We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cool, calm oasis in the centre of everything.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stardust Guest House
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I ended up staying at Statdust for 5 nights whilst in Gorgetown. It was clean and the family who owned it were very helpful and friendly.
I had a double room with air con and my own hot shower.
The Guesthouse has a restaurant and offers other services such as trip bookings, visa runs, internet, wifi throughout and laundry.
The location is great, it's about two thirds of the way along Lebuh Chulia near Jalan Penang, o right in the heart of everything. Little India is about 5 mins walk away and Chinatown is on the doorstep.
Even though I went and got my Thai visa myself they were still really helpful in checking my form.
I didn't eat at the Guesthouse mainly cos I wanted to try ALL the hawker foods - no mean feat -but the food looked and smelt good.
Only negative for me was that people can smoke in the restaurant and the smoke did seem to drift everywhere!!
Refreshing to find a place listed in Lonely Planet that has kept up its high standards rather than relying on the listening to maintain trade.
Oh, and the owner even gave me a lift to the ferry - for a small fee!
Highly recommended - as long as you don't mind smoke.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jo_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

Stayed two nights and found this place to be centrally located, good reasonable food, and friendly service. The rooms are a tad pokey but sufficient given you're right in the centre of everything. Warm showers and aircon (optional) are a bonus after a long hot day exploring the busy streets of Georgetown.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethansara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Likes: it was clean, we had free wifi, a hot water shower, and air con for $13 per night. (about 40 ringgit).
Dislikes: Most of my complaints have to do with the particular room we stayed in (#8), so maybe if you stayed in a different room, you'd have a better experience. I don't know. But our room was terrible - it was so tiny that after putting our backpacks down, we had no space to walk at all. We had a shower and a sink, but no toilet in the room - only down the hall. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable and gave me a pinch in my neck that made it impossible to sleep. Finally, it was very noisy - you could hear people stomping around upstairs loud and clear until about 4am. Then at 9am, because our room was right next to the restaurant, we were woken up by the chef chopping food. I think I got about 4 hours of sleep in total. We checked out the next day and went to Hutton Lodge instead.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkhenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We paid 25RM for a night in a double room with shared western-style toilets and hot water showers. Our room was fairly small, but very clean room with a fan and an internal window. The toilets and showers were very clean and recently decorated – some of the best shared facilities we saw in SE Asia.
We had free wifi in our room. There is a decent restaurant and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank WirdhaAHsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 87 in George Town
3,728 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
1.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 87 in George Town
845 reviews
3.4 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 87 in George Town
1,688 reviews
0 km away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#36 of 87 in George Town
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stardust Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stardust Guest House

Address: 370D Lebuh Chulia, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 120 Speciality Lodging in George Town
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stardust Guest House Hotel Georgetown
Stardust Guest House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing