We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveller rating
686
134
17
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
134
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal cavewater villajeff's cellarsteam cavegarden villaprivate pooljungle walkfish spapomelo restauranthot springsdr fishwine cellargeothermal waterdipping potsdipping poolice bathspa treatments
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 849 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Mu husband and I decide to take a break from our normal chores, and away from the kids for a night. Thus, we decided to check out The Banjaran.
It was a heaven arriving at this awesome resort. Service was good, but what we love about this place is it's fabulous environment!! The garden villa that we stayed in is simply AWESOME!! Eventhough it's a short 2 days 1 nite stay, we did enjoyed our stay very much and will be back again. :-)

Room Tip: Do make early reservation. The Garden Villa is simply fabulous!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineCHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Banjaran. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you took the time to share your experience.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Salam from:
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed there for one night in early November by taking advantage of the Groupon package that comes with the Spa treatment. Despite the hefty price (for average Malaysians), we decided to buy the package after reading excellent reviews in tripadvisor. We were not disappointed - this resort is absolutely very unique in its selling proposition (first of its kind in Malaysia), staff service is superb and second to none and breakfast is excellent.

I will not go on elaborating further on other good points which have already been highlighted by other reviewers which i fully agree. I don't really see any negative points from this resort apart from the high room rates although i understand the resort does offer value for money in totality.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DK_Leech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it is gratifying when one of our guests takes the time to let us know of their satisfaction. We will certainly pass along your comments to our colleagues who will be delighted to find that their efforts were appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again and to provide you with the very best of our The Banjaran hospitality.

Salam from:
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We came at an off-peak season (I supposed, because there were very few people around the 2 nights we stayed). The 2 villas we booked were pleasant and many of the other good points brought up by the other reviewers are really true. However, we thought that the villas were a little too dim. Many of the locals also do not know the place! (Although it was not difficult to find the place with our gps!) Pools in our villa were quite dirty with leaves and some black moss from the sides of the pool! (The room itself is fine!)

My only thought is that the price is really too high for a place like Ipoh. I have stayed in many villas and resorts like these. Villas are small and only suitable for couples. If you are a wifi avid person for the technological gadgets, the wifi is far from accessible from the villas! (From the room, only the computer can log on. Otherwise, wifi is freely available from the lobby or the restaurant.) Restaurant also has very limited menu (even breakfast items).

I do agree that there are many plus points ("Dr Fish" was nice, the place is quiet) and although I do like the place, I think the place is way too overpriced. Still, it was a nice little place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Contented13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat. We thank you for your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to write to us. The villa was designed with warm subdued lighting to create a relaxing ambiance. The pool can, on occasions, have dead leaves or black moss which comes from the thatched roof (local oil palm leaves) and this usually only happens after rainfall or strong winds.
Your comments on our menu at The Pomelo restaurant are very much appreciated and rest assured that steps on improving our current menu are being rectified and we hope to welcome you back at The Banjaran again in near future to experience the beauty of our retreat.

Salam from:
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here on a short 2 night holiday with the family - this was recommended by a close friend as a new, and possibly the best, hotel in the Ipoh area. The Banjaran is situated around a hot spring and nestled at the foot of limestone hills - the latter reminiscent of Guilin. The Owner and architects have integrated the resort very well into this environment. The villas are very well appointed - we stayed in villas with our own pool, separate outdoor jacuzzi and an outdoor living/dining area. The bedroom was air conditioned with a huge king sized bed and a large dressing with separate shower and WC.
There are hot spring fed small pools to soak in, and a cave built over the hotsprings - the largest natural sauna I have been in! The Pomelo served very good breakfast fare. This being Ipon, we ate out for local food so did not try the restaurant apart from breakfast. There is a spa but we could not get a slot as they probably need more therapists. There only 20 plus villas - so this was a little disappointing. The locale is great to bird watch and for walks; and we were blessed with great balmy weather and overcast skies.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room choice as there are so few, almost any villa would be exclusive
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

We at The Banjaran thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our retreat on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay recently and we hope to welcome you back again in near future.

Salam from:
The Banjaran Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Two night stay with my wife. Initially concerned as no-one in KL had heard of the place but once we arrived we were blown away by it.

Plusses: Wonderful staff, calming Zen-like design, wonderful villas with Bose sound system, separate lounge, massive bed, great shower and of course not only your own plunge pool (big enough to swim in) but your own jacuzzi tub heated by geothermal water. We virtually had the place to ourselves and the setting amongst the limestone cliffs is lovely.

Minusses: Being a wellness resort the accent is upon healthy food and healthy living and this is reflected in the food offering. The restaurant serves a fairly limited choice, there is no round the clock room service and the mini bar only offers up nuts and cereal bars, so if you like chocolate and sweet stuff to nibble on then stock up before you arrive. I can't help but suspect that the lack of variety in the food offering to healthier options will limit the appeal of this property to some, especially as holiday time is when I want to indulge!

In summary, a wonderful resort with fantastic villas that offers superb value for money. Limited food offering aside, I'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Garden villa 15 was superb.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biglad1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed comments on TripAdvisor. We at The Banjaran strive to provide a Malaysian experience at least equal to your expectation. The quality of the guest experience is of the utmost importance to us. We will certainly pass your compliments and comments to the department concerned. Once again, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Salam from:
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews