We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the room smells like public toilet”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Lodge
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the room smells like public toilet”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

it is overpriced & smells really bad,it is like u're sleeping in a public toilet!!pls dont come!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamaadleena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    16
    26
    15
    5
See reviews for
30
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

No restaurant as their web page claims, no breakfast opportunity, no fridge in the room, no kettle, no peaceful surrounding as the web page claims, no wifi reception in the room.
Instead you get thin hotel walls and loud neighbours and a poor bed.
Never again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirrre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brinchang hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 3times, and definitely will stay at this hotel again if i'm coming back to Cameron. For the first time actually it was last minute plan to go to Cameron and my friends and i didnt book any hotel. We was wondering around cameron and had asked few other hotel but the Room wasnt that pleasant unless you are willing to pay high price.

Then we saw the hotel signage and try this hotel. First impression the location is quite strategic and very private for a hotel located at main town. Quiet surrounding and private parking. Less one thing to worried. Pluss the rate is affordable, friendly staff and you can have a look the room before make your decision. The hotel room quite spacious even for standard room.

So, car was safely park at the hotel, we just mobile around with our feet.5minutes walk to Pasar Malam, lots of shop nearby and restaurants to choose. No need to go far if you want to go to strawberry farm, The Big Red Strawberry Farm just up the hill where you can pluck your own strawberries, buy souvenir and cafe just to chill and have a nice cup of Hot tea. Anything you need you can find it there which is also walking distance. Save for the fuel heh! and you dont want to stuck in the traffic jamm especially if you are going during peak season.

For a hotel that offering average price i think the service and cleanliness is acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diedie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We went on christmas eves n just came back. we booked 3 b/rm apt n it is very spacious with 3 attached toilets.Hot water shower wasn't a problem. The place is so safe n convenient until my 2 daughters went up n down to pasar malam wif no fear. Parking is safe and privately for guess.Simple n basic amenities but its fine for us n its a relaxing place to stay. Just to advised thru my experienced dun go during public holiday (super peak) theres a terrible traffic jam towards brinchang town or forward to the nearby sort of farms n it last for 2 hrs just to travel 2 or 3 km ahead..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Visited Cameron Highlands recently, and decided to stay at the Country Lodge Hotel. The first thing you notice is their oddball reservation procedure. Frequent travellers who are used to the pragmatisms of telephone reservations and credit-card-swipe check ins will be somewhat taken aback when the clerk tells you that you have to bank in a deposit fee before she can confirm your reservation. Save your breath, and dont try to talk her into seeing the pracical side to life in the 20th century. She is under orders.

But once you get over this antiquated approach to avoiding no-shows, your stay can be a pleasant one. The hotel itself is quite well maintained, though not pristinely so.

We were given a room in one of their 3 room suites. While the room itself was all right, it was discomfiting to have "neighbours" traipsing in and out. Added to that, there was a school excursion troop staying over, and some of the kids were sharing the other two rooms. If lively, boisterous, noisy schoolchildren are not your cup of tea, you'd be well advised to enquire beforehand.

I told the front desk i was checking out earlier, as the noise was not something I bargained for, and the manager /owner offerred me a prompt apology and refund, along with the information that the "kids" were due to check out the next day. I stayed on.

Overall, its a nice hotel, comfortable, and well located. Short walk from the small town center. Hot water? Yes. View? Yes. No in house restaurant, but this being Malaysia, food would never be a problem. Will I return? Yes.

But there is no lift, so if you have heavy baggage, or elderly people with you, specifically insist on one of the lower floors before you plonk your money on the deposit.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lower floors if you have heavy baggage, or if you have elderly people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DaShake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brinchang
0.2 km away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
114 reviews
3.0 km away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
1.8 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.1 km away
Snooze Hotel
Snooze Hotel
#2 of 21 in Brinchang
136 reviews
0.3 km away
Snooze Too Hotel
Snooze Too Hotel
#1 of 21 in Brinchang
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Property: Country Lodge
Address: Lot 47, Section 3, Brinchang, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Brinchang
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Brinchang
Price range (per night): $24 - $101
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Brinchang
Country Lodge Brinchang, Cameron Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing