Our room was spotlessly clean with that amazing view and beautiful bathroom...so comfortable.

Breakfast at both the Planters Lounge and Sarkies was great, with plenty of variety. We are still loving the banana roti. Staff in all areas went out of their way to be helpful and to accommodate our needs.

A special mention to David, Faizul and all of the staff at the Planters Lounge. You made our cocktail hour very special indeed.

We had many laughs with Josman at the Heritage Pool. Thanks for looking after us so well. There are many others who made our stay so special, however,there are too many to mention here!

There is also a beautiful pool on the sixth floor of the Victory Annexe which has amazing views over the sea. Perfect spot to watch the cruise ships coming and going.

My review would not be complete without mentioning the spa. My husband and I both enjoyed their signature massages and we would thoroughly recommend a visit whilst you are staying at the hotel.

Overall, we had a extremely enjoyable and luxurious stay and we are already planning our next visit. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynJohnNelsonbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOHPenang, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for returning to stay with us again on your 6th visit and the time taken to share your stay experience. It is wonderful to hear that your holiday was a perfect and extremely enjoyable one and thank you for making special mention. It gives us great pleasure to know that you would be planning a return and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Fascinating hotel and history, but did not do it for us. Stayed in the Heritage Wing, which was just too old fashioned and out of date. Rooms dark and old, although had all the amenities. Restaurants old fashioned and service just OK. The Victory wing is probably the place to stay, as this is a modern, attractive tall building alongside the Heritage Wing.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael-Webber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOHPenang, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to pass on your feedback in regards to your recent stay. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations in some areas. As we exercise continuous improvement, we have taken note of your feedback in regards to areas that require greater attention. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future to experience the Victory Annexe Wing.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Beautiful room overlooking the sea. Spacious bedroom, comfortable bed and pillows. Balcony present. Bathroom is so nice and big. Hotel also has beautiful architecture, and nice amenities such as two pools and the planters lounge. Service was impeccable. Food was very good, and they serve free flowing alcohol and finger food every 5pm for guests. Moreover, hotel is close to a lot of the sights, and a hawker center in case the guest wants to try local delicacies. As an added bonus, for Catholics, the Church of the Assumption is walking distance. Overall, a great staycation!

Room Tip: facing the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LesY965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOHPenang, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and the time taken to share your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that overall you had a great stay, enjoyed the facilities and the impeccable service. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The hotel offers rooms in either the heritage or, newer, Victory Annexe. We opted for the latter and were pleased with our choice. The rooms are spacious and the pool and bar/restaurant on the 6th floor are lovely. The daily cocktail hour provides complimentary drinks/food and is about the only time we saw many residents gathered in one place. The hotel is a very popular venue for weddings and conferences and, when these are going on (there were several during our stay) it can restrict access to some of the areas. The buffet dining at Sarkie's Corner was very popular and looked to be good value. Unfortunately, we were put off by the big crowds and rather casual attire of most of the diners (we were surprised that a dress code was not enforced here for evening). We were not overly smart ourselves but would have still felt overdressed! There are other dining options that are more tranquil and the food was good everywhere. The staff at the hotel are all lovely. We had been under the impression that a shuttle bus operated to a sister hotel at the beach but were told this no longer applies as the other hotel has been sold. We were a bit disappointed by this but it is very easy to travel around Penang and we found the hop-on hop-off 3 day bus pass worked very well. Penang Hill was well worth the visit. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ironically, the Victory Annexe offers more hotel amenities than upgrading to a heritage room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EOHPenang, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you indeed for staying with us and the time taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and it would be a pleasure to have you with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews