We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World Class Magnificent Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“World Class Magnificent Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Within a month, I visited The Banjaran twice. First in mid Nov 2011 with 8 of my business friends from Europe, Middle East, Asia Pacific, Australia and second visit with my wife in mid December. The reason I went back so quickly because I really love this exclusive 7 star natural heaven hot spring retreat and I want my wife to enjoy as well.
As I am a frequent traveler abroad, I have never seen any place similar to The Banjaran. This is a very extra ordinary place for hideout, relax and recharge, an ideal place for honeymoon couple and famous celebrity too as security system is very good, no outsiders are allow, so, no worry of paparazzi.
Everything in the retreat are awesome especially Steam Cave – natural sauna in 280 millions year limestone cave, good for detoxification which never experience before. After hot sauna, jump into Ice Dipping Pool next to Steam Cave which is very cold, another awesome experience.
Beautiful wine cellar in the cave – Jeff Cellar with air conditioning and you can hear clear water dripping sounds, my wife said is like lullaby. Others facilities like Dr Fish, Meditation Caves, Crystal Caves, Herbal Garden, Hot Spring Dipping, new experience is bath under geothermal waterfall but be careful of the moss on the rock, is slippery.
Huge villas with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, elegance living hall, sofa, lazy chair, spacious high roof bed room with extra large king size bed and pillows, 42” LCD TV, music systems etc. My wife loves the extra large pillow which is very comfortable, the moment lie on it, will fall to sleep quickly.
Pamelo Restaurant – very delicious and healthy food especially bread freshly baked, hot and soft.
Great customer service and hospitality especially Mr. Olivier Robinet – Operation Director, he is really a hands on and hard working leader. I saw him at 11.30 mid night, he still working on his desk and next early morning he is talking to guests at the breakfast table. He personally welcomes us and waited at the entrance on our arrival and also say good bye to us when we check out.
I am very proud to show my foreign friends that Malaysia has this world class resort, they were impressed and wish could stay longer, they are planning to come back. However, I feel one night is too short, 3 days 2 nights would be ideal.
By the way, during my visit with my wife, it was raining in the evening and the scenery was magnificent – I have taken photos for sharing as attached, it is other kind of experience. At night when lying on the sofa in the living hall, the weather is cooling and quiet, what a peaceful and relaxing night.
Happy New Year 2012 to Mr. Olivier Robinet and team, thank you for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Garden Villas are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KoCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    111
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
89
444
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Mu husband and I decide to take a break from our normal chores, and away from the kids for a night. Thus, we decided to check out The Banjaran.
It was a heaven arriving at this awesome resort. Service was good, but what we love about this place is it's fabulous environment!! The garden villa that we stayed in is simply AWESOME!! Eventhough it's a short 2 days 1 nite stay, we did enjoyed our stay very much and will be back again. :-)

Room Tip: Do make early reservation. The Garden Villa is simply fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineCHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Banjaran. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you took the time to share your experience.

We all look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Salam from:
The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed there for one night in early November by taking advantage of the Groupon package that comes with the Spa treatment. Despite the hefty price (for average Malaysians), we decided to buy the package after reading excellent reviews in tripadvisor. We were not disappointed - this resort is absolutely very unique in its selling proposition (first of its kind in Malaysia), staff service is superb and second to none and breakfast is excellent.

I will not go on elaborating further on other good points which have already been highlighted by other reviewers which i fully agree. I don't really see any negative points from this resort apart from the high room rates although i understand the resort does offer value for money in totality.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DK_Leech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it is gratifying when one of our guests takes the time to let us know of their satisfaction. We will certainly pass along your comments to our colleagues who will be delighted to find that their efforts were appreciated.

We look forward to serve you again and to provide you with the very best of our The Banjaran hospitality.

Salam from:
The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We came at an off-peak season (I supposed, because there were very few people around the 2 nights we stayed). The 2 villas we booked were pleasant and many of the other good points brought up by the other reviewers are really true. However, we thought that the villas were a little too dim. Many of the locals also do not know the place! (Although it was not difficult to find the place with our gps!) Pools in our villa were quite dirty with leaves and some black moss from the sides of the pool! (The room itself is fine!)

My only thought is that the price is really too high for a place like Ipoh. I have stayed in many villas and resorts like these. Villas are small and only suitable for couples. If you are a wifi avid person for the technological gadgets, the wifi is far from accessible from the villas! (From the room, only the computer can log on. Otherwise, wifi is freely available from the lobby or the restaurant.) Restaurant also has very limited menu (even breakfast items).

I do agree that there are many plus points ("Dr Fish" was nice, the place is quiet) and although I do like the place, I think the place is way too overpriced. Still, it was a nice little place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Contented13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat. We thank you for your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to write to us. The villa was designed with warm subdued lighting to create a relaxing ambiance. The pool can, on occasions, have dead leaves or black moss which comes from the thatched roof (local oil palm leaves) and this usually only happens after rainfall or strong winds.
Your comments on our menu at The Pomelo restaurant are very much appreciated and rest assured that steps on improving our current menu are being rectified and we hope to welcome you back at The Banjaran again in near future to experience the beauty of our retreat.

Salam from:
The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here on a short 2 night holiday with the family - this was recommended by a close friend as a new, and possibly the best, hotel in the Ipoh area. The Banjaran is situated around a hot spring and nestled at the foot of limestone hills - the latter reminiscent of Guilin. The Owner and architects have integrated the resort very well into this environment. The villas are very well appointed - we stayed in villas with our own pool, separate outdoor jacuzzi and an outdoor living/dining area. The bedroom was air conditioned with a huge king sized bed and a large dressing with separate shower and WC.
There are hot spring fed small pools to soak in, and a cave built over the hotsprings - the largest natural sauna I have been in! The Pomelo served very good breakfast fare. This being Ipon, we ate out for local food so did not try the restaurant apart from breakfast. There is a spa but we could not get a slot as they probably need more therapists. There only 20 plus villas - so this was a little disappointing. The locale is great to bird watch and for walks; and we were blessed with great balmy weather and overcast skies.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room choice as there are so few, almost any villa would be exclusiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
We at The Banjaran thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our retreat on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay recently and we hope to welcome you back again in near future.

Salam from:
The Banjaran Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 km away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
8.9 km away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 63 in Ipoh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
9.9 km away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Lost World Hotel
Lost World Hotel
#16 of 63 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
7.4 km away
Ipoh Bali Hotel
Ipoh Bali Hotel
#8 of 63 in Ipoh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
8.3 km away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

Property: The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Address: 1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3 | Sunway City Ipoh, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
#1 Spa Hotel in Ipoh
Price range (per night): $414 - $593
Hotel Class:5 star — The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat is an integrated luxury wellness and spa retreat in Ipoh. The 5-star retreat is situated on a 16.19 Acre valley nestled within a cluster of towering limestone hills and features a combination of natural caves, pristine jungle, waterfalls and geothermal hot springs. It is a self-contained sanctuary consisting of 25 luxury villas offering holistic wellness and spa experiences inspired by authentic Malaysian practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat Hotel Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing