We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nyonya Cooking Made Easy”

Penang Homecooking School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sign up for my cooking classes and learn secrets and tips for authentic Malaysian cooking. Daily classes except Sunday is in my home. Visit the market and learn to use fresh produce. You prepare and eat together with other food obsessed people! .
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was our second visit to Pearly Kee's Home Cooking School and we were not disappointed. The day starts with the pick up from your accommodation and an RV with Pearly at the local morning market. This in itself is worth the cost as not only are you experiencing local sounds and tastes you are also getting Pearly's wealth of information on the various uses of local produce as well as the health benefits of herbs and spices. After the market tour which takes around 45 minutes it is back to Pearly's place to get down to some serious Nyonya cooking under the expert guidance of Pearly who not only makes it interesting but also fun. Menus differ on this visit we cooked Beef Rendang, Arabian Almond Chicken Curry (delicious) and Prawns in a fresh spice paste all of which was our lunch. Throughout the visit Pearly is assisted by Chandra her husband who does a great job at keeping the cold water drinks flowing as well as preparing the rice and nutmeg cordial to go with the cooked dishes. A great day and a great activity to do whilst here in Penang.

Thank jackw53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Jack, Margaret, Jules and Daisy,

Seeing you again is the highlight of the day. Daisy has grown, so lovely to see she actually lvoes cooking and love Asian food.

Chandra and I are so pleased all of you enjoyed the class even though it is the second time around. Will see you again soon.

Eat more veggies ya!

Pearly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"her husband"
in 101 reviews
"market tour"
in 89 reviews
"cooking class"
in 172 reviews
"wet market"
in 74 reviews
"health benefits"
in 32 reviews
"nyonya cooking"
in 28 reviews
"home cooking"
in 21 reviews
"cooking lesson"
in 19 reviews
"great teacher"
in 22 reviews
"delicious dishes"
in 15 reviews
"otak otak"
in 16 reviews
"herbs and spices"
in 14 reviews
"lovely home"
in 11 reviews
"beef rendang"
in 22 reviews
"string hoppers"
in 9 reviews
"curry kapitan"
in 9 reviews
"cook book"
in 8 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We loved the market tour to learn about all the locally grown ingredients. Pearly was very well organised and patient, giving clear instructions with good humour. The results were more than flattering of our cooking abilities! Highly recommended.

Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Brian and Mary,

Both of you are awesome cooks though you refuse to admit, ha ha. Mary does alot of cooking as far as I can see and seeing how trim both of you are, I can see why.

Thank you for coming and experience our kind of cooking. Hope to see both of you again. Thanks for purchasing both books.

Pearly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had booked our visit to Pearly's Market Tour and Cooking Class weeks in advance and our anticipation grew as the day drew closer. And we were not disappointed! Pearly herself picked up our group of four from our hotel and took us on a Market Tour where she escorted our class of eight around the market pointing out the familiar and the strange while extolling the virtues and health properties of each. Her knowledge and obvious love affair with food is prodigious! Once our Market Tour was over we were taken to Pearly's home where we learnt how to make Roti Chanai, Ayam Masek Merah and Char Keoy Teoh. Pearly's classroom was well equipped and we all cooked our own meal under her patient and encouraging tutelage. As they say, the proof of the pudding is in the eating, and Wow! we were all pretty proud of our end results. Pearly's husband Chandra also helped and kept us all well hydrated as we worked and learnt the art of just a few Nyonya recipes which I can see becoming firm favorites of us all in the future.
We can all heartily recommend Pearly's Cooking Classes. A truly memorable and enjoyable experience. Thank you so much Pearly! You are a legend!

Thank Stevenpeg1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dearest Bev and Stephen,

I love all of you the minute I met you. It was like old friends meeting up. Chandra and I had an awesome time with you guys. Thank you for being so attentive and allow me to shine.

You pass making the Roti, isn't that great!

Hope to see you again SOOOON!

Pearly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Today I joined three of my family to attend Pearly’s home cooking class in Georgetown. The vivacious Pearly picked us up from our hotel & we were driven to the local market to meet up with another four students who had been collected by Pearly’s husband Chandra. Pearly is so knowledgeable regarding local fruit & vegetables & their restorative powers as well as different ways of using them in cooking. We finished the market tour with a couple of delicious sweet snacks & then headed to Pearly’s lovely home where our work benches were set up under a very cool veranda. Our class today was Penang street food & we learnt the secrets of a Char Koay Teow, a beautiful Red Chicken curry & Roti Canai. Pearly demystifies these classic dishes & I can’t wait to try them at home.
It was a fabulous day & next time I come to Penang I will definitely join another class to learn more of Malaysia’s wonderful food. Thank you Pearly & Chandra.

Thank BevKalamunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dearest Bev,

Love you, love you, love you. Chandra and I too, had the most enjoyable time with all of you.

Missing you heaps already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This was one of the best cooking classes we've attended so far.
From the Market tour in the beginning (with all the snacks we could try) over the cooking and the amazing recipes to enjoying the cooked lunch all together everything was perfect and lots of fun.
Pearly makes every recipe easy and shows a lot of good tricks for the kitchen. She obviously enjoys teaching and always has a smile for everyone.
Thank you Pearly, this was such a cool day and we loved the food we cooked! We tried a few more cooking classes around, but this one was definitely THE BEST.

Thank Travel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for the kind review. Both of you totally were to glued to the cooking class. Something every teacher would love to have.

You made it easy for me to guide you. Thank you for coming. Enjoy the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penang Homecooking School also viewed

 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Penang Homecooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing