We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Nampijinpa
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Very unprofessional
Review of Hutton Lodge
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 June 2019
I booked a room several months before my trip and was asked to reconfirm 3 weeks prior to arrival. I reconfirmed 4 weeks prior and was told my room was not available because the whole hostel had been booked out. No apology and I was treated like dirt. Very rude staff.
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$264
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$209
  • Agoda.com
    AU$171
  • Expedia.com
    AU$244
0.5 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
AU$101
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    AU$81
  • Vio.com
    AU$81
  • Trip.com
    AU$98
0.1 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$223
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$217
  • Vio.com
    AU$160
  • Trip.com
    AU$188
0.2 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$157
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$170
  • Vio.com
    AU$110
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
0.7 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$32
  • Agoda.com
    AU$36
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$44
  • eDreams
    AU$60
0.5 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe room available from 168nett onwards
Booking.com
AU$43
  • Agoda.com
    AU$27
  • Expedia.com
    AU$36
  • Trip.com
    AU$33
0.4 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$210
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    AU$197
  • KLOOK
    AU$157
  • Expedia.com
    AU$213
3.0 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$143
  • travelup.com
    AU$134
  • Hotels.com
    AU$143
0.7 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$66
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel website
    AU$62
  • KLOOK
    AU$48
  • Agoda.com
    AU$63
0.6 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$1,251
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    AU$1,155
  • Vio.com
    AU$1,015
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,179
0.7 km from Hutton Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
124
171
58
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
124
171
58
20
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

The hutton lodge is located in the heritage part of the city so there is a lot to explore in walking distance. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the accomodations were clean. Very good value for money, can totally recommend!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KrisGartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2018

I keep on going back to Hutton as it ticks all the right boxes but most important..is the excellent service that i get from Andrew.Now they have Bar bang opposite the property called Drippin Dragon (which also happens to be a hostel).I think its time that they did some renovation.

Room tip: For a silent sleep take a rear room..
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shuddho G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

This is an old heritage house situated in the Heritage Buffer Zone
The room was very basic with a chipped painted concrete floor and old scruffy furniture. There was a very squeaky old iron bedframe but the mattress was clean and comfortable. The private bathroom was clean and quite modern. Toiletries are just a piece of soap.Lots of hot water.
WiFi was poor in the bedroom but worked well in the foyer
Some might find breakfast basic, but tea toast and cake works for me!
Air con was effective. Bottled water available to buy.
Asa solo female traveller, I did not feel particularly secure. Doors are a bit flimsy.
A friendly welcome.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank BattyBebington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 2 weeks as we were doing a placement in a nearby hospital. We each had our own double room which was furnished well and relatively spacious. The building is lovely. It is in the colonial style with shutter windows. It had a lovely patio area outside with flowers that you could sit out at any time of day. Breakfast of tea and toast is served outside. Everyone who worked there , especially Jay and Andrew , were wonderful. It was a great place if you wanted to meet fellow travellers of a mix of ages and backgrounds. We met quite a few people who were middle aged who were travelling . The communal bathrooms were clean and simple . The location was fantastic- really close to China town ! I would recommend this place to anyone who doesn't need luxury but likes character and a good location for an inexpensive price.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank chrissym279
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2018

The staff are lovely and this hotel Is in a great location , however the bedrooms need to be up dated, very dirty old carpeting and worn out old furniture. I cannot undertand why the owners would not put down tiles instead of cheap old carpeting , I was worried to step on it barefoot in case I catch something. Very lovely staff,whonare all extremly kind , patient and helpful. Very nice garden to sit ourside , and the downstairs sitting are is charming.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Millerlight6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews