We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 2:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
AMAZING COOKING CLASS! MUST DO IN PENANG!

We had an amazing morning with Pearly. Super fun and we learn some delightful dishes. Her kitchen... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
candela f
A Culinary Delight with Pearly's Nyonya Cooking Class

I recently attended Pearly's Nyonya cooking class, and it was an absolute delight! Pearly, our... read more

Reviewed 22 January 2024
Gary WH H
Read all 753 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Penang Island
from AU$182.13
More Info
from AU$188.48
More Info
from AU$137.62
More Info
from AU$46.80
More Info
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
717
29
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
717
29
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market tour cooking class wet market local market nyonya cooking cooking experience beef rendang great teacher cooking tips curry kapitan otak otak prawns delicious dishes garden tour learn how local ingredients from scratch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We found Pearly's home cooking school via a Malaysian colleague who sent a link to her site - and aren't we glad we did! Being avid home cooks we have however always found Asian cooking a challenge , so a possibility to learn from a professional sounded just what we needed.
Huge plus here was also the possibility to choose ourselves what to cook; among > 20 dishes we had difficulties choosing only the recommended 2-3, so ended up with 4...
The day started with a tour in a wet market, tasting and buying some interesting things. This was however completely up to us, nothing was 'forced upon' us. Then we were taken to Pearly's and Chandra's lovely big house in a suburb, where the first thing we did was to pick up some fresh herbs and leaves from her garden. The the cooking started; peeling, chopping, dicing, pureeing, frying, wrapping, sauteeing... All the ingredients were fresh and 'from the scratch', even water chestnuts were fresh chestnuts we had to first wash, peel and dice, rather than a tinned variety! Our four dishes were duck stew with potatoes in an aromatic spice mix, otak-otak wrapped in banana leaves, five-spice pork wrapped in bean curd and deep-fried and assam laksa. The last was one we were slightly worried about first, as we had had it only few days before in Kuala Lumpur and found it a bit too pungent and sour to our taste. But no worries, once we told that to Pearly, she happily adviced us to tone down the amount of shrimp paste, to introduce us to the taste gradually. And it worked, it was sooo much better than the one in the restaurant!
After cooking all dishes, we had a sumptuous lunch - and because there was so much leftovers, she kindly packed it in tubs for us to take away with us. As we stayed in a holiday house with full cooking facilities, we enjoyed the food over that evening and the next day and certainly extended our experience further...
I can't recommend this cooking experience highly enough for anyone who loves to cook and cherishes the opportunity to experience a truly personal lesson with an excellent teacher in lovely environment.

Date of experience: April 2012
2  Thank teijap2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

One of the loveliest thing sharing our heritage food is lovers of good food. You certainly are a great couple, so enthusiastically happy when there is cooking to be done. I love the fact you take note of everything I share with you. Chandra and I had an awesome time with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Chandra and pearly picked us up from our heritage hotel to take us back to their lovely house just out of the centre of George town.
What a lovely couple . The six of us... Four young Adults ( 18, 19, 22, 26) my daughters and their boyfriends and my husband and I.
Chandra regaled us with stories of his luck at meeting pearly and being able to marry her all those years ago. Pearly made friends with the kids in the other car.. With her direct and humorous observations of life.. Bringing the kids amazingly to ease.
The house has two outside cooking areas in the loggia.
Here we started preparing the food earlier negotiated for our children's more western palettes.
None of the kids really cooks at home... Butter chicken, varieties of roti, a prawn dish, curried eggs, curry puffs , potato Marsala... All chopped and prepared by us .. With an ever present Pearly darting here and there... Saving our egos ...teasing the food to perfection. She told us good stories of how failure makes for better success... She also told us stories of penangs history, parenting, and her own family with delightful candour and humour. , Chandra was there all the time backing up his beloved Pearly.
We love the both of them
This was such an amazing end to our stay in Penang... Very highly recommended for fun and real fushion food... Away from the heat and dirt of hawkers stands....

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank gurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Gosh your kids were simply marvelous! They pull my leg so did I.::)) I am glad you enjoy watching your daughter prepping the food. Their boyfriends stick so close to them, they will be all right. Chandra and I still remember the "roti" affair! ::))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

From the first inquires on the internet, Pearly was friendly and obliging. We were not sure what to expect, but from our market tour and shopping for cooking ingredients to preparing our Nyonya banquet we had a FANTASTIC time with Pearly and Chandra.

As well as enjoying a great meal we learned several techniques and cooking tips. We would be so bold as to say a trip to Penang would not be complete without a cooking class with Pearly!

More than just visiting the city as tourists we experienced some of the essence and depth of culture Penang has to offer. Pearly and Chandra were more than willing and capable to help and guide us with where we should go and what we should see and do.
At all times Pearly and Chandra created a memorable experience that will stay with us always. We have recommended them to other friends back home and they have also had similar experiences.

Date of experience: January 2012
Thank LorneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

I still laugh when i remember our time going to Bujang valley. It was hilarious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a great morning cooking with Pearly. Great advantage is that everyone makes each dish, so you really get a lot of practice in the recipes. We learned some good techniques for curry's which are hard to pick up from a recipe. Pearly and her husband are very nice people and the house they give the lessons in has a great vibe.
Using the recipes without her guidance might require some skill, so we made sure to make some notes.

Date of experience: April 2012
Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Wow, the vib at our house is good, first time someone commented. Thank you for that. We always felt the zen is good. ::)) Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We attended Pearly and Chandra's Nyonya cooking class at the Spice Garden. It was a wonderful morning which culminated in a fantastic meal. Pearly made us feel at ease right away and stepped us through the recipes. We are pretty novice cooks but Pearly made us feel like we were cooking with her in her own kitchen. It was a privilege to meet Pearly and Chandra and their knowledge of Malaysian cuisine and culture was inspiring. Next time we are back in Penang we will definitely book in for another lesson at your home. Thanks for making our lesson so special and sharing your knowledge.
Sara and Robert

Date of experience: March 2012
Thank 259HappyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PearlyK, Owner at Penang Homecooking School, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you very much for this. You are a model guest of Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews