We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 233
USD 151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang(George Town)
USD 85
USD 50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
USD 150
USD 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 84
USD 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Jen Penang(George Town)
USD 101
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yeng Keng Hotel(George Town)
USD 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 144
USD 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
USD 134
USD 105
G Hotel Kelawai
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Terraces(George Town)
USD 172
USD 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royale Chulan Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
USD 82
USD 58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
50
28
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
28
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguesthousewifipenangchuliacafe
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2012

big room, quiet night, good sleep,friendly staff, good location

Room Tip: room number 2. upstairs, big room with aircon..quiet as not close to bathroom and at top of guesthouse
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey1986187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on the reccommendation of another traveller. It ended up being a good choice as it was one of the cheapest private rooms we found in Malaysia - only 40RM! We stayed in the fan room which wasn't huge but the bed was comfortable and there was sufficient space for our packs. It was pretty hot in the room but we chose it over the air con room as it was even smaller!

The shared bathrooms were great and had enough showers and toilets. They were always kept clean and the water pressure in the showers was good.

The staff were lovely and always happy to help us. The food in the restuarant was quite good too (we only had breakfast) and had very reasonable prices.

I really think this is one of the best budget options in Georgetown and would recommend it...in a great spot too, right on the main street and excellent wi-fi.

Room Tip: Choose a fan room if you want more space!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sezbo_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

From the 7 or so places stayed in Malaysia this is definrely the best. Very clean, nice staff and good location. Deinitely reccommended

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkrdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was going to spend some nights there but had to cut it short after one night. Here are the reasons:

1. The fan room was hotter than anything else I've seen in SE Asia, which alone would have made it impossible to sleep.

2. This is one of those places where the staff treats it as more like a personal playground than a place of work. They do keep the hostel very tidy, but you can hear them hollering, laughing and whooping at all hours of the day. They always seem to be right outside your door.

The rooms are very noisy in other regards as well; it really is like a herd of elephants passing every time someone goes by. The traffic from the street reaches the rooms late into the night.

3. Worst of all: due to making the mistake of having a drink with ice at a local, I had to go to the toilet as soon as I came back to the hotel - and bad.

Problem was, the girls who work there have made the upstairs toilet/shower room their personal office, so to speak. They were hanging around when I went to get washed up, and were there again.

They made effort to leave when I got in the stall, but just continued babbling and giggling away. Due to the circumstances, my visit was rather noisy, if you catch my drift.

They still didn't leave but rather started mimicking the sounds and giggling uncontrollably and obviously talking about it. Needless to say, it was humiliating.

When I got out, I had a word with them about privacy, but, of course, they'd stopped speaking English altogether.

Still, with all this, it is a better bet than Banana Guest House... My advice though: stay away.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SenorR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stardust has a great location as you can walk to all the main sights, hawkers and shopping. The rooms are quite basic but clean and good value for the price you pay, and the restaurant is great for breakfast. We didn't have an en-suite bathroom so used the shared facilities which were also clean and well maintained. Staff were very helpful and helped us to really enjoy our couple of days in GeorgeTown.

The hotel staff are also great for giving you advice on your onward travel and can book things for you which really helps. I can definitely see why lonely Planet recommends Stardust, a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanspacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews