We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Leeds
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Very nice hotel in a beautiful colonuial building and a great location. The staff were very friendly and all in all very good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    296
    153
    30
    19
See reviews for
110
255
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

If you are looking for a fuss-free, clean and new accommodation in the heart of the city, Chulia Heritage might be the one for you. We were in Penang for a wedding and needed a family room below RM300 in the city centre and Chulia Heritage fits the bill. Our room is quite small with 2 double beds, attached bathroom, flat screen tv mounted to the wall, a mini fridge, a hairdryer, a cupboard, room sleepers, new and fluffy towels, soap bar, body shampoo and tea/coffee making facility.

There are 2 family rooms here, the one with attached batroom is on the ground floor just next to the reception and the one on the top floow will have to use common bathroom.

If you drive, there's ample parking bays. Cafes and restaurants are aplenty along the road.

The few staff I met were young and friendly lot and they will assist you as best as they could.

There's a lounging area with sofas on the front area of the hotel where you can just chill out with a book. Wifi is free and very efficient.

The only downside I would say is if you choose rooms on the ground floor, you might have to endure some noise coming from the wooden floors on the upper floor especially if there are kids on the top floor. But if you need own bathroom, I am not sure if the top floor rooms have it, please check before confirming your booking. Nevertheless, even though there were some foot thumping noises during the day time, we had great sleep on both nites we were there as the mattress and pillows were so fluffy and comfy and the air-conditioning unit worked perfectly.

Room Tip: To avoid foot thumping noises, choose the top floor but you will need to leave your shoes at the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina-NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights and overall quite impressed with this place. Car parks aren't usually occupied as most occupants are overseas travelers. Facade was white and impressive. Its not your usual hotel. Its like a mansion with lots of room with heritage ambiance (high ceiling and structures).

The bedroom was white setting but more importantly, very neat and comfy. Toilet is a small but again very neat and not a problem. (Note: shower will get most of the area wet :)).

Location was superb. Lots of places to walk to and eateries. Near the famous Chendol store and Komtar area. All walking distance.

Staff is quite helpful. Happy to help out when asked.

They provided free wifi services which was a bonus.

Room Tip: Hint: As this is like a mansion , try to get a room with attached bathroom and away from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Some very good things:
- Clean rooms
- Very clean sheets and towels
- Smiling staff and friendly welcome
- We were able to borrow a (tiny) umbrella when it rained

A few things I enjoyed less:
- Shared bathrooms were not very clean; drains didn't all clear quickly; sinks were gross
- Saw people washing their clothes in the shared sink, that shouldn't be allowed
- Old floors = noisy
- Doors slam which is also noisy
- Mattress wasn't great - my husband was sore all day
- I'm not a fan of the "no-shoes" policy in a hotel, but that's just me!

All in all, I think it's a good option for the price range and in light of some of the other places on this street.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceC1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife and I recently stumbled across this hotel looking for something a little better than most of the dives we came across in Georgetown. It was a breath of fresh air after seeing some of the other places in the area. For starters it was clean, which can't be said for many of the other hostels and guesthouses. It was also set back off the road which made it a lot quieter. They have options for most budget ranges; everything from shared bathrooms to private rooms to fit entire families. They had satellite tv with my English channel options and nice hot water bathrooms. My only complaint is that it was a little pricey for SE Asia, but that seems to be the norm in Georgetown. We couldn't find a private bathroom room for less than 75RM anywhere in town. If you are willing to spend a little more, this is definitely a great place to check out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bballbronco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 km away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 km away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.5 km away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#21 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 km away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Property: Chulia Heritage Hotel
Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price range (per night): $24 - $50
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing