We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
152
34
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
34
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage room garden room family suite famous cendol decided to stay longer towels changed daily local cultures interior patio police headquarters occasional noise shop fronts beautiful tiles loft rooms egg tarts great service and location reception hall conveniently located within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Staff couldn’t do enough for us. Spacious rooms. Comfortable. Lovely bed. Food outside (street food) or 5-10 min walk into centre of George Town for food. 5 mins from mall to use ATM or get breakfast if you want it. 5 mins from bus stop. Would stay again. Didn’t try food here.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chitch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHPManagement, Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Chitch75 ,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your experience at Areca Hotel Penang and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Areca Hotel Penang management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Very nice hotel, very nice staff at reception very helpful. Breakfast very good also the staff are so nice and smiling every morning. When we came first we had a heritage room super big and so clean but there were street noise so the next morning they offer us on the last floor a loft room. It was so quiet and such a nice room also very big. But it was not as clean as the heritage room so we advice the staff that the bathroom was not clean the next day we had the same problem. The cleaning staff on the last floor do not make a good job. Our room was the last room above the breakfast room .

Room tip: Take a loft room very quiet
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHPManagement, Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you had an incredible time at Areca Cafe and will certainly pass on your compliments to the staff.We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at Areca Hotel. We have noted your comments and we will look to improve on our service. We have informed our housekeeping team to rectify the cleanness of the bathroom condition.Once again, do accept our apologies for your experience.

Kind regards,
Areca Hotel Penang management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Room
Areca is a boutique hotel. We stayed in a heritage room which is spacious and well appointed with a vintage touch. I fell in love with it from the moment I walked into the room.

Customer Service
As soon as the taxi driver pulled over at the hotel, a hotel staff already opened the door and were ready to help us with our luggage. Front desk staff were attentive and always had a smile on their face. This truly beats a lot of international 5-star hotels where I previously stayed.

Price
Value for money

Location
The hotel is situated right next to the police headquarters. In case you get lost, it is easy to ask people for direction and find your way back to the hotel. There are many restaurants and food kiosks in the neighbourhood. As a matter of fact, a few food kiosks next to the hotel sell local foods which open early in the morning and close late at night.

Depending on the place you want to go, it takes about 30-40 minutes walk to the so called “core zone” where the historic buildings and street artwork are located.

The downside is that it sometimes got noisy from the street parking, the road traffic as well as the morning prayer from a nearby mosque.

Make Up Room Service
An area for the improvement is make up room service which appeared to be sloppy. The staff cleaning the room missed out on a lot of things such as towels, toilet paper and water everyday. One day the staff didn’t even clean any glasses and cups in the room. But the front desk staff were very helpful. If you told them what items were missing in the room, they would ask the housekeeping staff to deliver it to your room right away.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay at Areca Hotel. I hope the hotel management and staff will continuously keep up all the good work in future.

Room tip: Get a heritage room
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karmaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHPManagement, Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Karmaexplorer,

Thank you very much for your detailed and kind review. We are very glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, We very much hope to welcome back very soon.

Kind regards,
Areca Hotel Penang management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Excellent hotel to stay with helpful and friendly staff. Comfortable room with all you would require. Clean throughout. I had breakfast included which varied between buffet or a la carte apparently depending on the number of guests staying. Wifi worked well for me on the second floor. The call to prayer at the local mosque didn't cause me any problems. Well placed to walk around the area for food, markets or sightseeing and next door to a police station.

My only problem was finding it. The street is a small one with little more than the hotel in it so the driver had to make enquiries.

I consider the hotel to be excellent value and in a good location.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsianvisitorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHPManagement, Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear AsianvisitorUK,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your experience at Areca Hotel Penang and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Areca Hotel Penang management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

I would go back to hotel Areca. It is charming and tasteful. The service is thoughtful and attentive. And the food outdid our expectations. For a family with young children, look no further than Areca. The heritage hotel is converted from an old shophouse. And the furnishing in the heritage rooms takes you back to another time. Attention to detail is impeccable. Service was thoughtful, attentive and consistent. You can see that the approach is more personal than template like. We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was and for good value. While the menu is not extensive don't be fooled. It has been carefully curated by the head chef who is Swiss trained. Some of the dishes are a mix of local and Western tastes which we found very interesting. The food is unfussy yet flavorful and delicately balanced. We ended up eating more at the restaurant than at Penang's famed street eateries. They have a few toys at the lobby which is a big help when parents are trying to complete the check in formalities. There is also a lovely kids room with plenty of toys and painted walls, which was great for our toddler child who loved to go back to the room to play.

WiFi at the heritage room on the ground level was almost non existent. But we were upgraded to the second storey where the wi fi was great. Staff are aware of the weak wi fi in some heritage rooms and are working at fixing. There is a mosque opposite the hotel which calls to prayer about 5 times a day over loud speaker. While we got used to the sound the morning call at about 6:15am could interrupt your sleep.

Room tip: The rooms on the second storey have better wi fi vs heritage rooms on the first storey
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank globetraveller5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHPManagement, Manager at Areca Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear globetraveller5861,

Thank you for your kind and detail review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the kids were able to enjoy the children playroom! We hope to welcome you back again soon. 

Warm Regards,
Areca Hotel Penang management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews