We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in great prices from these sites
Expedia.comUSD 118
Booking.comUSD 118
PricelineUSD 118
Hotels.comUSD 118
TravelocityUSD 118
Agoda.comUSD 118
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,944)
Filter reviews
3,944 results
Traveller rating
2,360
1,040
346
113
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,360
1,040
346
113
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tide restaurant breeze bar yacht club seasonal tastes heavenly bed infinity pool bedroom villa ocean view kids club private beach main pool buffet breakfast an upgrade beautiful resort ferry terminal our honeymoon eagle square
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,056 - 2,061 of 3,944 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were at the resort for 6 days and 5 nights. Our goal was to relax and enjoy our time with the family.We spend 80% of our vacation enjoying all that the resort had to offer. The one bedroom suite overlooking the ocean was fantastic. Mariam and Hamidah of housekeeping ensure that we had all we need for the room. Thank you for the Enid Brighton book!

Breakfast buffet was a feast!. By the 2nd day the breakfast crew knew what was needed to get our girls(4 years old twins) setup for breakfast even before we asked. As a mom, I am thankful for the thoughtfulness of the staff.

We had dinners at Tide as well as Breeze. Service was good and so was the food. We were entertained by live music at the Breeze lounge. The kids loved the staff as they would get complimentary ice creams as the adults enjoyed some relaxing music and drinks. The kids enjoyed being back up dancers too. Thank you Breeze lounge staff and music crew for accommodating the kids.

Our favorite pool was the fountain pool, we would go after breakfast and stay the whole afternoon. ( There is a large shady area that covers part of the pool for shade) The pool boys ensured we had our towels and also checked on us regularly to see if we needed anything from the bar. Our other favorite activity was walking down the deserted beach to pick up shells. ( we felt like we were on our own private resort and beach at times as there was practically no one around).I assumed the other guests were out touring the island during the day. Thank you to the staff at the canoe rental desk for finding toys for the kids to play with.

Special thanks to Maisarah (front desk) , excellent customer service!!

Thank you Westin Resort and Spa Langkawi for the wonderful experience and "above and beyond" customer service!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0dianaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Diana A,

Thank you very much for spending your time writing this truly inspiring review about your experience. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed staying here with us. We always proud to agree on the beauty of the resort, serene views of the Andaman Sea, surrounding islands and magnificence blue sky. We also truly delighted that you recognize our associates; Mariam and Hamidah from our housekeeping team were able to fulfill your needs during your stays. Moreover, thank you for recognizing our SuperfoodRXs and we love to know that you enjoyed your overall dining experiences at our bars and restaurants. We also glad you entertained with the live performance at The Breeze and the kids were enjoying it too .Furthermore, Thank you for mentioning our unique pools and our private beach. We also appreciate that you mentioned one of our associate ; Maisarah from front office team and delighted with the overall experience with our friendly and attentive associates. They truly the heartbeats of the resort!. We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in the near future.

Be well,

MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had high expectation for Westin especially having stayed with Westin Sydney... what a let down! Service, what... where ? On arrival, the bell boys were all standing around ignoring the arriving customers.. we had to carry our luggage out of the taxi and into the lobby.. On departure although we have booked upfront to have our luggage collected and taxi reserved, no one arrived.. again we have to carry our luggage to the lobby and as predicted from earlier check in experience, no taxi was waiting... the only service which was decent was at the newly renovated restaurant where staff was accommodating. . If not for the view, this hotel is worse than a 2 star hotel ! Definitely wouldn't stay there again!

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TerriYakiSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear TerriYakiSan,

Thank you for your review. We are certainly disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been .We would like to apologize on behalf of our team. It goes without saying that we had a strong word with the associate who delivered inappropriate service standard to you. Please be rest assured that all guest comments are gratefully received and reviewed. We shared your feedback with our teams and our training department to retrain and remind our colleagues to deliver an outstanding. On the other hand, thank you for mentioning our attentive associate at our newly renewed Seasonal Taste Restaurant. Once again, our sincere apologies for the disappointment you’ve experienced. We realize that your faith in our service capability might indeed be shattered, but we would be thankful if you would give us another opportunity to be of service to you on your future travels to Langkawi.

Be well
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I loved this hotel. Staff were very helpful and friendly and seemed to enjoy working there. The highlight was the spa. At first I went a bit cheaper and felt quite proud I'd saved about $40 but on the second last day I decided to treat myself and I went and it was one of the most amazing experiences ever. The view onto the beach- the lovely massage room and I was treated like a princess! No comparison! The buffet breaky was fantastic- it was in the lower lobby due to renovations but don't let that put you off it was set up perfectly. We also did the seafood buffet poolside which was another highlight.. We booked with expedia but in hindsight it is better to join SPG and then book direct with the hotel and get points if you travel a lot- SPG also gives you discount on food at the hotel which was really good. I guess the downside was the location as there is only one restaurant outside the hotel in walking distance. I also think they should advertise the running groups and Yoga a bit better and include some other activities. Overall though it was an excellent stay!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beantherePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear beantherePerth,

Thank you for your support and time in reviewing our hotel. We appreciate for your generous remark regarding our excellent services and friendly staff .Thank you for highlighting award winning Heavenly Spa, we glad you love the serene view from our spa and enjoyed the experience which had immerse your mind and body and rejuvenate your spirit in a soothing sanctuary of tranquility. Moreover, Thank you for recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx from your dining experiences during the stay and we are proud to announce that our Newly Renewed Seasonal Taste Restaurant is now open! On the other hand, we appreciate you bringing up the shortcomings you have encountered to our attention regarding the resort activities awareness. Please be rest assured we will also provide necessary action in order to improve. It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to your return.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Sheets were stained, shower head in the bath was not working properly, tv was blurry. All the above needed to be fixed while we were there.

The worst thing is they charged us 4 after we left for damages that we did not cause!

We are very angry and dissatisfied and will recommend against staying there. We feel that we have been unfairly charged.

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Justyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Justyn H,


Thank you very much for your feedback and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences.

Be well
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We picked the Westin because of it's strategic location. Pantai Cenang was to busy with tourists (and powered water toys) and the options to the North like Tanjug Rhu or the Datai, too isolated- from local restaurants. The Westin has it's own beach front (nearly deserted) but more importantly for us was only a short walk or MYR12 taxi fare from Kuah Town and great places to eat. We were appropriately warned of the renovation work under-way to the dining room-so that was no surprise. What was surprising was how genuinely courteous and friendly the staff were. Our room was very comfortable- as was the bed, the whole resort is well maintained and attractive. The only quibble was that we had specifically upgraded to an ocean view room. We had ocean glimpses. Because of the growth of trees only the top floor has ocean views. We were intrigued at some aspects of marketing: for example the spa treatment and food services offered were expensive by any measure- but particularly when the same (and in the case of food- better) could be had in Kuah Town for a fraction of the price. I guess they are counting on guests who wont brave dealing with the locals- or are worried about hygiene. As a consequence we only had breakfasts which were included and a couple of snacks- otherwise we ate in town. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room tip: Ask for the top floor.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcstrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlueterM, General Manager at The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear gcstrata,

Thank you for having chosen The Westin Langkawi Resort & Spa for your stay in Langkawi. It is very kind of you to mention our friendly and helpful associates. They truly the heartbeats of the resort! Thank you for recognizing our signature Heavenly Bed and we are also delighted to hear your good words about our rooms. These rooms reflect a modern, contemporary resort product, showcasing the brand's philosophy of Westin, “For a Better You”. On the other hand, we apologize the shortcoming you experienced regarding the room view. Thank you for recognizing our signature SuperFoodsRx buffet breakfast. We also concerned to note that the price of our service and food did not meet your expectations. We have addressed this with our team and will review and look for possible improvement .We hope to welcome you again for another relaxing stay in the near future.

Be well,
MS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews